We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Love the old-world ambience of this very special hotel. We stayed over the weekend of our daughter's wedding. The hotel staff were welcoming ... the friendliest and most helpful we have encountered at any hotel ever. Room was spacious, quiet and extremely comfortable. And the location, close to the Harbour, Opera House and The Rocks, is perfect. Thanks folks ... we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Valued First Time Reviewer

We really appreciate an excellent local review, especially as being the parents of the bride can be a very pressured ocassion. It's great to read your review and know that we provided the best we could to ensure your family had the support, style and service you required. Being a smaller boutique hotel (105 rooms) we can and do make the effort to provide personalised attention and we as a team do love a wedding as we do get to see the full 24 hours unfold, and are often amazed at transformation that occurs as the final moments arrive.

Thank you again and perhaps we will see you back again, perhaps another daughter?

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,913)
There are newer reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,328 - 2,334 of 2,913 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Sydney for the weekend and decided to splash out a little. In this regard the sir Stamford was well worthwhile.

The sir Stamford is in very close proximity to the main points of attraction on the harbour, in fact we had partial views over circular quay and the harbour bridge. The opera house is literally a short stroll, and the botanical gardens are just across the road.

While the sir Stamford is located right in the city, if you don't like navigating the roads in the CBD there is easy access to and from the eastern distributor.

The hotel itself is old school glamour, with warmth and elegance and the rooms are well kept and comfortable.

My only real issue was the cost of parking under the hotel, which was pure extortion considering nearby carparks in the area will accommodate for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terminalvelocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Valued Canberra Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special weekend - we love your description of old school glamour.

Your commendation about access is very pertinent as Macquarie Street is very easy to locate and as you highlight it's a simple pop out from the eastern distributor and or the Cahill Freeway to or from the Harbour Bridge.

Our valet parking is $45 per day, but your can park for just $35 it you park yourself under the hotel, however this requires you getting your swipe card validated at reception prior to your departure. There are several very handy "cheapest parking websites/apps for Sydney" and we do keep a close eye on our prices to ensure they are competitive. Having over 100 under cover secure car parking is one of our features. (Note the Car Park is accessible from Albert Street, we recommend you drop of your luggage before you self park).

Hope this helps future travllers - don't hesitate to call our concierge prior to travelling.

Kind regards,
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last month we stayed at the Sir Stamford as members of a bridal party (the brides parents) for four nights. Our room was spacious and well appointed and we had no problems with street noise. The dining room offered restaurant quality fare. The location is very convenient for walking to some of Sydney's major attractions such as Circular Quay, Opera house, the botanic gardens and the Rocks.
However what sets this hotel apart from others is the exemplary standard of service offered by ALL the staff. They were only too willing to help and to go out of their way to satisfy our requests. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble. They were cheerful and friendly at all times!!!
I have no hesitation in recommending this charming hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackBill747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Wedding Guest

Thank you for detailing your wedding experience at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. All the team loves a wedding, especially when we host the reception and sometimes the actual ceremony. Having just 105 rooms does mean we are all able to meet and know almost every guest.

I am very proud of the staff and their committment to our guests and thank you very much for acknowledging their collective qualities.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wanted to stay near the Opera House as we had a function to attend. Found the hotel very old fashioned and though our room was large enough we could not over come the noise of the traffic. We were told that the room had a harbour view and when we complained that we could not see the harbour were told that the view was of the Middle Harbour. Infact all we could see were trees and the express way. It was not until the Duty Manager went up to our room that a refund was arranged and we moved to another hotel.
My review of ths hotel was removed and I was asked if I had made an error in my star ratings.
I had not. This my genuine experience of the hotel and I am disappointed that Trip Advisor should remove my comments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKRGeelongVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Disappointed Guest

While we do try to please all, there are times when a hotel just dosen't suit the guest for a variety of reasons and in these circumstances we do try to be as considerate as possible in waiving the terms and conditions of booking and cancellation fees that are applicable. You can appreciate that despite our vigilance there are descriptions that need modifying on the myriad of on line websites and booking engines that are not controlled by the hotel.

We are very pleased that you had alternative accommodation as the city is certainly very busy at present.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am not sure where a previous reviewer stayed and complained about nosie but I am sure it was not here. We have stayed here many times, in different rooms, on different floors and never been disturbed by street noise. Maybe he he had the balcony windows open and did not close the heavy curtains.
We stayed two nights and as others have said the staff are truly amazing. Light banter on arrival with Alesiha (talk slowly, shes from New Zealand - joke) and we were in early. Our room choice had been upgraded and was just beautiful. Drinks in the bar with Brien and ask to see his tatoo. Try the spring rolls and weges for lunch.
The pool was lovely and warm and very welcome after some long walks. The weather was not brilliant but the hotel was cosy, friendly and just the place to be.
If you book through an external site such as quickrooms, wotiff etc make sure you double check with the hotel that you are getting the room and price you want - some descriptions can be confusing (such as double or twin etc).
We both really enjoy staying here and will be back in May - why would you go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Double check if booked by an external agent - always check the hotel web site.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Return Guests

Thank you for your in depth knowledge of our hotel, staff, menus and services. You are definitely an example of the "new traveller", savvy with your understanding of websites and booking intricacies.

All hotels located in major cities, have to mitigate noise both internal and external and you are correct there is some opportunity for noise to enter the room when our little balcony doors are open. Fortunately Macquarie Street is relatively serene, with magnificent tall leafy plane trees mitigating most of the noise generated by the Cahill Expressway, the main feeder to the Harbour Bridge which can be seen from some aspects of our 10 storey hotel.

In my hotel experience I have found it can be the internal noise that can cause most annoyance to guests and we work hard to ensure that our taps don't drip, and our fridges don't hum - all part of our preventive maintenance programme completed by our engineers.

We do look forward to your return visit in 2013 - thank you so much for taking the time to share your observations.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with old world charm. 5 minute walk to opera house, circular quay, restaurants and bars. opposite the botanical gardens in Macquarie street so great for an early morning stroll. Stayed here many times and never disappoints. Rooms with two double beds are larger but all rooms reasonably sized.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Return Guest

Five stars is a lovely compliment, especially from a regular guest. Due to our location so close to the Opera House - we have recently added tickets for the daily Sydney Opera House Tour to our add on's on our website, so you can package this with your room - a handy tip for tourists to the city - no queing.

The gardens opposite the hotel have many summer events from outdoor movies to the very famous Harbour Opera, there is also jazz and rock events - many are totally free and we do sell wonderful picnic baskets - just ask at concierge.

Kind regards and thank you again.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was here in 2003 and when I knew I was going to be in Sydney again, I knew where I wanted to stay. And they didn't let me down.

Firstly, I love the fact that you just book on their own web site as you can't get it cheaper anywhere else so you don't spend hours looking for a deal on third-party websites.

Sir Stamford has a traditional, comfortable 'air' about it. From reception, to the bar and your room--nothing hitech or shiny chrome here, it's all very traditional. It has a quiet feel--no unnecessary noise. The rooms are enormous, beds comfy, bathroom was huge.

Once again, the location of the Sir Stamford has to be the winner. Across the road from the Royal Botantical Gardens and less than 5 minutes from Circular Quay.

I love the atmosphere that's been created at the Sir Stamford and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Return Guest

We are very pleased that we have passed the time test in the almost 10 years since your last visit and been rewarded with five stars. You have very beautifully described what many return guests tell us - our hotel feels very comfortable.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is very unique as half our hotel is located in the historic 1898 NSW Health Department building, a prestigious address in famous Macquarie Street. This little building has some very delicate features including the double pitched slate roof which is partially concealed behind a sandstone castellated parapet - however guests on higher floors and those using the leisure centre and pool on level 5 can observe these very clearly.

We look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $200 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing