We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel on Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #49 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

It's a very good and luxurious Five Star hotel very centrally located near Darling Harbour. The venue is very good and walkable from Darling Harbour. The hotel has very good & big casino. Rooms are spacious and well designed. Room service and breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Iv stayed here quite alot, my last stay was pleasent however if your thinking of having a party in the apartments think again! They are so strict and will kick you out with ease! Or if there is too many ppl in the room they will make you book another room or kick everyone out! Overall a good hotel and casino is awesome lots of restaurants and bars to choose from really good location!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, and found it roomy, clean and perfect for our needs. We had a lovely view from our balcony. The Place is huge though and a very busy casino. We ate in the buffet which was ok. Good location for Sydney, but is a little away from the main tourist areas of the city. Near Darling Harbour, which was very busy in the evenings. A nice place to sit and have a drink in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cs_macewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is GREAT. The date I stayed is incorrect but I did stay there for a week or some years ago. Service, staff, room, cleanliness - all great. Thank you Star City

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolaClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

First time in sydney, meeting friend with her parents on day 2, so had a single room first night, family suite for a week then twin for few days. all rooms fab. fantastic food, service, casino, little shop, great spa. so close to darling harbour ferry. one tip- ask for room near lift as walk to rooms can be far. reception very knowledgeable and understanding. they can also cash your trav.chq, make phone calls on your behalf, etc. true 5* service at 3* cost.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanut012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is my first review of star city, my family and I have been staying here a couple of times a year for 6 years. And saying that I have no complaints. We keep returning to this hotel, because it is resort style and very child friendly. The main activity we do at the hotel is use the pool, first of all the pool is on a rooftop with breathtaking views of Sydney Harbour, the pool is quite large with 2 hot tubs, and even on its bussiest days there is room for everyone, the staff here at the pool are the friendliest hotel staff I have ever come across and this has not changed in our 6 years of visits. The rooms are kept very clean, this visit (April) we stayed in an apartment for a week, It was so nice to have our own rooms with the use of a kitchen and laundry, I highly recommend this for families. The hotel is under a bit of renovations right now, but this has not stopped the great service. We cannot wait for the new reasturants to open to give visitors more variety as there are only 3 reasturants available on the property now. But Darling Harbour is not a far walk if you want to eat out. We live an hour and a half's drive out of Sydney, but we always come here if we need a break and are not travelling overseas as it feels very first class and as far as im concerned the only hotel in Sydney which feels like a resort. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for r & r in Sydney

Room Tip: call reservations, they have great deals!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newlifenotinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a good hotel for those wanting to go to the Casino downstairs, darling harbour or the local area (Fishmarkets etc). It has reasonably sized rooms which are comfortable with good views of Sydney. However, the service is extremely mediocre! You will all think I am exaggerating here, but it took over 1 hour for my bags to arrive in my room! Nup, no hyperbole here at all. I checked in at 12:45, my bags arrived just before 2pm. The reason was apparently "we are short staffed", which I usually translate to "we have bad managers". I didn't use the internet but I think this is another one of those ridiculous hotels which charge for internet usage- why are they not charging for water and electricity usage as well? Perhaps an oxygen charge too. Internet is standard now guys, wake up.

Its a convenient place if you need to be in this area of Sydney, but don't expect service here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripotetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 179 in Sydney
911 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#74 of 179 in Sydney
1,227 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $208 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing