We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, for a friends birthday.

The rooms are spacious, very clean and elegant. The beds were amazingly comfy. It is perfectly located, right near the heart of Circular Quay.

We also had the high tea, which was wonderful! Everything was scrumptious.

The staff were friendly enough. The valet were great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty_K86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Valued Sydney Guests
Birthday celebrations at Sir Stamford are a regular occurrence - especially for our private High Tea themed events - these are perfect for multi generational groups. Valet parking is good value at $50 per day although our guests can also self park for $40 per day in our car park off Albert Street. Saturday nights are high demand and bookings are advised well in advance.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,225 - 2,231 of 3,063 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, charming in the old world sense but far from pretentious. Staff are friendly and helpful, service is timely and rooms warm and inviting. Located in Circular Quay, it's easy access to the local bars and restaurants along the water. The views are majestic and access to the botanical gardens is simply a walk across the main road.

Very relaxing and I personally would not want to stay anywhere else in Sydney for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, its spacious and you have a separate entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Valued Senior Melbourne Guest
We thank you for your tip that our suites with their separate lounge area are an excellent choice for guests who may require the space - we have 15 suites and all have unique features and views. While our entry level rooms are very spacious - the suites offer that much more for entertaining or private meetings - we are always pleased to show guests these options on arrival should they wish to upgrade.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying at the Sir Stamford last year, we could not stay anywhere else in Sydney.
Once again, we enjoyed a two night stay, and was not disappointed.
Marty, and his team, are attentive and really know how to treat their guests. Friendly greetings and smiles all round.
To be honest, we cannot recommend the Sir Stamford high enough. We felt like we were returning home.
We chose this hotel last year because of its location for the running festival, but if we were to visit Sydney for any other trip,the Sir Stamford is definitely where we will be staying.
You will not be disappointed; I could go on and on about this establishment, but if you really want to know what we are talking about, visit the Sir Stamford and experience it for yourself.
Keep up the great work guys and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackaboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Valued Return Guests

Last weekend was exciting, 2 weddings, a 21st and of course quite a few runners and their families participating in the Blackmores Running Festival closing many of the streets around us. However the disruption was minimal and it was great to greet return runners to the hotel. Having a home away from home feeling is a very comfortable attitude for the team to be as with just 105 rooms we are able to get to know and assist our guests as they come and go on business or pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to encourage others to sample the smiles.

See you again soon.
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Stamford continues to provide an excellent standard of accommodation. Located close to the harbour, good access to the city and adjacent to parks and gardens, this hotel is a gem. It provides a sense of elegance without being over the top - a great choice of light meals and drinks in the piano bar area - and a quiet and relaxed dining room. The rooms are very comfortable with elegant touches although the shower ffittings are perhaps more quaint than practical. The staff are helpful with loads of local advice and assistance from cars, taxis to general tourism information.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Valued Brisbane Business Guest
Corporate, Government and Business men and women travelling do make up more than 50% of our hotel arrivals but are sometimes under represented on review pages, so we thank you so much for taking the time to highlight the hotel to future business travellers. We are very aware that all visitors to Sir Stamford require specific, individual information and assistance. In some instances we can anticpate a guests requirement, but if we don't know we'll do our very best to find out. Light meals, small plates are very popular in The Bar - and our new menu caters to this demand - with good wines by the glass and a selection of boutique beers. There is of course our amazing Super Car Promotion which guests can enter until the end of February 2014... details on our website.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just had a wonderful Girl's Weekend at the Sir Stamford. It is in a wonderful location. Easy walking distance (5 mins) to Circular Quay station & ferries. The Hop On, Hop Off Bus stops right outside the door of the hotel.

The hotel itself has beautiful antique furniture in the lobby & main lounges & bars. The buffet breakfast and High Tea were to die for.

We had a Deluxe room which was enormous! There was a King Bed, a double Bed and a single rollaway for the three of us in the room and there was still so much space.

The marble bathroom was also huge and spotlessly clean. There was a separate bath from the shower and room with just the toilet.

All staff were very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Sydney!

Room Tip: The Deluxe room was enormous if you need the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued "Girls Weekend" Guests
Sir Stamford is the perfect hotel for a harbour city treat weekend - perhaps you had the Celebration Package which includes Traditional High Tea that is available on our website. The hotel is such a good meeting place, slightly away from the busy Quay Restaurant areas as we are located on the corner of Macquarie and Albert Streets. Macquarie starts from Hyde Park to the Opera House, quite an interesting architectural walk with such a diverse mix of heritage NSW buildings and modern skyscrapers. The Hop On Hop Off Double Decker buses do drive past the hotel and do offer 24 and 48 hour valid tickets, and there is also the Hop on Hop off Ferry option. Thank you for your mention of the friendly helpful team - we get much feedback from our guests on the events around the city - The aclaimed Musical "South Pacific" opened to packed houses recently at the Opera House and is playing until 2nd November.
Look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed my with husband and son in double room no. 915 for 1 night
The room was extremely spacious with a lovely little balcony which opened up to a spectacular view towards the Botanic Gardens, Conservatorium of Music and the eastern suburbs. Views of Sydney Harbour and the Opera House were a bonus!
Huge marble bathroom, the biggest I have seen in any hotel I have stayed in recently.
Hot water pressure over one of the sinks was a bit light but water pressure over the other sink was fine.
The double bed was comfortable but may be a bit small in length for taller people.
The wardrobe was large enough for clothes for a couple of night's stay. Not that many clothes hangers though but fine for our short stay.
The hotel is situated around a 5 minute walk from Circular Quay (Sydney Harbour), Botanic Gardens, Martin Place and around 10 minutes walk from the heart of the city for shopping at Westfield, QVB etc
The closest railway station is at Circular Quay.
Check in and Checkout were quick.
Valet or self parking were both available. We chose the option of self parking but I did think that was expensive at $35 per night. I guess that is comparable with city parking prices in Sydney.
Overall, a beautiful hotel, well situated with great amenities and I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on upper levels have harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky100_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued Sydney Guest
Such an encompassing review of our beautiful 105 room boutique hotel - thank you, highlighting the rooms features. The balcony rooms do provide fresh air options (and a clear view for photographers). The room layouts were created by Ritz Carlton who first opened the hotel in the historic buidling in 1990 and we are fortunate to enjoy their fine art legacy. Stamford Hotels and Resorts now operate seven fine hotels in Australia and one in Auckland, New Zealand, and do have a "Senators Club" programme which offers benefits such as 3 upgrade vouchers per year, dining discounts - these are fully described on our website. For guests travelling throughout our region they are good value. Our competitive parking costs will rise in 01 October to $40 for self parking and $50 for Valet parking, our first rise in several years. NSW visitors to the hotel do like the ease of access from the main arterial highways from Macquarie Street and rarely gets congested. Thank you for your review and return again soon.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In a great location, beautiful decor, an open fire in the guest lounge made the area feel relaxing, lots of seating areas to choose from. Bowls of fruit placed on various tables too make a nice touch.
Our room was beautiful and had a view of the harbor bridge and the opera house both from one window, a large room, great facilities and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top facing the bridge and or opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne19521211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Charming Melbourne Couple
Its a special privilege to have an open fire in a city hotel that our guests are able to enjoy - although the chilly nights are almost over and it will be time for the chimney sweep, getting our lobby ready for the festive season. The top floors have the sloping roof which frame the views and provide quite a romantic feel - ideal for our romance and seduction package, that is very popular for those special ocassions. The Shakesparian play "Romeo and Juliette" opens this Saturday at the Opera House - a good combination.
Most of our rooms have views and there are several delxue, terrace rooms and suites that do have that iconic view of the bridge, and they booked well in advance - it is good to call or email the hotel direct to chat about the options. Thank you for meantioning the fresh apple bowls that we place on each floor for guests.
Return again soon.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,043 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $207 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing