We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$195
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Macleay Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$117
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
$270
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,353)
Filter reviews
3,353 results
Traveler rating
2,203
825
212
66
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,203
825
212
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,670 - 2,675 of 3,353 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed on several occasions at Sir Stamford. It is a 5 minute walk to Circular Quay and all the restaurants, ferries and attractions. You can walk to the rocks, Government house, the botanical gardens and a little further into the heart of the city. The rooms are lovely. Harbour view rooms are definitely better. On our last trip the "city view" room had a view of the car park across the road. The suites are well appointed. Their restaurant is excellent and the service is generally excellent although we had a few delays at the front counter last time. There are also some lovely sitting areas as well. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: City view rooms get poor views and can be noisy. Harbour view rooms are much better although you won't get a grand panorama from them. The suites are luxurious and the romance package is a treat.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzrbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Valued Brisbane Guests

Thank you for your regular patronage, and that you took the time to post a review, we appreciate your 5 star rating. Our Olde World charm has its' origins in our 1860's Heritage building that sits on the corner of Albert and Macquarie Streets as you no doubt know. This charming 4 storey building has several public areas so visitors can call in and admire the chandeliers, open fire places and fine art. Our team are all very proud of our collections and happy to show visitors around. Better still stop off and have a plate of Tapas, a wine or pale ale in The Bar or perhaps book one of our High Tea's - our pastry chef has an excellent assortment daily from 11.00am

We look forward to all our Queensland regulars visiting us for the Handa Opera on the Harbour - this year "Carmen" - the Fleet Steps stage is almost finished construction. Several of our team are attending the dress rehearsal, so that we can be sure to provide up to date information for our guests from opening night 22 March. It closes 12th April. The event is also attracting overseas visitors following the success of La Traviata last year - the inaugural concept won many awards.

Looking forward to your return
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A wonderful experience and such excellent and helpful staff. Comfortable , clean, cool on the hottest day ever recorded in Sydney, nicely decorated . Just an excellent start to my holiday as a single traveller and my first visit to Australia. Exceptional concierge who arranged a lovely trip to the Blue Mountains.
Very well sited as near to buses and the Opera House and harbour and the original government house, now a museum. Safe to walk out at night. Close to Botanic gardens and exotic birds feeding near.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floritza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Valued Single Guest

We agree, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is a very good choice for a single first time Sydney traveller, safe access to transport and the harbour and just the right balance of staff to guests to ensure you receive personal attention. We are just around the corner from the InterContinental Sydney and there are no night clubs or similar in the nearby area.

A trip to the Blue Mountains on a hot day would have been ideal - the little townships such as Katoomba and Leura are excellent for cafes and speciality shopping, but the it is the views and stunning scenery of the Three Sisters that is most memorable. Our hotel is quite a cool haven in the heat with the thick sandstone walls and all rooms are air conditioned.

We hope you saw a Kookaburra or two in the Botanical Gardens opposite the hotel, and the very cheeky Cocktatoos. I recently revisited Taronga Zoo which is a short ferry ride from the Quay. There is a bird show there daily which I always enjoy - it's a wonderful setting and an interactive show with Australian native birds swooping and diving over the audience. The zoo is on a steep hill and it's a good idea to take the chairlift to the top and then walk down, unless you prefer a good hike.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked online throught Qantas with details that this was our Wedding Anniversary. Booking in the Reception person mentioned it. Impressed my wife who was delighted they actually read what the occasion was (unlike the previous year's hotel). A bottle of champagne was left in our room. Thank you. Room on 10th Floor with a great view but did not look like the picture in the foyer. During the two nights stay staff were very friendly especially the Conciege. Breakfast was well priced not expensive. Very close to Circular Quay and plenty of restaurants and sights. Recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Anniversary Guests

Once again it's wonderful to see another Sydney sider review - we are very pleased you chose our beautiful boutique hotel for your anniversary celebration. If we do get the details from any booking site or phone call - relating to an anniversary or honeymoon we do like to ensure important events are recognised.

We do have a Celebration Package and very tempting Romance and Seduction Package that suit a variety of occasions - these are described in full on our website and they are available in all of our 8 hotels in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide and Auckland (New Zealand).

Many thanks for your rating.

Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an old style hotel. It is a former Ritz-Carlton. The rooms were large and nicely appointed. The bathroom was very, very nice with separate shower stall and bathtub as well as a separate w/c. The room had lovely french doors, though our view was not spectacular. Our room was quiet and on the 3rd floor facing the quay (though no view). Others in our group complained of noise on the upper floors. (They may have had a view however; it wasn't mentioned)
The breakfast room was nice, but we had difficulty with the staff getting us breakfast, or anything for that matter. Our tour director finally had them make us a buffet breakfast, which proved to be a better choice. When we were ordering we thought that they were waiting for the chicken to lay the eggs! Don't know what their problem was, but I certainly hope they solve it. Another in our party had trouble at dinner (we did not eat dinner there). This hotel is now owned by the Raffles group, a Singapore hotel that is known world wide for excellence. This was not up to their standard.
Don't know about the cost/value as this was part of a tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Tour Guests

Many thanks for posting the photos, they are always valuable to future travellers. Guests who wish to upgrade on arrival may see the Duty Manager if they wish to be moved to a Deluxe or Terrace Room for example or a lovely suite. Our heritage building is on the corner of Albert and Macquarie Streets and does face 3 sides of the city - the Park and above the tree line glimpses of the outer Harbour, and facing The Rocks/Circular Quay overlooking the ferry terminus and inner harbour with glimpses of the Harbour Bridge.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay was indeed (over 13 years ago) a former Ritz-Carlton and many of our rooms are very large by modern standards with lovely bathrooms as you have described. The Stamford Hotels and Resorts Group has taken it's name only from Sir Stamford Raffles, the founder of Singapore and our logo is the Knights Head conceived from Sir Stamford's family crest and symbolizes the vision and strength of the gifted pioneer. Now there are 8 hotels in our group.

All our hotels are in the 4.5 to 5 star market segments and ours is the smallest with just 105 rooms and suites. We have lovely small tour groups who stay, many are special interest and perhaps like yourselves stay at least 3 nights and have plenty of time to enjoy the city and our lovely hotel.

Our apologies for the breakfast delays, our Dining Room is a small area and when we do have small groups we do sometimes use alternate rooms and provide a full buffet.

Kind regards and thank you again
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Awesome location to the the botanical gardens and opera house. Really like right across the street. But it is a far walk about 25 mins to the Westfield mall and shopping area, and about 25 min walk to the harbor bay and STAR area. Really close Circular Quay where you can go get awesome coffee and hop on the bus ride to anywhere in the city.

The hotel itself was super nice, we got the suite where there was a separate 1/2 bath and living room. The rate was almost $400 a night though, so def expensive but you get what you pay for. Awesome accommodations by the staff and super friendly as far as insights to the city and bookings.

Free wifi in the common area but not in the rooms. That was one negative I can say. If you have the funds to splurge a little bit, I would say try this place out. It's not like a cookie cutter hotel like the Westin, or Hilton, but it gives you more history and superior service.

Room Tip: Def a splurge hotel, but you get what you pay for and more!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dink810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Super Guests

Thank you for your 5 star review. Sydney is a great shopping city with many speciality areas, and much to discover on foot (with some tips from concierge if you are looking for something special or the free city shopper bus 555 for a head start). The city has some stunning older style arcades, including the elegant QVB and the nearby Strand Arcade. However the new Westfield shopping centre under the Tower has all the designer shops and a very good food hall on one of the upper levels. The Rocks have a regular market with crafts - especially well stocked on the weekends. However I do recommend both Paddington or Bondi markets on the weekends (ask concierge for the times).

Accommodation rates in summer in Sydney are a premium, however purchasing in advance will usually provide the best rates. Almost all of April has an Easter Deal - and the weather is still pleasant as we enjoy the Autumn Gold. Rates are up to 25% reduced. Saturday nights are often booked well in advance and Sundays in Sydney are the least in demand and therefore there's often a good rate to be found.

We hope these tips help you to find a reason to splurge.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews