We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We recently stayed at the Sir Stamford for three nights and took the Quay lounge package.

Our whole experience was absolutely fantastic and I would not hesitate in returning.

We booked a package which included a room on the quay floor with access to the quay lounge and the extras that come with it and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is of yesteryear in style but not dated and not worn. The carpets in the rooms are fresh and the decor clean. The feel of the hotel is intimate and welcoming- you don't feel like "just another number"

The hotel is right across from the gardens, a minute or so to the Opera House and coming out of the hotel turn right, gown down the hill and you're in Circular Quay ready to catch a ferry.

Valet parking was a breeze and the helpful staff showed us the facilities of our room upon check in. The room was large with an enormous bathroom- the shower with it;'s own light (only down point of the whole room was a tiny shelf in the shower) double sinks, seperate toilet (ability to shut its door) and bath,

Balcony overlooking the back or Circular Quay- double doors- Bliss!

The bed was comfortable and we had a pillow menu to choose from.

We took advantage of the free pre dinner drinks and canapes in the quay lounge and enjoyed both. Staff members were in attendance but kept their distance enough so we were comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the Quay lounge- tables set with white linen, china and cutlery. An attending staff member (who was just lovely) bought out breakfast plates for us featuring fresh juices, fruit salad and cheese or quiche or other delights. We were able to self serve coffee, tea, juice, toast and pastries from the side buffets of the lounge. Then were able to order cooked breakfast (or cereals) from the menu.

The best part about this was meals arrived piping hot- as opposed to normal hotel buffets.

We dined in the bar one night which has lovely old world charm. The wedges with sweet chilli sauce, guacamole and sour cream were delicious are were the fries and aioli. The cocktails were delicious too.

The concierge got us a booking at an acclaimed (though disappointing) restaurant at last minute. The staff were all generally welcoming and kind- each greeting us as we entered and left the hotel.

Getting a taxi, or our car from valet never took too long.

Our room keys stopped working in the lift twice but the issue was quickly attended to by staff.

Our only slightly disappointing experience was breakfast on our last day- a Saturday. We had a different staff member attending who was constantly sniffing throughout our breakfast and who was quite noisy getting cutlery and plates out for other guests (or was she putting them away? not sure) It just hindered the relaxing breakfast experience slightly with clanging and sniffing!

I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel- and would definitely take advantage of the quay lounge facilities again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank psq063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,981 - 2,987 of 3,117 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed at the Sir Stamford, as I was attending a two day conference in the hotel itself. I was there with my wife and a business colleague and his wife.

The location of the hotel (as other reviews have said) is outstanding. You are across the street from the Botanic Gardens and 2 mins from the Opera House and the ferries at Circular Quay.

Our room was on floor 4 and was very large, with a double bed and large sitting area. The room was very clean and maintained to a good standard. Although we had a very small balcony the view was of other buildings rather than the sights, but not a problem. There is a small outdoor pool and sitting are on the 5th floor, which my wife used on one occasion. Minor moan was that internet access was $99 for one week (I think $25 per day) ....this should be free in this day and age!

The conference facilities are downstairs and ideal for what we were using them for.

As our flight from the UK arrived at 5am, we requested a very early checkin. My colleague's room was available as we checked-in and ours was ready within about one hour, so well done to the hotel for sorting that out at no extra charge.

The concierge was very helpful and arranged taxis etc. The day we left was the day of the Sydney Marathon; the runners running past the hotel, but despite that the concierge had it all in hand and had contingency arrangements in case the taxi couldn't get down the street. Well done !

Breakfasts were of a high quality, with a buffet and a la carte for more specialised stuff. Used the large bar area on a couple of occasions, but the decor was very dark, so wasn't all that inviting. This was a minor comment and shouldn't detract from the overall quality of the hotel.

One final comment....the conference food (lunch) was excellent with a large buffet with lots of choices, including a never ending supply of large prawns and seafood.

I would definitely stay here again and prefer this location to Darling Harbour which is full of skyscraper hotels a nice, but touristy, area of Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

I stayed in July & paid $180 service was good, room was huge but it annoyed me that there wasn't a plug for my laptop near the bed or that to use the iron you ended up standing in the most awkward position & the water pressure was pretty rubbish. I also noted that there was a used shower cap on the back of the bathroom door that was there for my entire stay but otherwise it was clean.

However it was perfectly adequate if not instantly forgettable but vastly better than other places I've stayed for more money. Yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

For service, comfort, location, and amenities, this is one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Two short blocks to the Opera House. Full concierge service which was absolutely fantastic. Older hotel with upgraded rooms. Part of a small SE Asia chain named after the Sir Stamford Raffles of Singapore fame. Superb on-site dining, as well as an upscale classic mahogany fixtured English club bar.
Stay out of touristy Darling Harbor. This place is only a down hill short walk to the the ferries and tour buses which will get your anywhere you want to go in the Sydney area.
Can't recommend more highly!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luv2travel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

I'm a bit late writing this but we stayed at the Sir Stamford for 5 nights over New Year's Eve 2007. We chose the hotel since it was honestly the only one that could offer us two room for 4 adults at a price over NYE that didn't break the bank (although it came pretty close)!

We were a little unsure what to expect having looked at the website but I have to say that it does not do the hotel justice. But, I'm getting ahead of myself...

We arrived pretty bleary eyed very early in the morning after flying straight through from the UK. Our rooms were not yet available (we were not suprised by this since it is such a busy time of year). However, we were offered a pass key which allowed us to take our luggage up the gym where we could make full use of the showers/hairdryers etc and change our clothing. This was wonderful and allowed us to head out into the morning sunshine to enjoy our first day in Sydney feeling very refreshed. Our luggage was left in storage and when we returned later in the afternoon to check in our bags had already been placed in our rooms. The reception staff were lovely and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome guests to the hotel.

Our 2 rooms on the 5th (I think!) floor (one twin and one King) were an unexpected delight. Both were spacious and airy, with sitting area, desk and double doors opening onto a Juliet balcony. We were at the back of the hotel but had a pleasant view to Circular Quay. The bed was extremely comfortable, with a cotton sheet and duvet. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room along with a safe. The bathroom consisted of two sinks, a bath tub and a shower cubicle, all in marble finishings. There were bathrobes, slippers and an abundance of towels. The room was very clean, not at all worn and all linens were clean and fresh. We used the wireless internet (fee) and it worked very well.

We did not eat at the hotel but the restaurant always looked busy at breakfast time. We did frequent the bar for a night cap once or twice. This is in the oldest part of the hotel and well worth a look. Concierge was very helpful and managed to arrange car hire for a day at the VERY last minute on a public holiday. The gym was small but useful for an indoor run or basic workout. The pool was also small but better than nothing in our opinion.

For our particular visit over New Year the hotel had a perfect location. Just one block from Circular Quay and opposite the Botanical Gardens (where we spent NYE). In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and it completely met our needs for this particular occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bonjovirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This is a superb, elegant, oldy world hotel at a great location at Circular Quay, near to the Rocks. Expensive but value for money given the quality and location of this hotel. We booked online and got a good deal.

Right from the friendly welcome from the staff on arrival, we had a great 2-day whistle-stop stay. Check-in was a breeze. Our heavy luggage was whisked up to our deluxe room by a friendly, customer-oriented (elderly) bellman who delighted in showing us all the 7th floor room’s facilities down to the splendid view of the harbour (and opera house), and the handy golf-size umbrella in the cupboard. The room was spacious with a lounge settee and chair, desk, broadband, and a large bathroom with two basins and appointed in Carrera marble. The bed was comfortable, large, and not too soft. Every time we passed a staff member, we received a friendly smile and solicitation. Even arranged late evening room cleaning while we went to dinner, after we forgot to take off the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door!

We did not try the elegant restaurant for dinner – but breakfast offered good, wholesome, hot and cold food with a wide variety of choices, including good back bacon (not the cheap streaky/fatty stuff offered by US hotels). We also did not have time to use the swimming pool.

In the 2 days we spent there, we visited the New South Wales Parliament (personalized tour, even though they had just closed!), the Barracks Museum (showing convict archaeology and history), St Mary’s Cathedral, and the outside of the Opera House (really one of the greatest twentieth century buildings in the world!) Had dinner outside at the East China restaurant on the Quay with a great view of the bridge at sunset. (Some of the best Chinese food we’ve had + a good wine list.) Second day (Good Friday) was overcast and cooler; we visited the grounds of Government House (the House was closed) and then did the tour of the Opera House (a must) and the ferry to Manly, enjoying great views of the Bridge and the Opera House on the way (Get a seat at the stern.) Manly is a favourite short-range destination for Sydney folks on holidays. At Manly, we visited Oceanworld to see the sharks and other exotic fish in a glass tunnel. Despite fearing it would be cheesy, it was a real eye opener, and not at all cheesy. (You can even don a diving suit and check out the fish on a more personal basis. We were told the sharks didn’t bite, but didn’t want to take the risk!) Back to Sydney, then spent a couple of hours just walking up and down George Street and around the Rocks. Wonderful.

When you check out, do check your bill carefully to ensure you are not charged for the inclusive breakfast and broadband, if it’s supposed to be included in your package. The hotel sorted it out –eventually.

One more tip: if you take the shuttle back to the airport, be sure to leave yourself plenty of time and confirm 24 hours in advance. The shuttle arrived at the hotel on time but after picking up other passengers and what seemed like a complete tour of Sydney, arrived at the airport half an hour late.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Stayed at the Sir Stamford for 7 nights in March 2008. We were recommended by a good friend, who is also a travel agent. He had stayed here, a few years ago, when the hotel was owned by Ritz Carlton.
We found the hotel to be delightful. It has more character than many hotels I have stayed in. Part of the hotel is in a heritage building, but has been sympathetically extended.
The reception area is relatively small and opens up onto a comfortable lounge, which is beautifully furnished with period furniture, as is much of the hotel. There is always a huge disply of flowers in the lounge.
There is a cosy bar, which serves good food...the portions were large.
We only ate in the restaurant one evening, as there were so many other places to try! My husband had rack of lamb and I had fillet steak. They were both excellent.
We had room 716, which was a deluxe, harbour view room. It actually looked out over the botanic gardens, with glimpses of the harbour, but not the bridge, as we were the wrong side of the hotel. While on our balcony and leaning out left, you could actually just see the opera house. This wasn't a problem, as it was only a two minute walk to circular quay and we were down there a lot!
Macquerie Street is very busy but we had no noise from the road.
Our room was very comfortable. 44 sq ft. King sized bed, Two seater sofa and easy chair. Coffee table, writing desk and two further chairs. Large wardrobe with proper coathangers...not the anti-theft ones! Trouser press, ironing board, iron, hair drier, fridge/mini-bar, TV, tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was probably the best I've every experienced in a hotel. Huge, marble expanse, with large walk in shower, full size bath, twin basins and separate toilet.
The room was serviced to a very high standard. Clean bedding and towels, daily.
We had a problem with our shower on day two, (it wouldn't turn off) which we reported before going to breakfast. It had been fixed when we returned after breakfast.
One of the biggest pluses, for us, was access to the Quay Lounge, on level three. It was a very relaxing place to be. We had our breakfast there every day and drinks and canapes each evening before dinner. There was also internet access there.
There was an outdoor pool, but it was quite small. There was a terrace area aroung the pool but we never spent any time there.
All the staff were very helpful and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.
It isn't cheap to stay at this hotel but we felt the location was superb and we were satisfied with all aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bobbiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and it will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you back at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Best Wishes

Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 181 in Sydney
4,553 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
6,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $180 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing