We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Subtle elegance with a view...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Subtle elegance with a view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

The hotel is large enough to provide the full range of quality services but small enough to have a cosy feel. The service is unobtrusive but effective. I found the staff to be quite pleasant. The room I had was spacious and comfortable; and the view was simply sensational. The location places the traveller both very close to the main tourist drawcards (Circular Quay, the Harbour, The Rocks, the Opera House) and yet it is in the CBD, with walking-proximity to the legal and medical precincts in particular. It is very quiet, a quality I value. The Botanic Gardens are across the road (so the "dawn walk" is a great option). The gymnasium is fine and the outdoor pool, while small, is adequate. Parking is underneath and readily accessible; the parking rates are around $35 per day, which is reasonable for Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you A53 for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on making every guests stay a memorable and unforgetable one. We are very lucky to be situated in such a great location opposite the Botanic Gardens like you stated. The dawn walk truly is a gorgeous walk to start your day. We are also quite lucky to have a pool on the premises as a number of other properties in the city do not have one. We look foward to welcoming you back from Canberra next time you are in the Harbour City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    610
    156
    43
    30
See reviews for
354
1,265
131
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Perfect location. Great rooms, friendly staff, couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLS021211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you SLLS0212 for your wonderful comments. Im pleased you had a great stay. We are very lucky to be conveniently located to a number of Sydneys attractions and the beautiful Sydney Harbour. Thank you for noticing the great staff that we have, it validates all the hard work we put in. Thank you again for the great comments and we look foward to welcoming you back to Sydney from San Francisco in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband stayed here as the first stop on our 2.5 week trip to Australia. Most of the things I found annoying were actually consistently problematic in places we stayed throughout the country - expensive wifi, weak a/c, terrible tv - so I hesitate to ding Sir Stamford on those things and I will focus on the highlights:
-- Very pleasant staff
-- Free newspapers (nice to have to learn more about what is going on)
-- Location, location, location
While it might have been nice to get a feel for a more residential area in Sydney, this is the ultimate place to be for tourists with convenient access to the train and ferries. It was easy to take the train from the airport to the hotel and to explore other neighborhoods. We also took the ferries to Manly and Darling Harbor which was a great experience.

One note for the hotel, if there is any way to add somewhere in the bathroom to stash toiletries I am sure it would be much appreciated. In a huge bathroom there was little counter space and no drawers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you travelh00 for your kind response. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We constantly strive to create a warm, hospitable stay through delivering a personalised guest experience and it is reassuring to hear that this is being achieved. Congratulations again on the celebration of your 25th wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford on your next trip to Sydney. Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We just had the most wonderful night, we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary and had the Romance and Seduction package. Wow what a hotel, the staff were lovely, the food was excellent and the room was devine, they really went out of their way to make this a memorable occasion and we can't wait to find another excuse to do it all again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We constantly strive to create a warm, hospitable stay through delivering a personalised guest experience and it is reassuring to hear that this is being achieved.Congratulations again on your 25th wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford on your next trip to Sydney. Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed at the SS on two occasions in Dec 2010 and Jan 2010, having stayed before in Dec 2006.
The hotel continues to provide fine service at a top location.
The staff are wonderful, in particular Kieran, Ryan (concierges), Emmanuel (breakfast) and Dominique and Eric (reception).
The rooms are of a very high quality and nothing appeared to be too much trouble

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo3427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and it is reassuring to read such positive feedback. I am very fortunate to be working with such a wonderful team that go the extra mile in creating a warm, hospitable environment. We are very fortunate to be in a such a superb location to all Sydney's landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford on your next trip to Sydney.
Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our room was large and beatifully appointed. The fireplace, although not needed, added a real charm to the room. The bed was excellent with a good choice of pillows. We had a nice view of the botanical gardens across the street. The stafff was helpful and efficient. The hotel's location makes it very walkable to the gardens, the Opera House, the Circular Quay, and the Rocks. We had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willtjbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for you comments which are much appreciated. We consistently strive to create a warm, hospitable environment coupled with personalise service to create a boutique feel. It is reassuring to hear that these efforts are noticed and I will certainly pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.As you mentioned we are also very very lucky with the location of the hotel.We look forward to welcoming you back soon. more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My wife & I have had several enjoyable stays at this hotel, but not this time !!
The issue now so much the the terrible service we received in the restaurant, but more the fact that despite three separate written complaints to the hotel, WE HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY IGNORED.
Our advice is that if you stay at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay you may have an enjoyable stay, but if not, don't bother complaining because no one at the hotel actually cares about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger9952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Dear Roger9952. Thank you for your comments , I have read them and it was upsetting to me you did not recieve a response from the hotel. I assure you we would never ignore our guest complaints as by addressing them and correcting them have made us who we are today. I would appreciate if you if you gave us the opportunity and re-send the complaint to sales@sscq.stamford.com.au so that i may investigate how it went unnoticed and that we can correct it from happening again. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing