We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coastal northeast Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem in a great location”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This small, but very elegant hotel is in a great location, within short walking distance of harbor, restaurants, Opera House, Royal Botanical garden and ferries. We were given a spacious room with large bathroom. Full amenities in bathroom (bath products, blow dryer). Comfortable bed with choice of pillows.

Our flight from LAX was delayed and an Australian friend of ours who was waiting in the lobby was welcomed and given a newspaper while she waited. When we arrived, we had been traveling over 30 hours from the east coast of the US and our room was available and given to us when we finally arrived at 11:30 am. What a blessing!

All staff we came in contact with were well-trained, courteous and knowledgeable. This did not have the feel of a huge conference hotel at all and we were made to feel very welcome as leisure travelers in a big city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,724
    678
    172
    50
    35
See reviews for
407
1,441
145
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

A fantastic hotel in a great location for the Opera House, Circular Quay and the CBD.

The style is "old fashioned", but I mean that in a good way. We had one of the cheaper rooms but it was large and the bathroom was spacious too.

Service was excellent throughout.

The only thing wrong was that housekeeping didn't automatically replace the milk used for tea and coffee on two of the four days we stayed there but it only took a call to reception and replacements were brought up to the room within a couple of minutes.

I did think that the selection of cocktails available in the bar seemed rather unappealing, but maybe that's just me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

What a fantastic place! We stayed for 3 nights in May. We arrived at 7am and stopped by to drop off our luggage, but the service was great as they let us have our room immediately! Location was the best, 1 block up the hill from the Circular Quay train station, opera house, botantical gardens - great place to anchor for touring the CBD. Rooms were top notch, comfortable, with a nice balcony overlooking the harbor. Receptionists were helpful and accommodating. We typically like chain-hotels where we know what we'll get, but couldn't have been more pleased with this boutique hotel. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

After much agonising I opted for the Sir Stamford as a special retreat for my girlfriend on her birthday. It was the right choice. We were immediately upgraded on check-in and had a magnificent room on Level 9 that afforded a 180 degree view from the Botanic Gardens to The Rocks from the balcony. The staff were all exceptional, the high tea and breakfast were miles above average and the whole place exudes a warmth and charm. It feels like a grand European B&B right in the middle of Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We were staying at another location for one night before we shifted to the Sir Stamford Plaza. there was a last minute cancellantion and the reception staff, when they found out we were on our honey moon, quickly switched things around to give us the best room available at short notice. The rom afforded a view of both, the Opera house and the Sydney Harbour Bridge. The service was excellent and worth every penny that we spent at this extravagant hotel. Walking distance from everything a tourist wants to see in Sydney, this is the ideal spot for Honeymooners with deep pockets, ask for room number 911, it has got the best view from the balcony by far

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank utkarshmorarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I stayed for five nights. The location could not be better: literally a 3min walk to the Opera, just round the corner from Circular Quay which is a central transport hub. But it was not just that: the bed was incredibly comfortable, the pillows exceptionally good, the bath and shower excellent. The room was very spacious - chose one with city view, as it was cheaper, and was absolutely fine. The staff were very helpful and polite.

Only a few gripes: one of the two basins in the lavatory was not spotless when I arrived, and this was not picked up in the following days. As I soon as informed the receptionist, they sent a cleaner who dealt with it. This a small gripe (albeit regarding an issue which one would not expect to face in a 5* hotel). And the biscuits provided for free were not replaced after my first night - in fact, they are were not replaced at all until my departure. More importantly, there is no wireless connection and the cost for broadband was astonishingly high!!! This was disappointing, considering that in Hong Kong, a 4* hotel would provide wireless for free...

Would I stay again? Absolutely - the above gripes notwithstanding, this was an enjoyable and very comfortable experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLeopardUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Australia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Fantastic location, great service, 10 min walk to opera hse, great rooms with a good selection of food, only spent two nights to celebrate friend birthday & would have loved to have stayed longer. within a short walk to all the main attractions in sydney city centre, very professional service.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing