We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We visit Sydney often for work and usually chose stay in the standard business hotels. But in early Jan 2011 we visited Sydney for a friends wedding, so chose to stay at circular quay. We found the Sir Stamford to be an excellent hotel. We had a large, well appointed room. The linen was good quality and the room was beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is very well located to circular quay and the ferry terminals, and also the Opera house and a large range of cafes and restaurants.
We will certainly be staying at the sir stamford on future visits!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyMolly6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you MillyMolly6101 and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We constantly strive to create a warm, hospitable stay through delivering a personalised guest experience and it is reassuring to hear that this is being achieved. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford on your next trip to Sydney. Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,723
    678
    172
    50
    35
See reviews for
407
1,440
145
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Sir Stamford is a block from the Sydney Opera House and across the street from the Royal Botanical Gardens in Circular Quay, which is a great location. The entire staff is friendly with a very knowledgeable and helpful concierge. It is in an older, historic building but the rooms are spacious and clean. The lobby and meeting areas are more English with a nice more formal bar. There is a rooftop pool and small workout room as well. Price was much better than others in this location of more recognizable brands. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you RoBertie for your review and it is reassuring to read such positive feedback. I am very fortunate to be working with such a wonderful team that go the extra mile in creating a warm, hospitable environment. We are very fortunate to be in a such a superb location to all Sydney's landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford on your next trip to Sydney.
Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful, the location is excellent and beds and pillows are good. The rooms are a bit tired, as are the few machines in the gym and the photos of the swimming pool are seriously misleading (it's about half the size and a tad grim). If you need a travel adaptor, you have to pay $15 at the minibar (supplied free in every room in the hotel we came from) and to replace the small carton of milk for tea and coffee cost $4!! I've never before been in a hotel that charged for milk to make tea in your room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzy83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordsscq, Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you izzy83_11 for your feedback on your stay. It is not common practice to charge for milk in the room. After investigation it seems you were referring to our mini bar list which has Dairy Milk on the list, this is in fact our Dairy Milk chocolate bar. I do apologize for the misinterpretation. Thank you again, your provided feedback will help us in the future. I am glad you found the staff enjoyable and friendly as we pride ourselves on our service. I do hope you may think of the Sir Stamford on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Regards from the Sir Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Book through hotel website to get priority in getting first rooms available. We booked through a discount site and arrived at 8:30am. Were kindly told we'd get a room as soon as one came available, but as we read from other reviewers, that 's NOT the case. They kept giving us excuses each time we checked back with desk. Luckily, I'd read this situation on TA before booking, so we made plans to keep occupied till 3pm, but did check back just to see what they'd say. We did see others checking in ahead of us, several times. The opera house is right up the street. And there's a wonderful garden just across the street. It has lots of giant bats! (flying squirrels) You can easily kill several hours at this property, There's several exhibits and acres and acres of beauty. The hotel restaurant was empty, always, as the prices were crazy high. We did go for the Chocolate Implosion dessert someone wrote up. It was REALLY REALLY unique, but not the best tasting we'd ever had. They did dazzle us with their fruite/cheese/nut plate though. Introduced us to quince paste, popular in AU. It's like a solid honey (really a fruit). We found it in Whole Foods back home and serve it often, getting rave reviews. If you're coming back from a night opera show, the street is bleak with food options. But if you walk past hotel there's a Greek restaurant. Other than that, there's a jiffy store between hotel and opera house. Hotel is Very classy, and costumed doorman is over the top awesome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewardessFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

On our 4th trip to Sydney from the US, we found this hotel on Tripadvisor as our usual spot was unavailable. Sir Stamford exceeded our expectations in every way, with regard to amenities (including bar/breakfast/concierge/room service), location, cleanliness and value. Overseas travelers should realize that your room might not be immediately available if you arrive from US at 8 am, but this is not different from any other hotel we have stayed at in the past. The staff was fantastic (for example: locating an umbrella for us to use on a rainy day, attempting to get us into our room a bit early, advising on local grocery and bottle shops, helping with oversized vehicle parking for our Australian relatives)! Also, we ordered room service from the Asian menu and it was DELICIOUS!!! The laksa was phenomenal!! And very reasonable for Sydney menu prices , especially if you use a bottle shop for drinks (which is way cheaper than going out). The location is eminently situated <1 block from Circular Quay (Airport train- $15 one way, ferries to all the beaches, monorail, city trains). You may not have a view comparable to the Sydney Hyatt but you won’t pay $2K/ night either! My mother LOVED this hotel, comparing Sir Stamford to the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan (on a smaller scale, of course), something to consider if you are bringing the Oldies.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G_Cheblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We could not fault this hotel in any way. It is in the most perfect location in the city being close to Circular Quay, Opera House etc. We stayed on the 10th floor with fantastic views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. I would think that there are only a couple of floors high enough to enjoy these views so make sure you request a 10th floor room if one is available. The service here is first rate with the staff always being friendly and attentive without ever being intrusive. Would definitely stay here again for future stays in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirby319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Sir Stamford location cannot be beat. It's right in the heart of Circular Quay but set along a quiet street and across from gardens of which our room had a view. The best part were the two concierges we dealt with who were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing