We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$125
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$141
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$212
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$158
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$206
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,619)
Filter reviews
3,619 results
Traveler rating
2,402
874
221
71
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,402
874
221
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardenscircular quayopera housejuliet balconymacquarie streetgreat locationhigh teamarble bathroomcharming hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walkbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,026 - 3,031 of 3,619 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am not sure where a previous reviewer stayed and complained about nosie but I am sure it was not here. We have stayed here many times, in different rooms, on different floors and never been disturbed by street noise. Maybe he he had the balcony windows open and did not close the heavy curtains.
We stayed two nights and as others have said the staff are truly amazing. Light banter on arrival with Alesiha (talk slowly, shes from New Zealand - joke) and we were in early. Our room choice had been upgraded and was just beautiful. Drinks in the bar with Brien and ask to see his tatoo. Try the spring rolls and weges for lunch.
The pool was lovely and warm and very welcome after some long walks. The weather was not brilliant but the hotel was cosy, friendly and just the place to be.
If you book through an external site such as quickrooms, wotiff etc make sure you double check with the hotel that you are getting the room and price you want - some descriptions can be confusing (such as double or twin etc).
We both really enjoy staying here and will be back in May - why would you go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Double check if booked by an external agent - always check the hotel web site.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Return Guests

Thank you for your in depth knowledge of our hotel, staff, menus and services. You are definitely an example of the "new traveller", savvy with your understanding of websites and booking intricacies.

All hotels located in major cities, have to mitigate noise both internal and external and you are correct there is some opportunity for noise to enter the room when our little balcony doors are open. Fortunately Macquarie Street is relatively serene, with magnificent tall leafy plane trees mitigating most of the noise generated by the Cahill Expressway, the main feeder to the Harbour Bridge which can be seen from some aspects of our 10 storey hotel.

In my hotel experience I have found it can be the internal noise that can cause most annoyance to guests and we work hard to ensure that our taps don't drip, and our fridges don't hum - all part of our preventive maintenance programme completed by our engineers.

We do look forward to your return visit in 2013 - thank you so much for taking the time to share your observations.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with old world charm. 5 minute walk to opera house, circular quay, restaurants and bars. opposite the botanical gardens in Macquarie street so great for an early morning stroll. Stayed here many times and never disappoints. Rooms with two double beds are larger but all rooms reasonably sized.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Return Guest

Five stars is a lovely compliment, especially from a regular guest. Due to our location so close to the Opera House - we have recently added tickets for the daily Sydney Opera House Tour to our add on's on our website, so you can package this with your room - a handy tip for tourists to the city - no queing.

The gardens opposite the hotel have many summer events from outdoor movies to the very famous Harbour Opera, there is also jazz and rock events - many are totally free and we do sell wonderful picnic baskets - just ask at concierge.

Kind regards and thank you again.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was here in 2003 and when I knew I was going to be in Sydney again, I knew where I wanted to stay. And they didn't let me down.

Firstly, I love the fact that you just book on their own web site as you can't get it cheaper anywhere else so you don't spend hours looking for a deal on third-party websites.

Sir Stamford has a traditional, comfortable 'air' about it. From reception, to the bar and your room--nothing hitech or shiny chrome here, it's all very traditional. It has a quiet feel--no unnecessary noise. The rooms are enormous, beds comfy, bathroom was huge.

Once again, the location of the Sir Stamford has to be the winner. Across the road from the Royal Botantical Gardens and less than 5 minutes from Circular Quay.

I love the atmosphere that's been created at the Sir Stamford and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Return Guest

We are very pleased that we have passed the time test in the almost 10 years since your last visit and been rewarded with five stars. You have very beautifully described what many return guests tell us - our hotel feels very comfortable.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is very unique as half our hotel is located in the historic 1898 NSW Health Department building, a prestigious address in famous Macquarie Street. This little building has some very delicate features including the double pitched slate roof which is partially concealed behind a sandstone castellated parapet - however guests on higher floors and those using the leisure centre and pool on level 5 can observe these very clearly.

We look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sir Stamford is a classic – and the ‘class’ in classic shows through. No stuffy hotel this, it is a home from home, full of warmth and service that is friendly and respectful.

Ideally situated, it is but a few minutes walk away from most of Sydney’s premier icons and then, when the walking is done, within hailing distance of trains, buses and ferries.

The atmosphere reflects the antiques and pictures that adorn each regal nook and cranny. It is serene but efficient. The staff were accommodating and genuinely friendly both in manner and greeting.

Our rooms – we stayed here at the beginning and end of our holiday – were top drawer; comfortable and well appointed.

We have no complaints at all and compliment the management and staff – you have it ‘just right’ and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Sir Stamford very much appreciates your endorsement of our hotel, it's style and it's staff, as you are clearly well seasoned global travellers.

Spring in Sydney is a wonderful time to visit, warm days, and cool nights. Yesterday the wonderful Frances Bacon exhibition opened at the nearby NSW Art Gallery for a 4 month long season and after having attended the opening we can highly recommend this to summer visitors. This very large gallery has a wide variety of art and is a very pleasant walk through the Botanical Gardens from the hotel.

For those seeking a special Sydney art angle, we can also recommend a small but delightful exhibition just around the corner at the Museum of Sydney (MOS) which features the home and works of Margeret Olley - an iconic artist of Sydney.

Both museums have very tasteful souvenir/book/craft shops,

Once again thank you for your recommendation - we do like your turn of phrase "Top Drawer".

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not too big (gracious and elegant rather than glittering), not too small (big enough to be well staffed and with a generous foyer with elegant sitting areas if you are meeting people plus good dining and a separate bar), this is a hotel with very spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, spotlessly clean, sporting quality furnishings and a genuinely comfortable beds. Our major criteria are always cleanliness and a bed that lets our slightly aging (late 50's) sometimes aching bones relax for good sleep after bust days, ideally with a supportive but cushioned comfort topped mattress kind to our hips and shoulders. The hotel filled these criteria admirably.
We also had a lovely outlook from our 9th floor room and balcoiny across tree tops and botanic gardens to the harbour from within the room - we could see the opera house just obliquely and only from the balcony but you really don't need to gaze at it continually; and although the motorway and tunnels intervene in the lower foreground these are not too intrusive unless you leave the doors open. Meals and room service were excellent (I am not generally a chocolate dessert person but even I recommend the Chocolate Implosion!) but there are also heaps of other eating places in area. If you have an inclusion for breakfast just be sure you are clear if that is price capped- we booked through an agency and were not correctly advised although it was ultimately sorted out satisfctorily.
The location is a little up hill from Circular Quay but only a very short part slightly steep and if you are able to walk just a couple of hundred meters in total comfortably we would definitely advise a train there to or from from the airport, We only used the ferry back the few stops from Darling Harbour to Circular Quay one evening to run us under the Bridge and get the classic water view of the Opera House but the ferries are handy for commuting and pleaure.
You can find cheaper accomodation for sure but with limited time availbable convenience and quality of experience are what we value most and this hotels gives that. Cheapness is not the same as value. Definitely we will stay again.

Room Tip: Less road noise from upper floors (fine with balcony doors shut) but ask for a harbour view unless some road sound bothers you badly.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Just Right

We are vey impressed with your review and attention to detail. A good nights sleep is of course the ultimate goal for any satisfied hotel guest and we are pleased to learn that the ambience and style of the hotel did not compromise on the most important feature a good bed and a good nights rest.

Our Chocolate Implosion is so popular that although our Dining Room menu changes seasonally we never take off this dessert favourite.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews