We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large and Stylish rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Ranked #54 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large and Stylish rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in a harbour view room when I travelled to Sydney for work. Harbour view was nice but it had limited visibility of the Harbour bridge. So, I don't think it was worth the extra pay. The room was up to date and had a modern and elegant theme throughout. The variety of pillows and a soft bed was a bonus. Huge LCD TV without Foxtel channels was a bit dissapointing. The bathroom was very small. The hotel lifts were slow and had to wait for a while to get on one. The information pamphlets provided in the room was inadequate. Would have loved to see at least a map showing where the hotel is located. But thanks to my GPS. The location was nice and close to my work and Darling Harbour was ony 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyJoy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    317
    156
    66
    48
See reviews for
278
316
36
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my partner for approx. 7-8 nights. The hotel wasn't bad, but honestly it was a bit of a rip-off. We stayed in their 1-bedroom suite at the end of the corridor.

Pros:
Suite was well designed, you can change the color of the light behind the bed, big televisions, great view of the skyline, buffet was delicious, housekeeping were friendly, staff in general were nice.

Cons:
They charge $5 for ice (no ice machines!), they nickle and dime you for everything, it was a bit of a walk if you want to head down to circular quay (although you can catch the monorail with somewhat of ease), the suites at the end of the corridor did not correspond with the hotel at all (seems like a 3 star trying too hard to be a 5 star), lots of construction that really took away from the pool area. Some of the bouncers at the entrance of the casino were very rude (I was accused of appearing drunk/high when I didn't have a drink all day & don't use drugs! Really quite rude.)

Really-Big Con:
Beware, the concierge sent us to the wrong place, she obviously was not very well trained & didn't know what the hell she was doing. Also, internet access in the suite costs an astonishing $100 + per week! That is insane in my opinion, it should be offered complimentary with the amount of money they rip you off on the room rates (just my humble opinion). If you do stay here, I suggest going to a cafe in the shopping center at darling harbour (the one before you walk across the bridge with the bowling alley in it)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justpumpitlouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Staff were amazing. Extremely attentive and willing to I above and beyond. While not in the perfect location this means you can have a great view from the room that other more central hotels can't compete with. It is also less than a ten min walk to central Sydney. I stay in Sydney every week for work and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley080389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Booked two apartments side by side to have a dozen friends stay the night for our farewell/party.
We also had guests stay in the rooms up to 11pm as their policy allows.

There is a no-party policy for the rooms and you are limited to the amount of alcohol you take up so we had to smuggle a truckful of booze in our luggages and kept our music & chatting to a minimum.

Security came to respectfully quieten us down later on so we went out to the casino floor.

We had a couple acquaintances show up in what they thought was nice attire for a casino but security wouldn't let them in saying it was because they were intoxicated which obviously wasn't the real reason.
As much as I should of been upset I was actually glad they weren't let in as they arrived looking like dags.

Anyway...
The rooms were great!
The staff were great!
The food was great!
I knew overall it could of still been better for the money spent but we still enjoyed our night immensely!

The major downfall is their policy to make guests clean after themselves: dishes, benches, floors, walls, tiles, carpets.
Otherwise they charge you additionally!

Luckily we'd kept the place in great condition anyway but you're paying for an expected service &
for the money we payed we shouldnt be doing the maids job.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We're a family of four that travelled to Sydney for a long weekend away. We stayed here for its location to the fish market and close proximity to Darling Harbour - not to mention late night entertainment if you wanted it. There's a Coles supermarket just across the street if you needed any everyday things.

We stayed in the city view room and the view was fabulous- even saw the Harbour Bridge! Renovations were occurring but we did not hear a sound - though I'm not sure how much actually went on as it was raining for three out of the four days we were there. Rooms were clean and spacious though there was still a hint of smoke in the room (we were on a non-smoking floor too). Beds were wonderfully firm and comfy and they even had a pillow menu for you.

There were numerous restaurants located throughout the casino complex which came in handy those nights when it poured. There was a great variety of food at the garden buffet. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, with large rooms and all the perks you'd expect from a 5-Star hotel.

Check in was pleasant and with a smile.

Location is an easy walk to Darling Harbour. Also very close to the Star City Casino which is in the same complex.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Family (mum, dad with two boys seven and four) stayed four nights in two bedroom apartment. All staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived till we left. From walking in the hall ways to desk staff, everybody we met had smiles and genuine greetings for us. Accommodation was first class, beautifully presented and well maintained. Sound levels were good, we couldn't hear a soul, although we're not sure other people couldn't hear our kids!!!
We're already talking about when we can go again, not for Sydney, just for the hotel.
5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Property: Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing