We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we were led to believe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Sydney Suites
Ranked #89 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Wyndham Sydney is located at the edge of the city center but is easily within walking distance of all the busses and trains, especially the free "555 Green Bus" shuttle that serves all of central Sydney. The hotel is nice but hardly a luxurious "Vacation Resort". It is very nice for stays up to a week. However, more than two people in the 1 bedroom suite would be a crowd. Like most other hotels in Australia, you must live out of your suitcase as there is not enough shelf or drawer space for two people to unpack into. The hotel is clean, in good repair and the staff is very competent and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 485 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

My sons (9 & 11) & I traveled here from Los Angeles with my friend and her son, and we were so looking forward to the luxurious Presidential Suite (dual-key lockout). We were unpleasantly surprised when we arrived. Our driver dropped us off from the airport and we were disappointed to see that some of the surrounding buildings were either abandoned and/or had graffiti all over them. When we went inside, there was a guy vacuuming in the itty bitty lobby, and it took a while to get him to acknowledge us. So much for a first impression!

We then got our keys to our "suite" and I could not believe that the Wyndham had not made a mistake. The room was worse than a regular room at the worst timeshare property I've stayed at. Absolutely nothing was impressive. The view looked out onto a rooftop with rusted equipment and standing water; we had an outdoor table/chair set that was rusted and turned upside down.

The decor was cold, and there was no coffee machine; only an espresso machine or instant coffee.

The cherry on top was the horrendous internet. Their provider is something called Tomizone, and you can sign up for hour, day, week or month passes. I signed up for the week pass for $40, and it's limited to 250mb. In less than 24 hours, I had apparently used up all of the data - even though I had not streamed videos or played online gaming. I just checked email and surfed the web. Furthermore, two people can't be logged in at the same time, which means that either you have to sign up for another account (to the tune of another $40 for the week.....or 250mb of data, whichever comes first) or you can log out and someone else can log in. Well - not that easily......after you log out, it's like 15-30 minutes before the system updates that you're logged out. Until then, no one can log in. All in all, for my kids and I, I paid $160 for 5 days of crappy internet. I still had to use my Verizon phone to surf TripAdvisor and Yelp for reviews.

Oh, and the air conditioning was so-so. The oven came with no instructions and is obviously very different from American ovens - we burned up the pizza that we tried to reheat and set off the smoke detector. The kitchen is itty bitty with no counter space, and we tripped the circuit breaker somehow with our plethora of electronics (ipads, iphones, Macbook).

On the bright side, there is a good Thai restaurant just a block down that has great take-out (or eat-in but it's tiny and crowded). The location is central to other things to do in the city. It is in walking distance to Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, and Chinatown is right around the corner. A cab to Circular Quay is about $17, and a cab to Bondi Beach was about $30. We paid $90 for a cab from the airport (we got jipped), but only $40 for a cab to the airport.

The staff was very nice and very helpful. Every one of them was a pleasure to deal with. Would I go back? No. Definitely not. After flying 14 hours for the trip of a lifetime, I would stay at the Park Hyatt at the Rocks next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybyday88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Walked in and pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of our one bed apartment. Well equipped little kitchen area, nice lounge, large comfortable bed with huge en suite bathroom. We had asked for a room on a higher floor as recommended because of the street noise. They obliged by putting us on the 11th floor. Only one niggle, as others have stated...the paper thin walls! Woken up at "silly o'clock" one night by the people in the next room having a blazing row!!...could hear every word...quite entertaining had it not been for the time! Staff really jovial and helpful and a great location for Chinatown, Paddys Market, Hyde Park. Darling Harbour a 10 min walk. Would stop here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a for a room on a higher floor due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank newkiwi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wyndham is located in easy walking distance of Chinatown, Paddy's Haymarket, Darling Harbour and there is the 555 FREEBUS which takes you nearly everywhere else in downtown Sydney, such as the Rocks and Circular Quay.
We stayed in a studio, would have preferred a 1 bedroom - due to nice sitting area, but as we did not stay in the room during the day, this was not too much of an issue.
There was a little bit of noise from the rooms either side, but again, not much of an issue - as we did not have noisy neighbours.
The room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was tight (you don't have to get off the toilet to wash your hands), the shower was good and it was all very functional and clean.
The kitchenette was bigger than expected, it offers a reasonable fridge, a 2 burner cooktop, a microwave and 2 place-settings. It was more than I'd hoped for and more than sufficed our breakfast and snack making needs.
The TV was small (about 26inch) but I wasn't in Sydney to watch TV, so again not much of an issue.
If you are looking for opulence then look elsewhere, if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay then give the Wyndham a go, but try to get the 1 bedroom rather than the studio.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 bedroom rather than the studio, especially if you are staying more than a couple of n...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SteveJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The title about sums up my experience at the hotel. I had stayed here a few years ago and really enjoyed the location - near Hyde Park and Oxford Street. My last stay must have been at an off time as I didn't remember the hotel being busy and maybe there was no one in the room next to me. I also had a larger room last time that I loved. This trip I think I was just in a "typical" sized room. (Room 307).

However, this time the hotel was sold out. In the evenings and morning as I lay in bed I could hear the alarm from the room next to me and people talking (as the bedrooms on all floor plans are next to each other). I couldn't even be upset at them since they were only discussing what to do the next day in normal conversational tone but I could still hear every word they said. That really disappointed me.

The front desk told me the rooms were recently remodeled but I didn't notice a chance from my last visit. Nothing was worn so maybe it was a refresh to keep things looking new. That part was OK with me. My room had a very small closet which only had enough space for clothes for 1 person and I basically just lived out of my suitcase that week. There is a handy in room safe with mini kitchen area and a nice clean, empty refrigerator which I used to store all my refreshments for the week. The only bothersome item was that housekeeping never vacuumed the room the entire week I was there. Since the carpet was brand new it would fuzz a lot more and create sections of carpet pile around the room especially under the desk. It's easily seen when you walk in and I guess it was too much effort to vacuum the new carpet.

The internet service was also a big disappointment and a major change from my last visit. Before it was a flat fee for speedy internet service. Now it's a wireless service but you have to pay for it by time/MB usage. To me this is a huge slap in the face especially knowing that lots of visitors stay at the hotel and would like to use the internet to plan their stay, search restaurants, buy tickets, book tours, communicate with those back home, etc. To me this hotel is working backwards for providing internet to guests. They used to have a flat fee wired service (what is traditional for most hotels), but now they made the effort to move to this structure. I have included a photo of my computer screen to show you what the Internet rates were as of March 2013. Be aware anyone who wants to stream, skype, upload photos, etc. You will go though your MBs very quickly.

When I come back to Sydney, I think I would stay at the Best Western Hotel Stellar next time instead of here. It has the same mini kitchen and it's just up the street from this hotel so it's in the same area. I didn't have the problems with noise from other rooms and their wireless internet is free and I didn't have any problems there with my stay (same trip but 1 week prior to my visit at the Wyndham. I also posted my review of that property on this site).

Despite the hotel issues above I do have to say the staff were ALL very welcoming, friendly and helpful the entire stay. They were very professional and are doing a great job! I just wish I had a better experience with my overall stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We've stayed at Wyndham a couple of times now. Very friendly staff and accessible to heaps of eating places and entertainment. Just a short electric train ride to Circular Quay (or bus ride) where ferries are and also The Rocks area. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but for a Sydney visit for us they are fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keasty446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I just completed a 10 day stay at the Wyndham Vacation Resort and while it was a pleasant stay, it was nothing to brag home about. For the money, the rooms are quite small. The TV's could be updated for one. One of my biggest grips was the door between the living room and the bedroom. With it open you can get in between them, but then the entrance to the bathroom is blocked. So when you want to get between the two, the door is always in the way. A good solution would be to create a pocket door between them and that would remove that problem. The staff was always friendly in my opinion. Storage in the bedroom is quite limited too. Not many storage drawers are provided and the closet is quite small. Since I was there for a longer stay, more storage would of been a better welcome. For a short weekend stay then you should be fine. Would I stay here again? perhaps but i'd give other options a try too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highwaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#76 of 179 in Sydney
3,245 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,388 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#54 of 179 in Sydney
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,266 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sydney Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sydney Suites

Address: The Southern Cross Towers 34-35 Wentworth Ave | The Southern Cross Towers, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $113 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Sydney Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Sydney Suites is located in Australia’s largest and most exciting and diverse city, Wyndham Sydney offers spacious accommodation in the heart of it all. This stylish, modern hotel is within easy walking distance to all major attractions and just a short stroll from Hyde Park and the popular restaurant precincts of Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Surry Hills and vibrant nightlife of Oxford Street. Each apartment features a kitchenette and Juliet balcony (excluding Studio apartment), spacious living area with LCD television, a large bedroom and modern en-suite designed to meet the need of both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Sydney Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney Hotel Sydney
Wyndham Sydney
Sydney Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing