We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an absolutely fantastic Hotel with the best staff in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“an absolutely fantastic Hotel with the best staff in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

we are traditional stayers at the Intercontinental due to Platinum status however after being unbooked and provided no assistance we elected to try the Stamford as my wife and i had a beautiful stay there some years ago and we thought that it would be worth a shot
Well we could not have been more impressed - the first impression was provided by the most hospitable staff all the way from the front door through to the front desk staff and bellman.
i had forgotten how wonderful this Hotel was and we have now cancelled our Easter break at the Intercontinental and are booked in for two nights from the 9th f

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear 373RESQ,

Welcome back to the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

I am glad that you have taken the opportunity to return to the Hotel and that we were able meet your every need.
As a valued guest, please enquire with our staff during your next stay about our newly launched loyalty programme Peakpoints... This will reward you for staying with us and you can also redeem your points in our Hotel or any other Stamford Hotel.
Be sure to review our website for rates and packages as we are always reviewing these to best suit our guests needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kind regards,
Angela KIng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    631
    159
    46
    31
See reviews for
369
1,322
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Four of us -- two couples -- landed early and arrived at the hotel well before check in time. We were tired after a long flight from LAX. The hotel had a bellman bring all our bags up to the health club where we were able to shower and change before heading out for an afternoon walking tour. Then they took our bags back down to the storage area. When we returned our rooms were ready and our bags had already been delivered. The concierges were extremely helpful getting us a last minute booking on a Blue Mountain excursion and other tips. Our rooms were large and pleasant. The location iis great. Walking distance to the opera house, waterfront and the Rocks area. Totally recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: ISome rooms have fireplaces. Ask for them if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Portcruiser,

Thank you for your recent review and kind words about our Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our Concierge team were able to assist you with their high standards or service after your early arrival to the Hotel. Where possible we will try to have the rooms ready for our guests, however, sometimes this is not always possible.
Troy and our concierge team can assist with storing of bags and bookings of tours.

The Hotel offers many lounge areas for guests to relax or during our winter months relax in front of the fire whilst utilising our complimentary internet services in the Hotel Lobby.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Being well-travelled but unable to get away for the past 6 years, we needed to celebrate this 5 night 'special holiday with friends'... in style! Sir Stamford at Circular Quay ticked all the right boxes..... ambience, friendliness, service, comfort, cleanliness, lovely big rooms and a great view across to the Botanical Gardens. We received an enthusiastic welcome, every request was met with a smile and nothing seemed to be too much trouble! The choices for their continental breakfast were so good we didn't need lunch! Room service was fast and the meal delicious!
We were delighted to receive a complimentary bottle of bubbly upon arrival to celebrate our anniversary 'in style'! Many thanks, Sir Stamford, it was a lovely touch!
As it was one of Sydney's 'wet' weeks we didn't get to use the pool, but the close proximity to the Rocks and Circular Quay enabled us to utilise a lot of the attractions Sydney has to offer. This included 'Madama Butterfly' (the Handa Opera on the water) on Wednesday which was spectacular even though it rained....heavily...
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends and will be staying at Sir Stamford Circular Quay next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana109244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Nana109244,

Once again Happy Anniversary from the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

I am glad that we were able to tick all the boxes for you during this special time. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the Opera on the Harbour (even with all the rain).... Perhaps you may return to enjoy The King and I or even Opera in the Domain.... What a perfect location!
The Hotel is the perfect location for Opera related evenings and we even encourage our guests to enjoy dinner served by Heather and her team in the Dining room before they head out. When arriving be sure to ask about our Pre theatre dinner menu or for those who would like to enjoy something sweet after the show.... pop into The Bar for our Sweet Encore.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a pre cruise 2 night stay mid March This charming old world Hotel was everything we expected and more. Our Delux King room was spacious, well appointed and exceptionally clean. Having arrived on a rainy Sunday afternoon the staff in the bar went out of their way to accommodate us for an impromptu decision to partake in high tea, even though they were fully booked.
Overall The Sir Stamford exceeded our expectations and I have already recommended this Hotel to friends who are going to be staying in Sydney shortly. We too would also choose the Sir Stamford again when visiting Sydney.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Martene70,

Thank you for you recent review of our fabulous Hotel.

Our staff are one the main reasons our guests return time and time again. We take special notice of all of our guests arriving and ensure we can make their stay as perfect as they would expect.
Doing things out of the ordinary for our guests is something our food and beverage staff excel in.... whether it is a special occasion for you or something particular you would like us to cook for you.... the staff will try their very best.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela KIng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for four nights. If you want a modern hotel with spacious lounges, this is not for you. If you want old world charm and large hotel rooms this is the right place. Our room did not have much of a view but was very large with a spacious seating and desk area, ample closet space and updated bathroom. There is a third floor lounge that had free wifi along with the small lounge in the foyer...fresh fruit in the lounge was a nice touch. There is a small outdoor pool and a courtyard with tables outside the well fitted, but small gym with ample pool and gym towels available. We had breakfast daily in the main floor dining room with lovely views of the botanical gardens across the street. You can't beat the location of this hotel as it's within short walking distance, downhill, to the Opera House and the ferries at Circular Quay. The hop on bus can be picked up just a few minutes walk away. All the staff we met were very friendly and are a credit to this wonderful gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank straller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Straller,

Thank you for your kind words that you have written about our lovely Hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed everything that the Hotel has to offer including spacious rooms, friendly staff and great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I love traditional and classical design - I often don't understand people who criticise hotels like this and the Windsor saying it's like being in a time warp. There are minimal hotels in Australia like this, guests that choose to stay here generally electively seek out these types of hotels as they have a glamour, warmth and quality of furnishings that will never compare with modern hotels.

The service here is impeccable: consistent, never trendy, never a single complaint.

The bathrooms are fabulous and large, the suites are actually good value in comparison to the room rate too. Prices are quite consistent and reasonable I would say. Not a fan of their own online booking site as it's fiddly and outdated, but that's me being really picky. I don't like the harbour and prefer the city, but enjoy the hotel still.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Ladyfitch,

Thank you for your very kind comments that you have written about our Hotel.

I loved your description of the Hotel with regard to tradition and classical design. The Hotel does offer a very defferent feel to many of the other Hotels within the Circular Quay hub. Many people comment that they feel like the are arriving home when they arrive at the Hotel.
This accompanied with our staff and their service offers a wonderful overall experience.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manangatang, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My 5yo daughter and I had a wonderful time at the Sir Stamford, the staff were friendly and acknowledged my daughter by name. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of Sydney's attractions. The hotel also has facilities to accommodate an energetic 5yo with a pool, gym, lounge to relax in and dining. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Ann G,

I am so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your time at the Hotel during your stay.

If you are looking to become a regular guest of the Hotel, perhaps sign up to our newsletter, via our website, so that we can stay in touch and let you know what events and promotions we have coming up.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing