We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service I have ever received in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seasons Darling Harbour
Ranked #150 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst service I have ever received in my life”
Reviewed February 19, 2006

They cancelled our room before we even checked in and stated there was nothing they could do for me. I had this room booked for over 8 months and they just cancelled it with no alternative. The service was disgraceful, particulalry from Steven. I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. They made my wedding a particularly painful and stressful occasion and showed no remorse. Don't give them your money ! They don't deserve it !

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    160
    120
    77
    69
See reviews for
76
207
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2006

We were upgraded on check in from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom apartment, due to availability. This was enormous and spotlessly clean, with two balconies and a brilliant view over the chinese garden. And yet this was the cheapest apartment we had paid for in Australia on this trip. On day of departure the staff extended our check out time until 12 noon and gave us access to the pool etc until 6pm. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We first reviewed this hotel back in 2000, having been one of the first guests at this (then) new property- at the time, the building was still being completed- the dishwasher was still sitting in the middle of the kitchen floor but we were willing to give them a chance. We were enchanted with the physical property itself but the staff was far and above anything we'd ever experience in a like-priced hotel.
We're sorry to report that this is no longer the case. Very little, if any, money has been put into the property since its opening- the furnishings, carpets, wallpaper and paint, etc. are all looking a bit ratty; staff, some of whom are wonderful, are on the whole a bit too eager to blame the guest for any shortcomings brought to their attention ("Sorry, mate- this keycard must be yours!" Housekeeping, apparently, had left their keycard in the electricity activation pad inside the door and then left for the day. This card would have given us access to any room in the building!)
*45 minutes to have ice delivered to the room- no self-service machhines available.
*One washer and dryer for all guests to share- and they're slow!
* what started as a boutique hotel, and is still advertised that way on may websites, is now according to a staff member, a "...budget hotel."
We might stay here again, but we will check other otpions before our return to Sydney this summer.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gregdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

We stayed at this hotel recently on our trip to Sydney and were more than impressed. It was a little bit of a pain tranferring between hotels and elevators to reach the Gym and pool but considering that we where overall satisfied with the room.

Location is on the edge of China Town and a walk down dixon street through China Town left us mithered to visit restaraunts but we found this easily avoidable. Darling harbour is only a couple of minutes away and is very pleasent, paddy's market (some great bargains and hassle free) was also within a couple of minutes walk. We also found a very cheap souvenier shop oppisite the exibition centre which is a must for all souveniers.

The staff fell over themselves to help out where they could and could only be described as excellent. Room itself was well maintained on a daliy basis, for what we paid we would definatly go again.

Slight downside was the distance to circular quay just after the new year celebrations but on other occasions we managed to get taxis reletivley easy. The location is close to the central buisness district and the night life of Sydney, one thing we had a gripe with was the monorail station was closed.

In conclusion, we found it quiet, relaxing and well worth the money. If we return to Sydney we would not hesitate in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrNeilG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2005

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week on our first trip to Sydney. First impressions were good, the room was clean and comfortable. We were on the 15th floor as well, which meant there was no noise from the road. The staff were friendly and helpful. One downside was that the walls are a bit thin so you can sometimes here your neighbours tv etc but it's not too bad.

The location was also good for us - only a 10 minute walk through chinatown and you arrive at Darling Harbour which is a really lovely area, especially at night. Circular Quay was about 25-30mins walk away, which sounds a long time but the walk itself was very pleasant. There is also an underground stop very close which gets you to Circular Quay in a few mins.

We felt very safe in the area at all times, even walking back late at night I never felt threatened.

I would definately stay here again, the price we paid to stay here made it a real bargain!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loobyloo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2005

I stayed there in november 2005 for 1 day at the start of our holiday and 3 days at the end. Both rooms were more than adequate with microwave, electric hob, toaster etc, but its so near chinatown you wont need to cook. coupled with a short walk to all the restaurants in darling harbour you are set. Its also not far from paddys market and the convention centre. Its possible to get the monorail and is quiet despite being central. The furnishings were up to scratch and the staff were friendly and helpful. One note of warning if you want to park a car overnight its $36. Would i stay there again, sure.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

Arrived early evening and given key to suite only to discover the room not yet made up from previous occupants - moved into suite next door and discover hairs on pillows, curtains missing and toilet seat broken - generally dirty and totally NOT a four star condition!

Move again into suite next door which was marginally cleaner.

Have to say the staff were extremely helpful and understanding - but I was very disappointed as booked and paid for this accomodation in advance based on photos on expedia - quite shocked at state as have recently stayed in Melbourne Rydges - excellent and Adelaide Pacific - also excellent and both were cheaper by far!

I would NOT recommend anyone staying here if they are looking for a classy hotel.

I was told they are spending loads of money in the coming months on refurbishment - Can't happen too soon in my opinion. Just sorry I booked.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fdpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#126 of 178 in Sydney
714 reviews
Central Business District
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#92 of 178 in Sydney
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Darling Harbour

Property: Seasons Darling Harbour
Address: 38 Harbour St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seasons Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasons Darling Harbour, an apartment hotel located in the heart of Sydney offering a range of oversized spacious apartments. Situated at the crossroads of Darling Harbour, the Conference precinct and Chinatown, the monorail station is a stone’s throw away whisking you to Sydney’s sights. Surrounded by an array of culinary dining restaurants and entertainment venues, our location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seasons Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Clarion Hotel Sydney
Clarion Sydney
Sydney Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing