We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel sometime ago and were impressed at the attention to detail, particularly with regard to the contents of the desk in our suite. The accommodation was spacious with a delightful view and the staff were courteous and helpful. The location was good and taxis easily available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Irene B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

Our location is just wonderful and it is so easy for our guests to go North of the city or to enjoy wandering around Circular Quay. We are only way train stop from Pitt Street Mall, making the shopping easily accessible.
Sydney has amazing history for visitors to enjoy. The Justice and Police Museum is located next to the Hotels, open weekends from 10am to 5pm. Currently featuring the City Of Shadows exhibition, this exhibition casts a fascinating light on the shadowy underworld of Sydney between the Wars.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    610
    156
    43
    30
See reviews for
354
1,266
131
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

SS is in a great location near Circular Quay and we were fortunate enough to get a room with a view of the Bridge.
Breakfast was nice and my only complaint was that a large group rowdy of people attending a private function spilled out of a conference room into the lobby so there was nowhere for a guest to sit for a quiet drink.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the bridge and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazganymede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear kazganymede,

Thank you for taking the time write feedback about your recent stay at the Sir Stamford.

I am glad that you enjoyed your room with a view and also your breakfast.

The Hotel offers many spaces to enjoy drinks and bite to eat. These space include the Lobby, The Dining Room, The Bar, The Quay Lounge on level 3 or the pool deck on Level 5.
we host many events and Weddings in the Hotel and we try our best to cater for all our guests needs during their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

A beautiful English decor hotel located in Circular Quay. The rooms were spacious and the ensuite bathroom was well designed. Lots of counter space and room for everything. The balcony overlooking the Sydney, with a partial view, was a surprising plus. The front desk, porter and restaurant staff brought the dignity and service of an old English hotel. The restaurant had a sumptous buffet and also a very good a la cart selection. My wife especially like the morning English tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for your lovely feedback about the Hotel. I am glad that your enjoyed your stay with us.

Our rooms are lovely and spacious, starting from 44 square metres with some rooms offering juliet balconies or terraces (depending on the location of the room in the Hotel). This allows our guests to be able to open the French doors and enjoy what Sydney has to offer.


We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The wife and I booked in from Sunday to Tuesday expecting to be able to book for an exclusive dining experience with delightful food and wine we were disappointed to be advised that the dining facilities within the restaurant was closed on Sunday & Monday nights.
Our option was the facilities next door (the bar) for some very basic food @ a price for instance a hamburger $20. As it was raining we had no option except to take up the offer when entering the bar you don't get sown to a table just advised to sit anywhere well that's okay if tables are available we found one in a corner. We sat there for some time nothing happen no service and no option except to walk out. The next night as not wanting to face the same dreadful situation we made other arrangements for dining.

Room Tip: Confirm when booking to what facilities are available for dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lewis913,

I am very sorry to hear of your dining experience in The Bar on the day of your arrival. I can assure that this is not the standard that I would expect. I will be following up with our Manager to ensure this does not happen again.

We pride ourselves on the individual service that we offer to our guests and we are happy to taylor any of our packages to suit our guest requirements.

I hope to welcome you back in the future - please feel free to contact me direct for your booking.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My sister and I visited Sydney in October, 2013 and stayed at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. We could see the harbor (and cruise ships) from our balcony. The room had one queen bed and one double bed and was very spacious. We had excellent service. I would like to compliment one of the concierge staff--it seems Dimitri was ALWAYS on duty - every time we walked through the lobby, he was at his post and offered us great suggestions about where to eat and gave wonderful directions. We were also amused by the traveling wombat ( a stuffed animal in different places around the lobby.)

The 30 minue free wireless service in the lobby worked well and was a nice alternative to having a hefty fee.

The location could not have been better. It is a block and a half to the harbor watertaxis, the same distance to all of the wonderful restaurants at Circular Quay, a 5-7 minute walk to the Opera House and across the street from the Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggr918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear ggr918,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feeedback after your recent stay with us.

Dimitri is a great asset to our Concierge team and true professional.I am glad that you found our complimentary internet in the lobby satisfactory for your requirements.
Our location is just perfect to visit all the fabulous sights of Sydney.
Only a few minutes walk from the Hotel,The Opera House offers a great summer program staring this month through until March 2014. One of the key nightlights in The Illusionists 2.0 (09-16 January), great for both adults and children.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great location, but there are one or two catches. If you take them up on their 'greenie' service option, this results in no service at all - so don't bother. You're not saving the planet, you're just putting housekeeping out of a job. The biggest let down is that free wireless is only available on the ground floor - and you will be charged $25 per day (yes, really!) for wireless in your room. This is daylight robbery. When I queried, the embarrassed reception staff agreed it sucked, but said it was the policy of the hotel chain. Maybe it's time this chain updated to the 21st century, especially if they want to keep business custom . . .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Rachel L,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your recent stay in Sydney.

We are continuing to work with our external suppliers to offer our guests internet services that are comparable with International hotels.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My lovely lady and I spent three nights here and as on all our previous visits the high quality was maintained. There has been a change of General Manager but the new one is just as good (if not better) than the previous who was herself excellent.
We have been coming twice a year for about 7 years so know what to expect - friendly staff, competent check-in, rooms ready and spotless, and the general warmth of a homely hotel. All these were still here and more. Others will talk about location etc. We came by train from the airport which took 15 minutes and I easily managed our cases up the small hill (I am 70 yo).
Beds are comfortable, rooms large, we had two hand basins in the bathroom and a shower as well as a bath.
I have been to many hotels but this is my favourite - we will be back again in May 2014.

Room Tip: Be nice to the Receptionist. We have been on many levels and in several directions faced and they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Wizardoldman,

Thank you for your very kind words.

I am glad that Hotel is still offering you the same 5 star service that you have come to enjoy over the past 7 years.
The staff and I enjoy welcoming our regular guests back to the Hotel.

The train service from Sydney Airport, from both the Domestic and International terminals is such an easy mode of transport for any traveller. The cost is approximately $15-$16 per person one way and can be picked up underneath each terminal. Upon arrival into Circular Quay (no need to change lines), it is a small walk to the Hotel. No need to sit in the traffic.

I look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel, in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing