We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, room, questionable service experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Like other hotels for the same price, the Sir Stamford was in an excellent location, and the room was comforting and relaxing.

However, if you plan to be picked up by friends, there is little space to stop on the very busy Macquarie St. A small, but annoying incident occurred when a friend had to make a u-turn in the parking lot (due to the lack of stopping/pickup location), only to be faced with a ridiculous parking charge. Other hotels in the past have been understanding (Holiday Inn, Sydney Airport, Gemini Hotel, Randwick eg) however, the management refused to understand the situation.

Left a sour taste for the day.

Conclusion: Good hotel, but there are other hotels in similar locations, that offer the same services (if not better) for the same price, which I will readily take a chance on in my next stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ting-blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,044 - 3,050 of 3,216 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

I wanted to add my review to the others,as I based my stay at the Sir Stamford on the recommendations of Tripadvisor.
My Husband and I arrived at 7am after long flight from UK. The Reception staff and Concierge were very welcoming and, informed us that a room would be available within the hour. we were delighted, as Check in time was not until 2pm. I did send an e-mail prior to arrival advising of our early arrival was was informed that they would do their best, but could not guarantee a room availability at that hour.

We felt very fortunate in our choice of Hotels and our stay was wonderful. The room was lovely, with views over the harbour.

Thank you everyone who takes the time to add feedback on Tripadviser, as I was planning my trip, I was overwhelmed with choices. It is these sort of comments which can sway the balance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midlands1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This is one of my favourite hotels. It is a small boutique hotel and the service is wonderful. The rooms are large and although the furnishings are probably in need or replacement, the style is plush and tasteful. Breakfast is wonderful and the quality of foos great. The hotel is close to Circular Quay and a short walk to Martin PIace.I love this hotel and much prefer it to the large impersonal hotels usually found in a big city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddison Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Myself and my 2 children aged 12 and 17 stayed here for one night en route to the Uk from NZ. The Hotel was easy to find from Circular Quay Station - btw from the airport it is probably cheaper and quicker to use a taxi as the train cost us $40 and took about 45mins, we got a taxi back to the airport the next day and it cost the same.
It is very impressive when you walk in and the staff welcomed us straight away - the concierge took our bags off us and showed us to reception to check in. I booked this a week before and the rate included breakfast the next day.
We were shown to our room and were told how to work everything. The room was spacious and nicely decorated - not modern style, more old fashioned and grand. The children were very impressed.
Breakfast the next day was wonderful! It was called the 'bountiful' breakfast - there was so much to choose from and you were attended to at all times. The food was fresh and hot, the cooked breakfast wasn't left to congeal and was replenished frequently. Unusual freshly squeezed juices were available, pastries, different types of bread, fresh tea and coffee. It was amazing and a great start to a day of sight seeing. I must say the the decor in this hotel was impressive, the staff were attentive and helpful and the room extremely comfortable. It was close to all amenities and across the road from the botanic gardens, a short walk to the opera house and the harbour bridge. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymummyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and were highly impressed with all aspects of the hotel, the room was huge, clean comfortable and the service was excellent.

We booked a winter snuggler package via Wotif and got a good rate.
On the day we arrived I asked them to book a restaurant for a special dinner with views of the harbour (for that night!) The receptionist called around several restaurants and booked us a table with lovely views at Aria.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigandtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This small, but very elegant hotel is in a great location, within short walking distance of harbor, restaurants, Opera House, Royal Botanical garden and ferries. We were given a spacious room with large bathroom. Full amenities in bathroom (bath products, blow dryer). Comfortable bed with choice of pillows.

Our flight from LAX was delayed and an Australian friend of ours who was waiting in the lobby was welcomed and given a newspaper while she waited. When we arrived, we had been traveling over 30 hours from the east coast of the US and our room was available and given to us when we finally arrived at 11:30 am. What a blessing!

All staff we came in contact with were well-trained, courteous and knowledgeable. This did not have the feel of a huge conference hotel at all and we were made to feel very welcome as leisure travelers in a big city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

A fantastic hotel in a great location for the Opera House, Circular Quay and the CBD.

The style is "old fashioned", but I mean that in a good way. We had one of the cheaper rooms but it was large and the bathroom was spacious too.

Service was excellent throughout.

The only thing wrong was that housekeeping didn't automatically replace the milk used for tea and coffee on two of the four days we stayed there but it only took a call to reception and replacements were brought up to the room within a couple of minutes.

I did think that the selection of cocktails available in the bar seemed rather unappealing, but maybe that's just me.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,641 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 182 in Sydney
6,734 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $182 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing