We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #49 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

we stayed at star city hotel for 2 nights in nov with family(4adults+1child 4yr old).
we were so looking forward to stay there since we saw the hotel from ferry on our honeymoon 7yrs ago. we heard the hotel was good and everything fantastic.
dissapointment started from when we arrived by shattle, noone helped us luggage,
my husband used cart and did as porter.
we checked in 2 bedroom room + single extra bed for my son, as we requested,
when we got the room, we saw 1 queen+1 king single(unbelievably small for 2) and no extra bed and no extra towel and etc... we asked room change but no other room available, and they would charge from us for extra bed that we already requested!
we also requested late check-out for late night flight but room was full booked and we needed to get out from room.
none of request thru, would charge extra bed that we already organised thru agent.
I never reccomend anyone the hotel and I never stay there again.
however, one of concierge was so stand out with beautiful service and 3 house keeping staffs were so kind and care about our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02091972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

great place to stay for a great night out with spouse or friends or group. classy, elegant and 5 star all round. room service was overpiced but thats what youd expect in a 5 star casino hotel, other than that everything great :). parking was a really good price though at only 26 a night i think it was.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaramati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Very noisy hotel. Expensive food, try cafes and restaurants in the area instead.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnutFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

This hotel is definitely overpriced. Just average room. Pool is too small and crowded for a hotel of this size. Breakfast is expensive and not really pleasant location (called "garden buffet" but is inside and more like a cheap cafeteria at the mall). Internet is very expensive. Elevators are too few and you have too wait long for one to appear, the reason is that because of under-capaity is has top stop at many floors. The bar at top floor is almost never open and when open obviously just for special events where you are not invited. I had room at the floor under it and it was annoying having this very loud music and at the same time not even having the possiblity to use it. My advice is clear, choose another hotel in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for three nights to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and everything about our stay was fantastic.

The concierge (Aaron) was incredibly helpful both prior and during our stay, organising bookings at bars and also confirming dinner reservations for us when we were unavailable.

The Star Suite was amazing, totally luxurious for us. We had a balcony which looked directly over the cityscape and Harbour Bridge. The balcony was shared but we didn't see anyone else out there and was perfect for our before dinner drinks. The lounge/dining area had a bar area with sink and fridge etc, dining area with four seat table, lounge with lovely huge leather couch and large plasma tv with dvd/cd player. Large sliding doors to balcony off the lounge. The bedroom was great - a REAL king size bed (sooo comfortable) with beautiful lighting behind the headboard which could be adjusted to different colours. Another large plasma and sliding door to the balcony. Off the bedroom, you walk through to the dressing area then bathroom - beautiful big two person spa bath with TV, double vanity, shower and WC. All marble.

The service was amazing, from the girl who came in to turn down our bed each night (and leave a little snack and water), to the maid who made up the room each day who always put my teddy bear in the middle of the pillows), to the reception desk who always seemed to know who I was whenever I made a query.

We did swim and the pool area was great. It was nice as the weather was overcast so it wasn't that busy.

Also had breakfast at Astral Bar (was included in the package we booked) which was fantastic and great value (Astral is closing mid Dec).

The location is fine, around a 10-15 min walk into Pitt St Mall. The bonus of being slightly outside the CBD is that we got an amazing view of the cityscape.

We had already planned to go back for our 11 yr anniversary in 2011 before we left. I loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinballwyzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We booked this hotel through our airmiles, and on arrival as we were a honeymoon couple we were upgraded to a harbour view room. You could just see the harbour bridge, but not a spectacularly great view. I found it quite stuffy in the room as no windows would open, which I understand the reasons for, being on a high floor, but some fresh air is much needed in the heat. Air con worked fine though. Staff really friendly and helpful, and service was always quick, polite and efficient. I do not think this hotel is 5 stars though, the bathroom resembled one you would find in a cheap hotel in Benidorm, definitely needed an upgrade and the communal areas, like lifts and corridors were dull and dirty. Bed was lovely, the room equally nice, but again no Wow factor. Great location though, a short walk to Darling Harbour which we loved. We did spend a few hours in the Casino which was fun, but cheesy as expected. Best thing about this place is the buffet breakfast, loads of selection and all really fresh. Pool area nice too, but nothing special. I think there are nicer hotels in Sydney for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickie2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed here for an anniversary at the Star City Suite: it was simply divine, and could not have been any more perfect!

The suite is very, very roomy - with a dining room, a lounge area, huge flatscreen TV and a rather large and luxurious mini bar. The views from the suite are beautifully expansive, and reach from the harbour and Harbour Bridge, across to the city skyline.

The bedroom was amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the mood lighting around the headboard was a lovely touch (you could change it to various different colours - talk about attention to detail!). Another large flatscreen TV greeted us in the bedroom, and there was yet another TV above the lovely spa bath in the bathroom (complete with a waterproof remote control!). The bathroom was just beautiful too (and very large), with no area spared from luxury. The suite was a little expensive, but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
941 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 186 in Sydney
1,542 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#32 of 186 in Sydney
1,169 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#28 of 186 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $229 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing