We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Ranked #51 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights in these apartments. They are clean,spacious & well appointed, although a tad dated now.
The unit had a very comfortable king size bed with pillow choices.
Kitchen was well set out although we only used it for breakfast as the dining options in this area are numerous.
Our unit was on the 11th floor, facing Darling Harbour & the views were amazing.
We booked this property as it had a balcony & opening door which was important to us.
Everything you could want is within this complex & the mono rail to Pitt Street Mall is within easy walking distance.
Sure it was at the high end of the price scale, but you can't beat it for location and convenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabellamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri_Karam, Front Office Manager at Astral Tower and Residences at The Star, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for glowing feedback for Astral Tower and Residences.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and what The Star complex has to offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dimitri Karam
Front Office Manager
Astral Tower and Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    324
    156
    66
    48
See reviews for
282
322
39
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite for one night after seeing 'Legaly Blonde' the musical. It was a little disorganized when we arrived at 3.00 for check in as our room was not ready and the front desk said that she would let s know when it was ready. .. by 3.15pm we went to the desk to ask what was happening and then she went to enquire and we got our room soon after.. Cannot really complain about the suite as it was huge and had every amenity possible including a tv in the bathroom, a tv in the sitting room and a tv in the bedroom which did not work... The bath was huge and the showers although very small had lovely shower heads..the towels were fluffy and soft and the bed was comfortable. The decor was a little too dark for my liking however it was quite comfortable otherwise.. we were surprised when we returned from the show to find a change of towels and everything spruced up.. I have to say however that the buffet breakfast is not befitting of a 5 star hotel.. I have been to many breakfasts all over the world and found this very underwhelming..There was no variety and it was expensive for what they gave you.

Room Tip: We overlooked the renovation of the pool on the 8th floor so the view was not fantastic.. so perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Astral last night. Very average and NOT 5 star, not even close. Service is impersonal. Rooms are tired. I was in a roo. With two smallish double beds, one of the most uncomfortable beds I have eve slept in. Pillows were lumpy and flat. Awful. Walls are thin and
I could hear next door on both sides, and well as the drunk patrons in the corridor at 2.00 am. Everything here is hideously overpriced. Oh and the view- some construction and roofs. Save your money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Petal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri_Karam, Front Office Manager at Astral Tower and Residences at The Star, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Astral Tower and Residences at The Star.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay, our housekeeping team offer a wide range pillow options and a menu is offered in each room, please contact Housekeeping with your prefered pillow.

I was also disappointed to read your comments regarding the noisy guests in the room adjacent to your own in the early hours of the morning during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies as we aim to control any unfavourable behaviour within the complex, especially when our in-house guests are disturbed as a result.

Again, I do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Dimitri Karam
Front Office Manager
Astral Tower and Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying at the astral towers at the star.(13/10/12) and are so disappointed with our room. We paid $500 for the night and we walk into a room with 2 double beds, a bath that would b difficult to fit one adult and a very underwhelming view. My husband booked this hotel for a surprise for me, and lets just say he is not happy! We will def not reccomend this to anyone and will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simonamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri_Karam, Front Office Manager at Astral Tower and Residences at The Star, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay at Astral Tower and Residences.

I am disappointed to read that you will not return to the complex as a result of this stay. The hotel offers several types of bedding configurations, should you prefer a particular bedding type please do not hesitate to mention this to Front Office Reception who will be happy to assist in finding the best room for you.

I was also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the bath, should you be looking for a larger bath I would suggest looking at our Star Suite that was designed with a romantic getaway in mind.

Again, I do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Dimitri Karam
Front Office Manager
Astral Tower and Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times on free accomodation and food - in this respect it has been excellent "value". However, as the adage goes, nothing in this world is free. My title summarises the current experience at this venue.

Sub-par rooms for 5-star rated hotel, and matching price. Had found dead and live cockroaches on multiple visits. Sometimes inconsistent room service with long waits and lack of refills of basic amenities. Rooms otherwise generally clean and without unpleasant odours. "Queen" bed in one apartment consisted of two singles joined, unpleasant for taller individuals who prefer to spread out across beds.

Check-in staff generally courteous and efficient. Occasionally long ques with a rush of check-out, although express option helps with this.

In-room dining options as expected overpriced and underwhelming. In-casino venues disappointing by international standards. However, new dining options in the Star excellent, ranging from fine dining to food-court gourmet burgers and Shanghainese. Easy access to Darling Harbour and CBD via pleasant walk or public transport.

Room Tip: Suites and two-bedroom apartments much more comfortable and spacious. In-room jacuzzi a welcome trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at The Astral Towers on Friday 5th October for an event. Your hotel was recommended by the event organisers, were we received a discount for staying with you. We were upgraded to 2 bedroom apartment (which was great!) We were told at the time of check in that there would be wait if we wished to take advantage of the upgrade, which is was fine, however this wait really pushed us to the limits of us being able to get ready for the what we there for, if we had know it was going to take that long we had have refused the upgrade as we need to be ready for the event by 6pm. Once we got into our room at around 4:30-4:45 we had no bags, it took 2 phones calls and myself going down stairs to collect them, by this stage we were rather annoyed. In the morning between 9:45 and 10:30 we had a number of staff knock on the door, asking if they could clean the room, isn’t check out at 11am! One staff member came in to check the mini bar, asked if the other beer in there was ours, I said yes. I was trying to get ready to shower and check out, I must have misheard her, coz when I went to fridge to take the left over drinks home, they had been removed. Now it was 2 beers, but still our property.
We travel to Sydney very often through out the year, & stay at a different hotel for those times; they may not be 5 star but we will only ever go back to them. We were really looking forward to staying at “The Star” as some thing different and to enjoy the night a head of us, but felt really let down. The guys/girls on the front desk were great, just not very happy with other hotel staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Astral tower is the last to be renovated at the Star casino and it is obvious the rooms are overdue a facelift. Just a bit dated with the decor/interior. Very large bed - I would reccomend making use of the custom pillow service and request a comfy pillow of your choice. minibar and room service extremely overpriced as expected. A comfortable stay within the complex but in my mind its dated and overpriced, i would stay somewher else next time.

Room Tip: choose a harbour facing room otherwise views are uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Property: Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Address: 80 Pyrmont St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing