We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was once a Ritz Carlton hotel, so the interior architecture design is fairly lavish, and pleasing to the eye. There is a nice sitting area just behind the reception desk, which is a pleasant place to sit and make use of the free wifi (wifi in your room is not free). Our room was very clean and spacious (we had a king bed). It was also well furnished. The bathroom was also spacious with a separate toilet. The staff was courteous and helpful. While not a cheap hotel, we felt the value to be reasonable. We ate breakfast at the restaurant. It was a bit expensive, but good quality. We went twice to the hotel bar/lounge. The drinks were a bit expensive, but good. We especially enjoyed a curry dish on the bar menu. This hotel is a short walk to Circular Quai, and the Sydney Opera House as well as the Cruise Ship terminal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Our Heritage buidling began life as The NSW Health Department in the 1860's and now our Bar showcases that original architecture - so anyone can come in and and enjoy, sip a cocktail or partake one of our famous Devonshire or High Teas - 7 days a week, it's a welcome retreat from busy Circular Quay.

Converted into a hotel by Ritz Carlton in 1990, the hotel grew its' reputation as a classic boutique hotel under the Stamford Hotels and Resorts brand in the year 2000 and is the only hotel of the current 8 Stamfords to be afforded the title "Sir". This privilege is indeed due to the many fine pieces of art, furniture and fittings that adorn the hotel - including 3 Steinway Baby Grand Pianos and over 550 handcut chandliers!

Located at 93 Macquarie Street, (Opera House street end) , the hotel provides a calm oasis from the Rocks/Circular Quay area and gives guests many easy walking options and transport links to special city areas for first time and regular visitors.

Thank you for posting you review on our hotel, we appreciate it.

Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,913)
There are newer reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,261 - 2,267 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed over New Years Eve for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed the location, friendly efficient staff and our spacious room with a very comfortable bed. Requested and were given a room we had stayed in previously in 2012 which had fantastic views of Sydney Harbour.
Would agree with another review mentioning the sensor light turning off when in the bathroom which was a bit annoying but this would not deter us from staying again and we would definately recommend Sir Stamford at Circular Quay for anyone wanting great accommodation near Circular Quay or the Opera House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued New Years Eve Guests

New Years Eve in Sydney at Sir Stamford is always a special time due to our location, so close to the harbours edge, walking distance to the Opera House and access to so many of the key vantage points for the fireworks. The hotel has a special NYE 3 night minimum accommodation package which inludes a degustation dinner with roof top access for these guests only to watch the fireworks. These packages will be officially released in April, however guests may go on a waiting list for information by calling or emailing the hotel direct.

It is always a pleasure when we can provide guests with the same room they enjoyed on a previous stay. We have guests who have stayed well over 100 times and several who always request the same room - not that our rooms are that radically different, its the comfort of knowing where everything is.

Thank you for assisting us with the feedback regarding the bathroom light sensors - as we mentioned we are making the system easier for guests and still ensuring we save energy.

Thank you again,
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We'd never been to Sydney before and could have timed it better than to arrive with the tail-end of a tropical cyclone.
Check-in staff were very understanding and helped us get into our room early after a dreadful night flight (other passengers being malodorous, overweight, snoring, screaming, neurotic, fidgety, etc).
The décor and furnishing of the hotel itself is traditional English and very relaxed & comforting. Service was fine but we only ate in the hotel on one night (because of the monsoon outside) and this was very good.
Rooms and amenities were all up-to-standard.
Free WIFI is available in the public rooms on the ground floor.
I only wish the exchange-rate is what it used to be and we'd love to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We got a room on the 2nd floor, which may have smaller windows overlooking the Botanical Gardens, bu...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2flu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guests

The weather can definitely have a big impact on travelling - so we are very pleased that the hotel did provide a dry oasis for you on your first trip to Sydney. In winter we have the luxury of open fires to add warmth and atmosphere to those rainy days.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed dining in, our restaurant is such a lovely elegant intimate room, twinkling with chandeliers - with window views looking out onto leafy Macquarie Street. Even with the higher Australian dollar our prices are very reasonable - and we often have special dining packges for in house guests.

Thank you again for mentioning our features so positively - especially the free lobby wi fi, we hope the sun shines next visit.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stay at this hotel each year when we come to Sydney for our wedding anniversary dinner. We originally chose this hotel because of its fantastic location but now we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Invariably the rooms are clean and spacious. This time we stayed in a junior suite which was light and airy, beautifully appointed and which had a lovely view of Sydney Harbour. The staff were helpful and friendly as always

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBSRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Anniversary Guests

Congratulations on another anniversary stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time, as a repeat guest to rate our little hotel 5 stars. All 15 of our suites are all slightly different as you would expect in a heritage boutique building - some are very light and others on the shady side of the hotel have softer lighting. The suites have a larger lounge area and some have an additional bathroom. The views vary depending on the rooms placement and the season as the leafy deciduous trees of Macquarie Street can block views in summer.
We look forward to making your return visit special next anniversary stay.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were given a free room upgrade. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a lovely old-world décor. The bed was very comfy! We enjoyed delicious food in both the bar and restaurant. Keep an eye out for the hotels mascot in the foyer. The location was very closer to Circular Quay, making it easy to visit key tourist sites and travel via train. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valued Melbourne Guests

We sincerely appreciate your enthusiastic all round review of our lovely vintage boutique hotel.
Choosing the right hotel is much easier when you can review other travellers commendations. Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has the pleasure of accomodating guests from all over Australia, many here to enjoy an event at the Opera House which is literally "down the road" - a gentle walk (even in high heels).

Morris our hotel Mascot thanks you for noticing him, he spends his days all over the hotel, but is mostly seen relaxing in the chandeliered lobby - very happy when he's photographed.

Thank you again
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you want some where that delivers understated style , where the rooms are large and spacious , the common areas and uncommonly good and furnished with antiques and the bar are is like an upmarket gentlemans club , in a supurb location, then the Sir Stamford will suit very well. The staff have a friendly helpful demenour and the place has an comfortable old world style that is timeless.Yes decor is a bit worn in spots but so are your favourite shoes-thats why they are your favourites!!. It was quite reasonable for what you got. We paid around $300 per night and were upgraded on arrival.

I do think they should throw in the internet in the rooms for Free. Sir Stamford please note.

If your looking for flash and dash with chrome and granite highlights , night cubs and the trendy set then go somewhere else. They dont want you anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank target008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valued Perth Guests

Your review does encapsulate the style of our vintage hotel - it is like a comfortable favourite pair of shoes! Many return guests enjoy that consistency. Antiques require constant caring for them by our team - however like many "older" items they are made from superb materials - mahogony and marble for example are so durable. Thank you for your appreciation.

However we are continually improving and we do listen to our guests when they offer suggestions for improvement. Last year we changed the internet to provide free WIFI in the lobby area - this of course has been very well received.

We do ocassionally win over guests who normally choose a "modern" high rise - with our larger rooms, and more personal service the Sir Stamford Team wins them over.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I did some serious research on hotels in the Rocks area of Sydney, and because of all the rave reviews, booked this hotel.

The hotel is an "olde-worlde" hotel. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 7th floor which had a small balcony and a limited view of the harbour. The room and bathroom were large and had every amenity you would want. Free wi-fi was available in the public areas. It is very close to Circular Quay so the location is excellent.

Housekeeping were excellent and everything was cleaned and replenished daily to a high standard.

The reasons I gave it a 4* rating were:

The room was badly in need of decoration, particularly the woodwork, which was stained in places. The carpet was also in need of replacement.

One of the lifts had a piece of carpet in it which needed putting in the bin.

The lighting in the public areas was so dim that it was almost impossible to read a paper or a book.

And finally the most annoying point - there is a movement sensor on the bathroom light. Unfortunately, this seemed to switch the lights out at random if you stood in one place for too long. It is no fun suddenly being in the dark when having a wash, cleaning your teeth or worse still, sitting on the loo!! When the light went off you had to wave your arms wildly to get it on again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valued UK Guest

We appreciate both your commendations and recommendations - and are pleased that we scored 4 stars. Great to read that the housekeeping team and your assessment of cleanliness was noteworthy.

Lighting is a very important feature in public buidlings and in general our hotel lighting is definitely more subdued and softer. Our lobby lights are mostly chandeliers which are dimmed every evening and large table lamps that remain the same, providing a restful ambience. We do enjoy several lounge areas - and perhaps we can look at the traditional reading lamps to improve this facility in specific areas.

Some of our guest rooms were recently fitted with energy saving sensor lighting in the bathrooms, and following guest feedback we are altering the timing removing some swtiching to make this more obvious for guests.

Thank you again
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $199 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing