We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location, room was very spacious and clean. We had high tea in the restaurant and it was lovely. Walking distance to circular quay, opera house and the rocks. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SealWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear SealWoods,

Thank you for your lovely review after your recent stay at the Hotel.

High tea is such a great way to celebrate any special occasion. Whether it is a small table for 2 guests or a larger celebration in one of our private rooms. High tea is an experience not to be missed. Our conference and events team have some great packages available or we can taylor a package to suit your celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    696
    175
    52
    36
See reviews for
435
1,486
147
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in a great location with a short walk to Circular Quay and the Botanic Gardens. The room was big with a king bed and spacious seating area. The bed was comfortable with a lots of pillows to choose from.
The bathroom was very nice and large. It had a separate bath and shower, dual sinks and door off the bathroom to the toilet.
There were a couple of things that let the room down. Firstly it is in need of some maintenance with marks on the back of the door and a decorative things that could be easily fixed. Secondly the entertainment system on the TV was very slow. While TV is an LCD the entertainment system was very slow to navigate. Lastly you do hear some noise from the other rooms.

Overall it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Graham H,

Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us at the Sir Stamford.

I am glad you found our rooms to be large, spacious and comfortable. I will be sure to follow up with our maintenance team to ensure our entertainment system is upto standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kind regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a standard room - very spacious and comfortable. The mood lighting was a little dark to get much work done and the desk a little high to work at comfortably but otherwise no complaints. Lovely large bathroom too. Great foyer with fire going in the evening and good restaurant 'the bar'. Excellent breakfast that was included in my stay. Service very good too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear nzamy,

Thank you for your review after you recent stay,

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel. Our rooms are lovely and spacious with beautiful french doors opening out onto Juliet balconies.
The Bar is a great place to enjoy high tea or shared bites and a quiet drink at the end of the day. Our fire in the lobby is just fabulous for our guests who would like to check their emails whilst enjoying a drink. During winter we have mulled wine for our guests to enjoy in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

In town for business - first time at this property - located close to circular quay - reception staff very friendly . My room on level 2 had a small balcony with glimpses of the harbor bridge. Very roomy with excellent facilities and quiet. The bar within the property is one of old world charm with high backed chairs and a wonderful ambience
We took breakfast in house and found this to be first class also with the staff being highly attentive
In all a great property, elegant and inviting. Will be back

Room Tip: The property has either parkland views or glimpses of the bridge - higher is better however the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very good property, with wonderful staff who will go out of their way to make sure you have a positive experience.

However, the location of the hotel, with an entrance to a freeway on one side, and the train station and the freeway on the other, will simply make it too difficult to sleep if you are a relatively light sleeper.

I probably should have been more careful with my choice, but from their photographs, it didn't look like they were super close to the start of the freeway. When I asked to be moved (having been upgraded), they upgraded me yet again, and moved me to a room on the other side of the building. This time, the room faced on to a bus stop, and was close to the train station and the other part of the same freeway.

Clearly, this is not something that the hotel has any control over, and that is why I have given them five stars. Their service, and the Olde Worlde Charme of the hotel is very appealing.

However, if you are a light or medium-light sleeper, you will find it difficult to sleep. Maybe that is the way with city hotel rooms, although I have stayed in other Sydney hotel rooms, and had a very quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tribalinsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

First trip to Australia and to Sydney. We wanted to stay somewhere close to all the attractions (Opera House and Sydney Harbor Bridge). This hotel is just up the road (3-5 minute walk) from the Opera House and Circular Quay with ferry rides, restaurants and shoppes. Also walking distance to The Rocks with great restaurants, shoppes, bars, and sights. Fantastic location! We took a double decker bus tour (hop on/hop off) and it has a stop by the Opera House which is super convenient to see the rest of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front desk put us on the 9th floor so we had views of the Opera House and the Harbor. The concierges were helpful and friendly with ideas. Matt helped arrange a taxi to the airport and came up to the room to make sure all the luggage would fit in a certain taxi before he called to arrange. I appreciated the extra effort! The rooms were large and the bathrooms spacious with marble. They had a fire going every night in the lobby to enjoy which is a nice touch. Would stay here again no doubt!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allensped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

this is our second stay at Sir Stanford. an excellent hotel, quaint with character. rooms are very big. staff excellent. food and bar all good. having stayed at many Sydney hotels, this is our favourite. only small deficit was that the previous persons used coffee cups were still outside our room on the second day.

Helpful?
Thank SPayne155
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing