We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 bedroom apartment for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #51 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family stayed at the Astral Residences ( 2 bedroom) for three nights. The apartment has a nice size lounge and kitchen area with a washing machine and Dryer. The Kitchen has supplies for four which is fine. One main bathroom and an ensuite to the main bedroom. The rooms are modern and have little wear. There are two TV's one in the main lounge area and one in the main bedroom.

The major positive for us was how quiet it was at night which surprised me given that it is part of the casino. There are great places to eat just down stairs and it is only a five minute walk to Darling Harbour, supermarket and heaps of great restaurants and major attractions of Sydney.

The Astral residences are good value for a family staying right where all the action is.

One thing to note is that if you have a car you have to pay $26 extra for parking per day. Although this is valet parking with some really friendly staff to help you each time you park and pick up the car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 as a treat to ourselves. We thought 'lashing out' would be worth it (we payed $260 for the basic room on a weeknight) but for the price we payed it was a bit disappointing. We stayed in the lower priced room which was a great size but the furnishings were a bit scuffed and worse for wear. The bathroom didnt match the decor of the room as a whole; it looked as though it hadnt been renovated since being built. Also the shower was over the bath and even with the protective screen water kept spilling out onto the floor. Our room had also not been given fresh toiletries, it had just been reused from the last person!!!

The room was conveniently located within the casino so we could easily access great food and drinks as well as the gambling area. The buffet is well worth it but go during the week as it is a lot cheaper!

Location overall wasnt bad. Bit of a stroll into the city but still convenient enough. Great access to cafes and attractions on the waterfront!

I think you'd find better value for money elsewhere. Maybe if the rooms were cheaper it would be better!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the star for the weekend away with a few friends in a three bedroom apartment, this venue is the best value for money apartment i have ever stayed at the room was well above standard for this kind of money not to mention it was like walking into a brand new development everything was modern and up to date, the service is second to none and personally i could not fault anything and the views of the harbour are amazing i will defiantly we visiting again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Despite a shaky start, with the driver not aware of Astral Towers, mentioning the Star and the casino got us over the hurdle and I was soon deposited outside of the hotel. The porters were very helpful and the check-in staff supremely professional, speaking several languages to accommodate a range of international guests and ensure that they were at ease with the process. The room, on the 8th floor was spotlessly clean and modern with a number of nice touches above and beyond the usual. The bed was comfortable and not too soft, with a choice of pillows. Despite the buzz downstairs, the room was quiet and peaceful and made a nice retreat from the bustle of the city. The minibar prices are not cheap, but the hotel is attached to the casino and the food court, along with a 24 hour convenience store, so there is no overwhelming need to use it. Choices in the food court are extensive, and there are a myriad more options within walking distance. If you are after a quiet retreat, leaving your room will mean this is not the place for you, but if you like to be somewhere that buzzes with activity, or take advantage of the casino or theatre or just like people watching, then this is a great option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alectoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Astral Tower Apartmernt.We had a two bedroom apartment. with two full bathrooms. The apartment was very spacious. I was extremly impressed on the size of the kitchen. My husband and I were able to move freely in the kitchen without bumping into each other. We had a standard size refrigerator, stove top cooker,an adequate size conventional oven and microwave. In the Living area we had a large desk and swivel chair, a couch and side chair. Also we had a flat screen TV in the living area and master bedroom. Oh did I mention that we had a king size bed in the master bedroom and a full size bed in the other bedroom. The master bath had a large tub that my husband could fit comdortably in, given his six feet, four inch frame. We also had a seperate shower in the master and in the other bathroom. The design was modern. We thoroughly love our apartment. Sorry one other thing, we had what I will call a city, panoramic and darling harbor view. We stayed on the ninth floor. Beautiful. Oh one other thing. We had a large balcony. I estimated it was a 20 feet by five feet. Okay I am not going to say anymore. Just go visit. Good value for your money. I said I was not going to say anymore. Liar, Liar

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Astral Residences recently while attending conference at Darling Harbour. Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Room was very clean and reasonably modern. Would definately come back again. Like the fact that there are lots of coffee and dining options all under the one roof as well as Darling Harbour being a close walk nearby. I especially appreciated the light rail that was directly below ground level of casino. I used it daily to attend the conference and liked the fact that it stopped right next to escalators straight back up to hotel. Others in our group stayed at the Darling which apparently was very luxurious and some stayed in the hotel tower which I thought was very nice as well. Love to come back sometime.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed mid week on the 9th floor. Views to the harbour bridge and north Sydney.Staff were very friendly. Room was clean, modern and stylish. Close to darling harbour and bottom side of the city. Got it for $360 on wot if for three adults. All round good stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 915. Great views to the harbour bridge and all that's happening below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 179 in Sydney
901 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: 80 Pyrmont St | 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $219 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing