We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, luxurious, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #18 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is right next to the opera house without being in the hustle and bustle. It is elegant, understated luxurious, has wonderful service and even a mascot wombat that you may want to take on a side trip! The rooms are very spacious and have terrific views. For runners, it is right on the waterfront so you can turn right and run up to the botanic gardens past the opera house, or left and go past all the ferries at Circular Quay and to the fish markets. Either way, stunning views. Prices are very competitive for the location and prestige!. Even a pool with views over the Quay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YountvilleShelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Valued Senior Reviewer
A big thank you for such a lovely 5 star review. The hotel is approximately 400 metres from the Opera House - and of course it takes longer to walk right around the Opera House. However we do advise that only a few of our rooms have a direct view of the Opera House with some having only glimpses of the tops of it's "sails". Runners, joggers and walkers - even families with strollers do indeed find the location perfect for a wide variety of very scenic tracks and paths in the extensive Botanical Gardens and the waterfront itself. Our 5th outdoor rooftop pool is heated and accessible even during the winter months. We are very excited about the opening of the Vivid Light Festival which commences this coming Friday evening as it lights up many of our neighbouring buildings on the Quay including the Museum of Contemporary Art which can be seen by most rooms on that side of the hotel.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Only had two nights but couldn't fault this hotel. Even had fresh squeeze orange juice And fresh honeycomb for breakfast. The bar served a wonderful high tea and great cocktails. Stayed with friends who were also very impressed.

Room Tip: We only had a standard room style and it was gorgeous, so pretty sure alll rooms would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Valued First Time Guests
Wow, thank you. We do love that you managed to spend time in our Restaurant and Bar, as it's easy to be seduced by the offerings on the Quay and Rocks nearby, when Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers great accommodation packages that include our High Teas and other dining options at very good value. The new Winter Warmer Package includes continental buffet breakfast for $1 per person! Prices start from $239 per night (for a superior room which is our lead in room). Winter Warmer Packages are available until 31 August and can be pre-purchased on our website - they are available at all 8 of the Stamford Hotels in Australia and New Zealand.
Thank so much for your tips and star rating, we do appreciate it.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights in April of this year. We were due to get married in the RBG on the Saturday afternoon. It absolutely pelted down with rain and did not stop all day. I have to give a tremendous thank you to all of the team at the Sir Stamford but especially Kieran and Elaine. They made it possible for us to change our ceremony venue at the last minute and have a simply stunning ceremony in the hotel. We had come over from London to get married. The Sir Stamford was an absolutely joy to stay in. I hosted drinks for our out of town friends on the Friday night in the bar. Michael really looked after us. My wife had afternoon tea in the hotel with her friends on the Friday afternoon. The Sir Stamford team looked after us throughout our stay and always went that extra mile. They have definitely found new life long customers in us. We are forever indebted to the team and glad that they could share our special day with us. We will always be staying here whilst in Sydney. Thanks for making it so special. Kem & Jodie.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Wedding Guests
We most certainly do remember you and your gorgeous bride and the day the heavens opened and the hotel team was able to transform to become the venue for the ceremony instead of the Royal Botanic Gardens. A wonderful hush comes over the hotel when we are able to witness such events.The hotel lends itself to weddings so easily - as the heritage style of the hotel becomes such a beautiful backdrop. Sir Stamford at Circular Quay does many Weddings both formal and casual and of course our famous High Tea Events in our various function rooms from engagements to Hens nights - even Christenings. We do look forward to your anniversary visits.
Congratulations
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My prenant wife and I stayed at Sir Stamford on a week long jaunt in Sydney, the Blue mountains and Melbourne.

The Stamford is in a stellar location - right on top of Circular quay, minutes from the ferries and with great access to the best restuarants the city has to offer, the Botanic Gardens and Mrs Macquarie's chair. Seriously - for location this simply must be one of the best in Sydney.

The rooms are reasonably large and there is a quiet understated elegance which seems to seep from the walls. The room lacked nothing that I can recall and the bed was super comfortable.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (instead choosing to dine at some of Sydney's best eateries - reviews to follow if I get time) and we always took breakfast elsewhere as our deal didn't include brekkie. Therefore unable to comment on the food unfortunately.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to recommend the the Sir Stamford to fellow travellers looking for a decently priced and well located Sydney hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Well travelled Singaporean Guest
We do appreciate your review which describes your Sir Stamford experience so well. The hotel does have a stellar location and a quiet understated elegance which does as you say seem to seep from the walls. Comfort is so important when travelling for all travellers, from all countries, all ages, as is a good nights sleep. The deluxe and suite rooms have a cloud mattress topper which provides an extra layer of luxury to our very good bedding.
Kind regards and we look forward to welcoming your family again on a return visit.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

All the previous comments regarding the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay ring true. It’s a top class hotel in cool, leafy Macquarie St just a few steps away from the serenity of the Botanical Gardens but also handy to the hustle and bustle of Circular Quay when you are ready to face the world again. Stepping through the foyer transports the guest to a bygone, somehow safer period in time.
Upon entering your room you are met with the sounds of music from another era, and you feel that you have stepped back 40 years. I mean the wallpaper, floral curtains and Victorian fireplace- it’s all so cosy. However the hotel building itself goes back over 100 years to when it was a government building-- along with all the others along Macquarie and Bridge Streets. History buffs would love it. Don’t miss the display of art work and delightful antiques. This hotel stands apart from the other ‘run of the mill’ 4 star hotels because of its grace and charming personality. Newer hotels don’t have it.
This hotel has everything you need for a pleasant stay- despite the old worldliness, your room has everything you would expect, beautiful roomy bathroom, flat screen TV and all the cyber connections.
We ate in the dining room: for both dinner and breakfast and the service was impeccable, as was the service in the bar [could have stayed longer!] We found the concierge staff helpful and top marks to Ryan in reception who dealt with us efficiently with a very professional yet friendly manner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valjeanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Valued Hunter Valley Reviewer
Lovely "visual" descriptions of the hotels ambience are much appreciated. Sir Stamford is quite the special location for period events from the last century - Great Gatsby enquiries are on the increase as the hotel just has to be itself! Very good to learn that your dining and bar experiences were impreccable - and that we have some stars on the team who made an impression. So many guests are drawn to the gourmet offerings of the Quay area and then discover that The Dining Room offfers comparable excellence of quality and service. We currently have a winter dining special of $49 per person for 2 courses and a drink - reservation essential.
Kind regards and thank you again
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Every six months my lovely lady and I visit Sydney and we do not even look to stay anywhere else. The Sir Stamford has it all - great staff, great location, good prices by bookibg early, superb beds, a Bar, restaurant, and pool. Walk in 5 minutes to the Opera House, Botanic Gardens, Ferries, Trains, The Rocks and what else do you need?
Mid Autumn and the pool was heated nicely - a tip - turn on the sauna before you go in the pool and it will be lovely and warm when you come back to it after your swim. We were in the pool at 10 at night and it was as warm as the afternoon.
The front office staff, concierges, and Bar Staff are Just Brilliant!!. And the forgotten staff who clean the rooms - we mentioned one morning that we were going out for an hour to walk and by the time we came back the room had been remade and set up. Large rooms, huge bathrooms, beds so comfortable you won't want to get up and depending on the room, great views.
Tips - If coming from the airport use the train, it took us over an hour by taxi! There is a short hill to climb but I am 70 and did it two or three times a day.
Talk nicely with the staff and they will really look after you.
TRay The Bar menu as well as the restaurant - we had satay sticks that were just yummy followed by 3 sorts of ice cream. There are no calories in The Bar !
Try the pool and sauna especially after dark.
If you don't want to eat at the hotel try CoCo's opposite the railway station - bacon and eggs aplenty.
I cannot find anything to criticise after so many visits - they just get better and better.

Room Tip: Use the hotel web site to book rather than a third party (such as Agoda) - then you will know that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Most Valued Return Guest (from Canberra)

Repeat clients who have decided Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is their Sydney "treat" are of course well known to our team. This makes your review quite special as you can comment so well on consistency over a period of time. We do value all feedback as is often the way - listening to and understanding our guests is the reason we stay up with the times and maintain our ratings.
Enjoying life whether its on a sauna or a swim, a certain wine or an icecream in the Bar you are indeed a very active 70 year old! Catching a train from either International or Domestic Sydney airports is an excellent tip to avoid the motorways - the train trip is currently $16 one way per person and does stop at Circular Quay with a short but gentle incline up Albert Street.
It must be time for you to join our Senaotrs Club - the full benefits are on the Stamford Hotels and Resorts website. We do look forward to your return (PS The fires were lit in the lobby and The Bar last night for the first time this year - making the hotel even more cosier.
Kindest Regards to you both
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sir Stamford was originally a Ritz Carlton property, which explains the quietly elegant ambiance. The location couldn't be better -- just off Circular Quay and walking distance to many fine restaurants and almost all the tourist attractions Sydney has to offer! We spent three nights at the hotel and particularly enjoyed the friendly and helpful concierge staff, the easily-accessible (though small) business centre, and the beautiful lobby, complete with spectacled wombat. I had thought I had booked our room with breakfast included (through Booking.com) but apparently did not -- we were embarrassed when we went to the dining room the first morning and were told by a stern hostess. It wasn't her fault, but I would warn others to be certain they book breakfast. Restaurant food in Sydney is quite expensive, and it's nice to have convenient access to breakfast in one's hotel. Our room, though very comfortable and elegant, was not, in my mind, the "superior" room we had reserved. Perhaps if I had said something to the reception staff after seeing the room, the room could have been changed. However it was only after seeing the room of our traveling companions that I found fault with our room, and I would have been too lazy to move after unpacking! (Their room had a sitting area and a large patio with table and chairs.) The only real shortcoming, though, was the lack of an in-room safe. It is a small hotel with a warm and cozy feel. I would highly recommend the Sir Stamford.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter, as are rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonniefromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Valued Detroit Guest

We certainbly appreciate your fine review, your observations and 5 star rating following 3 nights with us and having friends stay in the hotel with you. Our lovely boutique hotel was orignally a Ritz Carlton, but has been lovingly owned and cared for by the Stamford Hotel Group for the past 13 years. This rich legacy has ensured that our guests, diners and other Sydney visitors enjoy the space and style of another era in one of the cities prime locations. We are perplexed though about your safe query as all guest rooms do have a room safe which is located in the bedside cabinet - and we do also have a safety deposit box at reception. Just last week we had to race to the airport to reunite a guest with passport and vauables which were inadvertantly left in the in room safe. Our resident mascot Morris has recently acquired the spectacles, perhaps it was a gift from a recent guest?

Safe travels.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#37 of 182 in Sydney
6,725 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $184 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing