We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing, don't waste your time or money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing, don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

For a 5 star rating I was very disappointed with the quality, service and location. I think the person who gave this place a 5 star rating should find another job. We booked a deluxe room few months prior, on arrival we were given an apartment in the towers. The room had a musty smell and the carpet dirty. Weren't notified that breakfast was finishing at 10am on checkin. Went down to breakfast and find out that breakfast was finishing in 10 mins. Quite a few couples arrived after us which were disappointed also. The casino is of poor standards. Limited to what you can purchase to eat, sports bar available only, very limited choice of poor quality food and poor service. The location is near the fish market, you don't want to be outside too long, the smell wants to make you dry reach. As for security don't leave your bags unlocked in rooms. People can't read DO NOT DISTURB on the door. Come to Perth, our Burswood Casino is a true 5 star!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fil310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    323
    156
    66
    48
See reviews for
282
322
38
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stayed in a three-bedroomed apartment, which was ideal for the six of us and worked out to be excellent value for such a popular destination. It had all the amenities of self-catering, with the service of a hotel. The larger apartments are situated in the hotel so that there are good vies of the bridge and business district from the balcony. The pool and gym were quiet and well kept. The staff were excellent both before and during the trip. The only drawback was the current building work, which statrs at 7am. If you're a light sleeper avoid for what the staff estimate to be another year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here on 11 Feb for an early Valentine's Day treat. We live and work in Sydney. Purchased through WOTIF ($500 for one night in a Star Suite) as an Escape Package - breakfast, late check-out and bubbly/strawberries on arrival.

The good:

Great room - Star Suite cost quite a bit (!) but was very roomy, had a great luxe look and feel, 3 TV's, amazing couch, lovely bath, nice view of harbour and a few little glitzy touches to make it feel like a proper upmarket 'casino' stay - a la Las Vegas (colour lights in bed headboard, TV in bathroom and amazing mini bar area).

Plenty to do - great location to city/harbour attractions, big casino complex including Lyric Theatre - not as nice as Crown but something different and fun. We don't even know how to gamble but had fun in the casino atmosphere.

Service - very friendly and professional staff. From housekeeping to room service to casino and front desk - all staff were very helpful, open and friendly yet professional. No attitude or arrogance as found in some large hotels. A plus!

Breakfast - elegant and vast continental breakfast (hot food costs extra) in Sean's Kitchen.

Pool area - whilst not exactly 5 star - the Turbine's health club was great and not crowded, Great view from the pool.

The not so good:

The price! The most expensive one night we have paid for in Australia!

We were meant to recieve champagne and strawberries on arrival as part of the package and we recieved a bottle of low end white wine and a small bowl of cherries - these things matter when it is a Valentine's Day stay!

Range of bath products was a bit minimal considering the amazing bath/bathroom/suite. No specific bath salt or bubble bath offered.

Porter and valet staff were very helpful but clearly run off their feet. Delays were experienced.

I think for the price - one hot option should have been included with breakfast.

If we could get a very good price - we would stay in a Star Suite again - we loved the room and it was a fun stay - however for the same price - I would be tempted to try the Hyatt or Shangri-la next time as it was not 'unforgettable'.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We paid a bomb to stay here during New Year 2011 in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was nice enough with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a smallish living room and a semi-open kitchen and a small balcony. Attached to the casino hotel which has few restaurant and night club options. 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour which was somewhat handy.

Having the apartment as a part of a 5* hotel is a big plus for daily housekeeping, very competent concierge, restaurants, security, etc.

If you are in Sydney to be at the centre of attractions, harbour, etc., the location is quite off though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Had a great 2 bedroom apartment with lots of room including a full kitchen and washing machine and dryer. Nice views across Pyrmont. You can walk easily to Darling Harbour and the CBD down to the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Althought the light rail and buses are just outside the door. The pool area fairly small but nice with great views across to the city. Expensive internet in room facilities, but everything else excellent.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kramerpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Spent four nights staying at one of the two bedroom serviced apartments. Flew over from Perth with friends visiting us from the UK. Cannot say enough positive things abou the experience. As we had come through on red eye, we requested an early check in and despite a fully booked hote, were granted check in at 10am. Rooms were immaculate, serviced well every day, very quickly and discreetly. The only negative abou the room was that our TV wasn't HD, not a big complaint really. All staff, from concierge to reception to doormen, were all incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. We had a silly security scare, accidentally left hotel room door open. When we called reception, hotel manager and security were at our room door in 3 minutes. All the food and drink, at casino bars and restaurants, as well as from room service, were very reasonably priced for an upmarket facility. The gym, pool and spa were great, amazing view of the city skyline from pool and hot tub. All casino staff were brilliant. Honestly could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorster316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed with a friend in one of the 2 bedroom apartments which we found through the Entertainment book. The hotel is a short walk to the harbour where we found wonderful restaurants and bars.

We had thoroughly excellent service from all staff (apart from one porter when I was leaving, and my feedback in regard to this was responded to very quickly, which I am grateful for). Although I did not explore the facilities of the hotel, I can comment on the buffet breakfast which was delicious and again where I received excellent service.

Our room itself was fabulous, very comfortable, clean spacious and excellently fitted out. During our stay the hotel was undergoing significant renovation work, and I was most impressed that this did not disrupt me at all- I'm not sure if maybe there's some amazing Double Glazing going on, but I barely heard it!

Well done Star City!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Property: Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Address: 80 Pyrmont St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing