We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$107
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$195
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Macleay Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$117
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
$270
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,353)
Filter reviews
3,353 results
Traveler rating
2,203
825
212
66
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,203
825
212
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,318 - 2,323 of 3,353 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We needed to stay in the City to attend wedding - I left the booking of the Hotel to my wife and suggested Intercontinental ( Where I am a Platinum Ambassador ) or Hilton ( where I am Gold Honours ) but she wanted to save some money and booked Sir Stamford on wotif - I was not happy.
Back in 1990 when I was working next door at the Intercontinental the Sir Stamford was known as the Ritz Carlton and was heralded as the first 6 star hotel in the Country.Much has changed since then but It looks like the décor here has not.We needed to drop bags off around 1pm so grabbed a quick drink at the lobby bar which has that beautiful old world charm - we did not get back to the hotel till 10pm and were surprised they had upgraded us to some type of suite.Upon entering suite there is a plaque displaying who has stayed in the same suite - see photo.The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in and it looked like it was straight out of 1988.We had the best sleep and both agreed the bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in.The room has a nice little balcony overlooking Macquarie street and also had a large loungeroom,huge bathroom with dual sinks,bath and walk in shower.
All the staff were very friendly so all in all we were really happy with the Sir Stamford and would recommend to anyone needing to stay in the city.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Charging $25 per day for WiFi access might have been OK in 2001 but these days it's akin to charging extra for running water or air con. Let it be known, this reviewer will not deliberately elect to stay at a property that takes this anachronistic approach. By all means be a lovely heritage property, but heritage pricing on fundamental services is just an embarrassing own goal. Your staff know this. Add the WiFi as no charge and I'll be back. An elegant property with charming staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Cafehead,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. Our beautiful boutique property is ideally located in Circular Quay with fantastic access to all the Sydney icons.
I loved your summation of your stay, defined as "Elegant property, charming staff".
Our complimentary internet service in the lobby and business centre assists our guests who are looking to quickly check travel plans and emails.
Charging for internet is ongoing feedback that we will take into consideration and we will continue to work with our external provider to ensure the best service and pricing for our guests.
The Hotel does offer packages and value adds which included internet, this option is available at the time of booking and on arrival at the Hotel.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I loved staying in this hotel. The old heritage building and furnishings gave it a sense of old world character which is rarely found these days.
Breakfast in the quiet dining room was bliss with hot dishes made to order along with a continental buffet. I can't fault the staff, all of them were extremely polite and helpful. And of course the location is second to none when it comes to being close to the opera house and circular quay. The view isn't bad either!
I'm so impressed with everything, I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daydreaming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Daydreaming1,

Thank you for your lovely review after your recent stay at the Sir Stamford.

I am glad that you loved our location and old world character that the Hotel offers. Its such a lovely point of difference to offer to our guests. Our breakfast offering including the continental buffet with the selection changing regularly is complimented by the Hot breakfast which is cooked to order, ensuring our guests are receiving the best that we can offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back and be sure to check our website for some great seasonal packages.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location, room was very spacious and clean. We had high tea in the restaurant and it was lovely. Walking distance to circular quay, opera house and the rocks. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SealWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear SealWoods,

Thank you for your lovely review after your recent stay at the Hotel.

High tea is such a great way to celebrate any special occasion. Whether it is a small table for 2 guests or a larger celebration in one of our private rooms. High tea is an experience not to be missed. Our conference and events team have some great packages available or we can taylor a package to suit your celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in a great location with a short walk to Circular Quay and the Botanic Gardens. The room was big with a king bed and spacious seating area. The bed was comfortable with a lots of pillows to choose from.
The bathroom was very nice and large. It had a separate bath and shower, dual sinks and door off the bathroom to the toilet.
There were a couple of things that let the room down. Firstly it is in need of some maintenance with marks on the back of the door and a decorative things that could be easily fixed. Secondly the entertainment system on the TV was very slow. While TV is an LCD the entertainment system was very slow to navigate. Lastly you do hear some noise from the other rooms.

Overall it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Graham H,

Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us at the Sir Stamford.

I am glad you found our rooms to be large, spacious and comfortable. I will be sure to follow up with our maintenance team to ensure our entertainment system is upto standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews