We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astral Tower and Residences
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$223
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveler rating
544
346
160
72
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
346
160
72
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar citystar suitecasino hotellyric theatredarling harbourbedroom apartmentpyrmont viewlight railroom servicecity viewupgraded to a suitefree upgrademini barfull kitchenking bedbuffet breakfastcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed here following positive reviews on Trip Advisor.

Darling Harbour is a terrific spot for restuarants, the aquarium and maritime museum are here and views from the city-side apartments are great (worth paying an extra $20 per night for). Easy access to the city centre either walking or via the bus (stop under the complex) that goes to the Circular Quay.

We have two kids (10 and 8) and they loved the facilities. Apartment was very well appointed.

We turned up early morning but were still able to get a room and the staff were very helpful.

All in all a very good stay.

Stayed: April 2007
8  Thank JAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Chose Star City on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, with concerns about staying at a Casino and that the location might not be the best. Needn’t have worried.

Location, while not city centre, was great. A 3 minute stroll from the Pyrmont Bay ferry point to Circular Quay (½-hourly service), 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour. The casino is entirely separate from the hotel, the whole development being of the ‘mall’ type with all levels of eateries (smart restaurants to Subway sandwich bar).

Accomodation was superb (Pyrmont view de-luxe room) – large room, quiet, great aircon, comfortable beds and immaculate bathroom. Arriving from the UK at 09:00 on a Sunday morning staff were very helpful and friendly, arranging an early check-in. Good outdoor pool and exercise facilities. Only ate in the Fortunes restaurant, the buffet being plentiful and appealing.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank petethepedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We spent 7 days at this hotel, and after a few days, we wanted to change hotels. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told our room was not ready and that they would give us a call as soon as the room actually was ready. Hours passed, still no call. We came back, and they told us the room was ready, but they offered no apology for not calling. To irritate us further, our room came with free buffet breakfast vouchers, which they refused to honour because it 'wasn't in their documentation' even though it was clearly stated while booking online on their official website. Their only suggestion was to find some proof online and show it to them, but they would not cover the expensive internet charges there for doing so.

As for the Deluxe Pyrmont View room, it was generally modern and okay. However, the room didn't have a particularly good view and it was not well lit as the lights were oddly placed around the room. The bathroom had a bath/shower which was not comfortable and the toilet paper was attached to the wall only about 10-20 cm above the floor strangely enough. It is also worth noting that the floor level of the Deluxe room, which was apparently 16, may not have actually been as high as 16. Floors 4, 13 and 14 were simply missing and you could not access them.

As for the rest of the 7-day stay there, we found the lifts to be infuriatingly slow to arrive at many times, the concierge gave us incorrect information and room service took over an hour to arrive at about 6 p.m. once. A warning to those staying with people under 18 or slightly above that age, the casino forms a large part of that hotel. If you are under 18, you'll usually have to detour around the casino to get to the other side of the hotel rather than going through it. If you are slightly over 18, you'll constantly have to get your ID checked every time you take a shortcut through the casino. The only particularly good things about the hotel that separated it from any other hotel of the same class was that it has good facilities including a casino, restaurants and theatre. The location was also fairly decent, being located near Darling Harbour and having light rail and bus services beneath it.

Overall, however, we would not stay there again, we've stayed at far better hotels in Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Spent 3 nights at the Star City before joining a cruise ship. This is a hotel/casino/theatre complex situated in Darling Harbour and just a short walk from down town Sydney.

The accommodation is first class and we had a room with views to kill for across Darling Harbour and up to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. The room was spotless and the usual tea/coffee was available. There is a small swimming pool at the rear of the hotel with a nice warm jacuzzi beside it.

Staff were very helpful at reception. We arrived before noon and the room wasn't ready but the concierge looked after our cases and phoned us on the mobile phone when we could get access, allowing us to wander the area and get our brearings.

The casino is very busy day and night and worth a visit just to watch a lot of folks lose a lot of money!!

The open topped bus tour of Sydney has a stop just outside the (back) door of the complex and it is well worth catching this to see the sights. It is a hop on hop service with an all day ticket.

Would certainly use this hotel again as a base to explore Sydney if (when) we return.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kaypee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Stayed: January 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews