We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ever Hotel Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My daughter and I travelled to Sydney to experience some of Sydney's sights and to see a show. As it was our first trip to Sydney, I chose Sir Stamford mainly for it's proximity to the Opera House and sights around Circular Quay and The Rocks. What an inspired choice that turned out to be!
The location perfect, the room and decor was gorgeous, but it was the staff who truly made our experience five star. Sir Stamford will definitely become our "Must Have" accommodation on any return visits to Sydney! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    630
    158
    46
    31
See reviews for
369
1,314
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very spacious rooms .. elegant lobby .. close the Opera house and the harbor area but far away from life area and the city center, very quit, the bathroom is huge in size. The view is nice. I would recommend this hotel for family with number of kids

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPUIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been having email conversations with Con at this motel regarding our potential booking. He could not have been more helpful or patient with all my questions.
Living in regional NSW..the cost of visiting Sydney for our family is always hard. We were unable to afford staying here in the end...but the communication from Con was outstanding. He was very very helpful...patient...and an asset to the motel. Well done to the staff there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Although my wife and I have enjoyed staying at many hotels over the years (with Tripadvisor's advice) I have not taken the time to write all the reviews I should. However, the Sir Stamford deserves an excellent review and I feel it is worth my time to give it. We have just stayed 3 nights for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was great. I mentioned this to staff when booking and upon arrival I found that they did indeed give us a fabulous room with an awesome view of the harbour and park surrounds. We were delighted that only an hour after arrival a bottle of complimentary champagne arrived to our room (this is a first for us) which made it truly extra special. The large room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. It was quiet with a comfortable bed, chairs, desk and large bath.

Of course what made this stay worth the rating was the excellent staff. Each person we met was genuine, helpful, friendly and welcoming. This included everyone from reception, concierge, cleaning and even staff in "The Bar" and restaurant area. We had a great first night dinner and drinks here and they were great at recommending food choices with their friendly helpful service.

We will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit Sydney for any length of stay and will now change this to our top choice of places to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.The location is excellent- just a quick walk to Circular Quay ( we stayed during Vivid, so it was very handy!) The staff were delightful.The hotel has a lovely ambience- the fireplace in the Quay Lounge,chandeliers,period furniture all came together in a very stylish way... Our room was spacious and had a very comfy bed,amazing bathroom including an excellent shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is very oldley worldly It has a lovely bar with a fire place you can have a meal or just a snack and on Friday nights they have a piano player who is amazing . The rooms are lovely and very spacious. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy5752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have only ever stayed in one other hotel in Sydney and that was before staying here,after our first visit we have not stayed anywhere else in the harbour city,the old world charm is just beautiful,and the staff so attentive in all parts of the hotel we would not consider staying anywhere else in Sydney

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barra1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,138 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,083 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing