We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,482)
Filter reviews
3,486 results
Traveler rating
2,301
851
219
66
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,301
851
219
66
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomboutique hotelfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
2,701 - 2,706 of 3,486 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from two nights here.
Absolutely the best location in Sydney. So close to Circular Quay, the city and the Botanic Gardens. The atmosphere complements the city beautifully and it's a pleasure to return throughout the day. Nice that our room overlooked Macquarie Street and the park. Lovely.
The hotel retains a small boutique feel and the staff were thoroughly professional, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is a highlight and not to be missed. Perhaps the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot, all over the world.
Don't miss the bar, which has a delightfully Georgian/Victorian feel with a welcoming (and very efficient) fire.
This is the kind of hiotel where if it rained all day you'f quite happily while away the hours there, as it is so comfortable.
The marble bathroom was beautifully appointed and the room a generous size.
I future I will be staying here and will recommend it to any friends who are visiting Sydney.
the Sir Stamford Circular Quay is a very high quality, unpretentious and exceptionally comfortable hotel which ticks pretty much every box a guest would care to name.
100% recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests
Our breakfast is quite stylish but also modest, so we are delighted to receive your Breakfast accolade. Our lobby fire is quite generous and in the evenings our guests do enjoy this space and ocassionaly diners from the restaurant are drawn over to complete desserts in this area.
Once again we always appreciate the positive staff comments as we are very aware that the true warmth of a hotel is not from chandeliers or gilt mirrors (of which we have plenty) - it is from our people. We celebrate many of them for their long service awards to the hotel and our guests.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had three days here and were a little disappointed with some aspects of the hotel. Lovely large room, very clean but the bed was not comfortable. Dining room meal not good but the breakfasts were fine, as was room service meal. High tea not up to other hotel's standards, had to ask for further hot water for teapot, sandwiches very ordinary and not many of them. Chairs in our room needed re-springing, we had to use cushions whenever we sat down. Staff at front desk were lovely and very helpful. Air vents/filters in our bathroom and the toilet near the Bar were clogged with dust and dirt and needed cleaning. The general ambience of the hotel and lounge is very good. Spoke with the general manager who indicated some improvements would occur. May stay here again if the price is right, however there are better 5 star hotels in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolores01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Canberra Guest
Our apologies for not matching up to your preferred 5 star Sydney hotel. Feedback is so essential for all businesses and we do followup with guests comments - especially where we can in person, so we can learn about the details that need attention. Spending time with guests is an important part of the day for all staff, myself included so that we can understand better opportunities to continuously improve. Your observations of vents were acted on immediately. Tea making is an art and although we do not top up our tea pots, we should and will ensure we offer a second pot or a jug of hot water for our High Tea guests. There are a variety of High Tea menus - something for everyone from a simple Devonshire $24 a person to our Elegance for $65 per person. They are described in detail on our website - booking are essential especially on weekends. I do hope that after our conversation you will return again as we do have our winter warmer special available until the end of Augustt. The huge Navy Fleet week which is being held in October this year and will feature an amazing Fireworks Display on the 5th October is something to consider for a return visit?
Your sincerely
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel literally 2 minutes from Circular Quay.Perfect location for a sightseeing visit to Sydney, close to harbour, train station, gardens and shopping. Also good for business in the CBD, and train back to airport

Room Tip: Have stayed many times inn different types of rooms, different floors and sides of the hotel. Each room has been well appointed, very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Valued Return Melbourne Guest
It's wonderful to read an endorsement for all our room types and their different views - we have some corporate guests who have stayed with us over 50 times in the past 12 months - several have stayed over a 100 stays - and most are very happy with our lead in room:- our superior room type. The direct train from both domestic and international airport terminals is a convenient transfer if you have carry on luggage - just $16 each way in less than 20 minutes. School Holidays are also a time when some Corporates combine business with a family member - using our popular twin rooms which have 2 double beds. From State Parliament to the Zoo, there are many educational/cultural and historical opportunities acessible from our doorstep. Work Life Balance can be achieved when you choose a hotel that offers proximity to recreational options from the gardens to the Opera House.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, as a regular traveller we appreciate this.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had chosen the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay as the venue for my farewell high tea as I was looking for a hotel with a beautiful old world charm. This hotel is beautiful, even on approaching the golden double glass entrance doors on a cold rainy day, the charm and elegance was so inviting, and it made me feel like I stepped back into a different time!

Walking past the beautifully decorated reception foyer and the lobby, my friends and I walked down the grand staircase to the private lobby adjacent to the Prince Albert room. This place seriously has something mystical and magical to it! The room was elegantly decorated, with gorgeous natural lighting and golden warm tones throughout. As the function began, nothing was short of spectacular. The service was attentive, friendly and never too obtrusive. The high tea was immaculate and to die for! Numerous scone-lovers commented on how fluffy and soft the freshly baked scones were, claiming them to be the best they have ever had! The desserts were decadent and had to be taken slowly, and for those with a sweet tooth, it really was a journey of the senses! The private function room was perfect for my farewell and everyone enjoyed the service and food, especially the constant topping up of sparkling wine! The room was exactly what I wanted, damask curtains and walls, beautiful paintings and chandeliers. It was the perfect photographic venue!

We gathered after the farewell into the lobby for some pictures by the fireplace and the cozy lounges. What a beautiful place to just sit and relax. A few of us then headed over to the bar from some cocktails. It was very busy and crowded by the time we got there (4-5pm), and there were multiple groups having high tea and drinking. My friends and I all enjoyed our cocktails, however, one of my friends wasn’t totally satisfied with hers and the bartender made her a new one without hesitation.

Would love to one-day stay in the suites! But for now, I highly commend Sir Stamford on the high tea! Even if not staying overnight, the hotel really is a step into a different, wonderful time and place!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jum253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Special "Group High Tea" Guest of Honour
Your photos shared on our Facebook page and also on Tripadvisor as absoutely stunning and speak for themselves. Successful events don't just happen they are the result of careful communication and we are thrilled that your farewell was one to remember with such style. The hotel is very photogenic as everyone can see from your album. We look forward to you returning to the hotel to stay and wish you every success for your new future.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

what a lovely inviting place to stay a real home away from home. lit fire in the lobby just adds to the ambience when you come in from the cold. if you want modern go somewhere else this place is for those who enjoy the older style and elegance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellowtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Brisbane guests
It's been a very wet few weeks and we've all appreciated the open fire in the lobby and bar - thank you for highlighting the home and away from home ambience. The old world charm is not quite as decadent as Great Gatsby, however there are wonderful areas within the hotel that are the perfect backdrop for period events. The hotel has 551 chandeliers - from lobby to the smallest room and the marble floors and bathrooms provide a timeless feel, whether we are hosting s a wedding or a Whisky Tasting. Sir Stamford at Circular Quay looks forward to your return.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews