We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boutique treasure threatened by development”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great boutique treasure threatened by development”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, one of the last more old-world and intimate experiences to be found around Sydney Harbour. The rooms are spacious and nicely done, many with great views, and the restaurant is excellent, especially for breakfast. There are many amenities, including gym, sauna and outdoor pool. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and anxious for you to like the place. But there are development plans to turn most of the hotel site into 18 floors of bijou apartments. Go and stay there and urge the owners not to remove this treasure of a hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    654
    165
    49
    35
See reviews for
382
1,377
138
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had a very rushed check in. Literally entered the Foyer, threw the bag and grabbed a Tie. The Front staff were brilliant and I never gave it a second thought that i was abandoning my suitcases to them.
I didn't return until later in the day. The room (804) was very spacious. Great older style,lots of timber and elegance in the design.
The Bathroom lights can be set on sensor, and i saw this in a lot of the hotel bathrooms as well. So it does have a green conscious,
Only a 5 min walk from Circular Quay and the Rocks or Opera House. Directly across the road from the Botanical Gardens and Conservatory of music.
It is no way a modern or Boutique Hotel. It has a feel of a traditional American Style, like the classic Hotels of New York. I had a drink in the Bar and the staff there were very attentive and polite. Great stuff and great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were in Sydney for one night and stayed at Sir Stamford Circlular Quay. We caught the train from the airport ($32.00 for two people one way, taxi is about $45.00) and walked the easy and short walk to the hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was lovely.

This was a reasonably priced stay (for Sydney CBD) close to everything, Opera House, parks and harbour, breakfast was yummy and good value (prepaid at check in). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermelr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Sir Stamford for 2 nights in July 2014 and everything was perfect. Personal friendly service from all of the staff and excellent food in the dining room.
The hotel is perfectly located for concerts in either the Opera House or the recital hall in Angel place as well as good eating around circular quay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

A really lovely, comfortable hotel with high quality facilities and service. We spent our wedding anniversary in a suite and loved the space and the personal service we received. The high tea is very decadent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Santos, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was perfect when I had a recent bonding trip with my Mom. It's just about 10 minutes walk to the Sydney Opera House, the circular quay harbor, cafés and restaurants. The big plus factor is the friendly concierge who gave us maps and instructions to places we want to visit. And more the big charming bedroom and big bathroom was a nice welcome after a long day of exploring beautiful Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff was really friendly and the hotel was top notch and luxury! The location is perfect -- 2 blocks from Circular Quay! The room was beautiful and quiet --- even though we were close (and could see) the highway, there was no highway noise at all! In the evening there was a fire in the lobby fireplace. Next time I go to Sydney, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,192 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing