We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #50 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Lovely hotel near Darling Harbour, clean, spacious and well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCityHotel, Front Office Co-Ordinator at Astral Tower and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt as though our rooms were clean, spacious and looked after. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2010

We were in Sydney for three days ...continuing are honeymoon from gold coast ...
Its has a wounderful Entrance with open air Escalaters with fountains . We were checked in ten minutes upon our arrival and the best was that we got our room upgraded foc and also got a 20 $ casino coupon .
The room was pretty big fitted with Lcd and the city view was amazing .. To go to the entrance we always have to cross Casino where we used to get free drinks and eatable as inhouse guests . The tram station is right in the basement of the hotel which makes the connectivity to city very easy ...overall it was gr8 staying in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inderjit_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCityHotel, Front Office Co-Ordinator at Astral Tower and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the room upgrade. We must agree with you that we are very lucky with our Hotel position in Darling Harbour. It makes for a great view of the city and is easily accessible to anywhere you want to go. We look forward to welcoming you back to Star City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Check-in was efficient and our bags were in teh room before we arrived.
...a clean, spacious 2 bedroom apartment with balcony (albeit not habour views) was just what we wanted for a short 4 day stay. It was centrally located so I could visit an office in North Sydney (20A$ by taxi) whilst the family could do some sight seeing. The apartments were well furnished with a second TV in the master bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped and lounge area plenty of seating for all 4 of us.

The only downside was that hotel restaurants were restrictive due to the fact we had 2 teenage children but no big deal as Darling habour was only a 10 minute walk. Room service was some of the best food from any room service. My biggest let down was an early checkout on departure date, that could not be extended. My family ended up in a grubby airport hotel for the day that made travelling home an unpleasant experience.

Overall we would definately stay here again and maybe next time get a chance to visit the casino! Also glad to see the management showing interest in a few of the comments - a good sign that they care about what the customer thinks.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Not a bad hotel, just not great either. We were staying in the apartment side of the casino rather than the hotel rooms. Old decor, walking down the hallways remind me of being back in the 80's! that needs updating quick smart! Room was spacious although you'd expect it to be for $600 a night. Very handy if you're there to gamble - pretty central location to the city if you're there to do the touristy things.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spinspinspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCityHotel, Front Office Co-Ordinator at Astral Tower and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete feedback about our Property.
We are currently undergoing a $475 million refurbishment program called Project Star which involves the re-orientation of the casino towards Sydney Harbour, including a new "iconic" entrance and drop-off zone on the harbour side of the casino site. Included in this refurbishment is a new Hotel Tower, as well as an upgrade to our existing Hotel and Apartments.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Star City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Before booking into Star City, I researched every place in or reasonably close to Darling Harbour, where my husband was attending a conference. I chose to stay in an apartment rather than a standard hotel room as I prefer the extra room and the ability to prepare a light breakfast & snacks. Star City delivered so much more.

We had a "Studio Apartment", no upgrade as other lucky reviewers have scored. Luckily the bedroom was placed in such a way that it was totally private. We were very happy with the extensive floor space, generous balcony (no furniture, maybe for child safety).

As well as view of Sydney harbour, city skyline, the Harbour Bridge, the Maritime Museum, parklands and wharf areas, our apartment had everything we needed including a huge, fully equipped granite kitchen, full laundry, dining suite and a comfy lounge.

The very comfortable king size bed with had quality linen, stacks of pillows, a large wardrobe with internal lights that activated when doors were slid open. There were plenty of drawers, cupboards & shelves in every room. Towels were ultra large and thick.

Unlike other apartments which are not serviced during your stay, or only every four days, these were cleaned and serviced every day. Any request was met quickly and efficiently.

All staff at Star City are obviously chosen carefully and trained well; combining friendliness with quick service, even the burly “security” checking patrons at the base of the escalator to the gaming floors.

Although part of the Star City Casino complex, the apartments are accessed through a separate entry of the main thoroughfare – you don’t need to share lifts with the many, many people who seemed to stream into the casino floors all day and night. Renovation and construction work was going on during our stay, but we heard nothing.

In case this all sounds too good to be likely, I had a few gripes, which I didn’t complain about at the time – they are very trivial and more than offset by the good aspects. One was that the kitchen was supplied with only two of each item of crockery and cutlery, obviously to discourage “extra” non-paying guests.

The television was not digital, and the extra channels were mainly paid movies ($16.95 per view), sports and hotel promotions. Not important most of the time, but a bit limited.

The fairly grotty level below the main complex floor houses a station for Sydney’s Light Rail (called a tram, but looks like train to me) which for a fairly hefty fare takes you to various places including Central Station and the lovely suburb of Glebe (visit Glebebooks & Sonoma Café). It took perseverance to find this & the bus station, as signs are obscure, and it is easy to lose your sense of direction in the curves and corridors. Finding the shortest route to the nearby ferry terminal was also a challenge. Please note this was not due to directions from the Concierge – I was going it alone.

Star City seems to have numerous cafes & restaurants, only one of which (Seans) we tried. The food here is exceptional. Again, finding it was a chore, as I was advised to go through The Poker Room to access it. This I did, with my young & attractive daughter, while a poker tournament was on – all men, all seemingly able to play & perve at the same time. The main stairway got us out with less scrutiny.

I enjoyed my four night stay very much, and would live here if I could – I would just bring my own TV, plates & cutlery. Anyone who complains about the standards must live in a palace somewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginnymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the city and darling harbour.
it was the most amazing view and had a great location- easy acsess to darling harbour, monorail, shops, restaurants, buses etc. the apartment was very modern and spacious.
Pool was great and not too cold. Starcity is having alot of renarvations that should be finished in about a year, but it didn't disterb our stay - apart from some restaurants being closed.The staff were amazing very helpful and polite.

overall we absolutley loved starcity and if we were going back to sydney wound not look any where else to stay.
would recomend to anyone looking for accomadation with real wow factor

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilfreshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Better for upper class folks that want to stay somewhere classy and feel classy. Not the best for a group of twenty -something military guys.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank TylerB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#4 of 180 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#77 of 180 in Sydney
1,298 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 180 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $191 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing