We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 18, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank oscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,912)
There are newer reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,808 - 2,814 of 2,913 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2006

This was our first stop after a long flight from the U.S.--it was a terrific place to rest and recover. The room was large and overlooked the botanical gardens, which were lovely. People had told us the hotel might be a bit "dated", but we found it charming (we didn't find it "dated" but rather just old-fashioned, formal (in the English style) and with modern amenities). The location was terrific--right across from the gardens and a 5-minute walk from Circular Quay (with the ferries, restaurants and downtown shopping). The staff was excellent--made wonderful recommendations for restaurants (Nick's at Darling Harbour) and made sure we had everything we needed. There wasn't anything that particularly stood out (like the views from the Four Seasons or the restaurant at the Park Hyatt, both of which we've stayed at) but it was undoubtedly the best deal for the money.

Stayed: November 2006
4  Thank nycbc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Near-perfect location, a few steps from Circular Quay and its ferries/restaurants. Formerly the Ritz Carlton, the furnishings remain the same. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Expensive rack rates but good packages (Quay Escapes) are available which include full breakfast in the dining room.

The staff try to keep up the standards of the Ritz Carlton but don't all come up to the challenge. The service at breakfast was at times bizarre--coffee and tea ordered but didn't come at the first time of asking; shortage of butter; a toaster that burns; rather frightend uncommunicative waitresses.

Despite these idiosyncracies, this is as good a place to stay as any in Sydney, if you want quiet luxury at a reasonable(for Sydney!) price.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LightyPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

This hotel is situated in a prime position just minutes from the Opera House, Circular Quay and The Rocks area. It is housed in a beautiful National Trust Heritage building with nine or ten floors. The foyer and lobby area are gorgeous with lovely 18th century Georgian antique furniture. The hotel has a distinctive ambience and oozes with charm and character. The art work within the hotel is also very impressive.

Our room 905 which was booked through wotif.com.au at a cheap rate was absolutely wonderful. It was very spacious with a king size bed, small table and chairs, lamps, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, trouser press, with a comfortable lounge chair and ottoman.

The best thing was our huge balcony which had stunning views of the Harbour Bridge, Sydney Harbour and the Botanical Gardens. I was very ecstatic, as I had booked this hotel for a surprise for my husband’s birthday. Most of our time except for dinner was spent just sitting on the outdoor table and chairs taking in the spectacular view, and at night it truly was magical. We noticed the room next door to ours (911) had a bigger balcony and they would actually get the same view but with the Opera House added in as a bonus. (Fabulous room for New Years Eve.)

The bathroom was marble and had two separate vanity units and excellent makeup mirror. Fluffy white bathrobes and slippers were also supplied. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and a good size deck area with sauna and gym supplied.

We had dinner in the restaurant which had a lovely atmosphere, but we were hugely disappointed with the service. We waited 40 minutes for our bottle of wine, and another hour for our entrée; the main took approx the same amount of time. I was furious and complained bitterly, as to me they had ruined my husband’s birthday.
They did say they had a conference downstairs, and there was a problem with the kitchen. Regardless, I thought this to be unacceptable, they later apologized and offered to refund part of our meal.

Overall, apart for the misfortune of our dinner fiasco, I thought this hotel to be wonderful. If I was visiting Sydney, this hotel would suit me perfectly.

I have given this hotel a 5 star rating for its position, ambience, atmosphere and our fantastic spacious balcony with stunning views. Oops, I almost forgot to mention the lovely touch of “romance and seduction” CD playing when you opened your door.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Across from the botanic gardens in the best section to explore Sydney. Rooms were what you would expect--marble baths, robes, slippers, music on when you come in. The little balconies were a treat too. Breakfast was great and their bar area was cozy and had great ambiance.

Dinner at their restaurant was not so hot and we had some problems with our room. We booked on their internet and emailed several times to request a room with one bed. We had no response and assumed that a high end hotel had just taken care of it. That was not the case and when we got there they could not move us. We were told that that was just the way it went by the first couple of people we talked to. We also found out that they had overbooked the hotel by 5% and were actually hoping someone might not check in. We finally found someone sympathetic who moved us for 2 nights to the host floor to make up for it.

All in all, we loved it here but found some of the staff snooty and not willing to help. The other half of the staff though went above and beyond.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank joanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $200 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing