We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

A wonderful hotel with great service. Since we would arrive in Sydney
early AM after the 20 plus hours from Scotland we made a reservation for the previous night and informed them that we would be checkin in the next day at 8 AM. No problem.

The loquacious and charming bellman escorted us to a marvelous room with a private balcony. We had dinner there the first night of our stay. Ask for a room with balcony if possible.

The staff was uniformly courteous and helpful and the service in the bar was swift.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank GordonDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    631
    159
    46
    31
See reviews for
369
1,322
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed here based on the excellent reviews by the reviewers on this site for three nights prior to our cruise. We arrived at about 9 am in the morning and a room was not yet available but they offered us the use of their shower facilities in their gym and pool area. I felt pretty grungy after 14.5 hour flight and exiting the airport. After brushing my teeth and taking a shower, I felt much better. They brought up our luggage so I could change and took it back after we decided to leave and explore the city. They sent us up a tea service so we could refresh ourselves. The staff and concierge couldn't have been nicer. When we returned, our room was ready and the uggage placed in the room. The hotel is small and quiet. It's not stuffy and in an ideal location up l block from Circular Quay. The rooms are a good size and the bath and dressing area are larger than normal. Everything was clean and tidy. There is a electric teapot for heating water and teabags and coffee powder in the room. There was no internet access that I could determine in the hotel but I didn't ask.
The hotel is very close to the Opera House and Botanical Gardens. We could walk to many attractions or catch the buses. Circular Quay is a main transit terminal for bus and ferry.
One block away is the NSW State Library where visitors can use free internet for 15 minutes.

We loved our stay at Sir Stamford and highly recommend it based on our experience. (We are very particular.) The young staff was very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
5 Thank CalBear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

I stayed with my partner at the Sir Stamford on the third leg of a three centre Australian trip and whilst the accommodation in Melbourne & Cairns had been more than adequate, this place was a major let down.
The room we were allocated hadn't been cleaned properly with litter still in the bins and unwashed coffee cups & drinks cans on the table (the 'compensation' for this comprised a derisory four chocolates and a note saying 'sorry' from the management !)
The conceriege was either unable (or unwilling) to make any restaurant reservations on our behalf and the bar was distinctly unwelcoming.
So dispiriting was the whole experience we actually aborted our stay by several nights and flew back to London.
As a regular business traveller I can claim a certain familiary with the quality of service one can expect from four & five star hotels and this one didn't come close. I can only hope that in the time that has elapsed since our stay things have improved.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
14 Thank MozLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed at the Sir Stamford for a week and it was marvelous. Our room was spacious with a great king size bed and a comfortable bathroom. We had a juliet balcony overlooking Circular Quay and we enjoyed seeing the cruise ships docking across the quay. The Opera House is a five minute walk and the Botanical Gardens are right outside the front door. All the staff were courteous and helpful.
The hotel matched the best rate we found on various websites. One thing to be aware of if you have a back or knee problem is that Albert Street which leads from the hotel to the quay is very steep.
Can't say enough good things about Sydney. If you like being on the water get a ferry pass. We went on the ferry every day, walked around and had lunch in Mosman, Watson's Bay, Darling Harbor and of course Manly.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Plitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

Our room didn't quite have the view of the Opera House we had envisioned when we purchased a View Room but we did look over McQuarrie Park and if we stepped onto the Juliet balcony we could see the Opera House. But......for the price we paid we felt we got good value.
The Deluxe King was large and the bed so comfortable. Black out curtains. Very quiet. Nice to be able to open a window to enjoy the Sydney air.
The entrance hall with closet was spacious and the bathroom with shower/tub was large enough. It also had a seperate toilet room.
The Concierge - Chris had incredible dining recommendations and was so helpful and thoughtful the whole time we were there - 3 days.

We loved the outdoor pool which seemed to get lots of use as the temps were ripe for sunning and swimming. Must say parts of it looked a bit like it was an after thought by the standard of chaise and cushion covering. But it was perfect for us.

The location is just up the hill from the Circular Quay. It looks like some rooms may not have much of a view, So check carefully when you book.

For the price, the comfort, the charming old world elegance of the hotel's public areas and rooms, we were very happy with our package. One would need to pay more for a really hot view! Quay at Circular Quay? the Marriot high up? the Holiday Inn (Old one)? might be good possiblities for view hotels but I would think one would pay more this privilege.
We would go back to the Stamford at Circ Quay any day.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank ragout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed here in Aug 2006 and had a great deal because it was during their winter. This place is ideally located - very close to the Sydney Opera House and the Botanical Garden. We could walk everywhere. The hotel had a nice lobby. Our room was spacious and had charm. The bathroom was definitely nice - with marble and a modern touch. We arrived quite early in the morning after a 14 hour flight and were disappointed we weren't allowed to check in earlier. Other than that, I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank bayarea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

This is a very traditional hotel, with rather formal public rooms and a very stuffy bar, which really wasn't inviting at all. The decor was rather tired in places. Having said that, the bedrooms were very comfortable, with really large beds and it was all very clean.

Although it is in a very central location, it isn't close enough or high enough to have decent views of the harbour or opera house, which is a great shame. However, it is only about 4 minutes walk to the opera house from the hotel, and only slightly longer to some great restaurants.

They were extremely accommodating about an early check-in. We arrived at the hotel at around 08.00 from an overnight flight, and were offered access to the leisure facilities to shower and change, while they promised to prioritise our room. By the time we had finished, they came to tell us that our room was ready.

Although we didn't use the gym facilities ourselves, we did see them first-hand, and thought they were very small and inadequate, both in terms of the equipment and the showers/changing rooms. Two people would have been a crowd!

Although tea and coffee making facilities are provided in-room, the milk was in the fridge and "charged" as being part of the mini-bar. We came across this elsewhere in our travels in Australia, and it seemed annoyingly penny-pinching. As it was also long-life milk and therefore not that nice, we simply asked housekeeping to provide a jug of fresh milk. This they did, but with some reluctance.

The overall experience was fine, but it was far from the best hotel we stayed in along the way.

  • Liked — Very central location
  • Disliked — Lack of good harbour views
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing