We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$221
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$271
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$174
$132
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$129
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$210
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$192
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,619)
Filter reviews
3,619 results
Traveler rating
2,402
874
221
71
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,402
874
221
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardenscircular quayopera housejuliet balconymacquarie streetgreat locationhigh teamarble bathroomcharming hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walkbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,031 - 3,036 of 3,619 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had narrowed our hotel choice down to 4 in the CBD/Circular Quay area & I am so glad we chose the Sir Stamford. Location, location, location - just a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, The Rocks and The Botanical Gardens are just across the road. Rooms are very spacious, there is free wi-fi in the comfortable lobby beside a cosy lit fire. Staff are exceptional, friendly & smiley. This hotel is genteel and elegant without being stuffy. Would I stay here again? - You bet, every time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Valued UK Travellers

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review and your 5 star rating - it is very important to us that our guests keep updating our page with reviews as they do assist other travellers get a true idea of the hotels style and ambience - it's not for everyone. Today is about choice and with over 200 major hotels in the CBD it's a very hard decision when you are planning from the other side of the world.

Yesterday we had to light our lobby fire as the temperatures plumeted rather unseasonally, so this will probably be the last time until next autumn - it's amazing how our guests are drawn to a "real" fire. The bridal party, the cruise guests, some conference delegates and other independent travellers all stopped for a stare and a warm up.

Our team hail from 31 different nationalities and all have various experience from many other brands of hotels, but together we make a very committed team to ensure we give our guests the attention they require - hoping to anticipate their needs whenever possible.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived early morning via a dreadful 1 hour 20 minute airport shuttle bus by KST, recommended as better and quicker than the train by Grand National Concierge at the airport! (The return was even worse, 1 hour 40 minutes, as the driver got lost - we complained and got a full refund).

The hotel concierge appeared and helped bring our luggage to reception, and we were pleased and relieved to learn that a room was available immediately. Meanwhile the concierge had disappeared so we took the cases up ourselves.

The room was spacious and well appointed with a sizeable marble bathroom, separate WC and shower as well as bathtub and two basins. Indeed, the room, en suite, comfort and amenities were comparable with the Brisbane Stamford Plaza where we've stayed a few times.

The room safe did not seem to work though a call to the front desk produced a helpful response very quickly. He disappeared to obtain new batteries, fitted them and vanished before we had a chance to test. It was still malfunctioning! This time it took two calls and a long delay before the technician re-appeared and corrected the fault.

We wanted a hotel within a short walk of the opera house and Sir Stamford fitted the bill perfectly (7 minutes stroll from a stunning Aïda!)

Apart from the free wifi in the lobby (silly prices in the room), we didn't explore other facilities at the hotel nor did we breakfast or dine there. Overall very good in terms of comfort and the early check-in was really appreciated. Generally though, service felt a little impersonal, even sloppy, for example absence of greetings/response from staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Private car or limo is a lovely luxurious transfer experience and we use a reputable operator Brunel, and we are very happy to arrange guest transfers. Our reservation confirmations do have a link to this companies website if you wish to book direct. However taxis are safe and easy from Sydney airport and the route to the hotel is quicker if you take the tunnel/toll road options when asked by the driver. A taxi trip can be a as short as 20 minutes very early in the morning but traffic can slow this down at peak times to 45 minutes or longer. I sometimes use the airport train direct to Circular Quay (especially during peak traffic times) as it's so convenient - however not if you have more than one piece of luggage, as the little sloping rise of Albert Street to the hotel prove a hurdle.

Our maintenance team apologise sincerely for not checking the battery replacement for your in room safe.

We have many Opera House fans who choose to stay in the hotel, as the walk is as you say minutes away. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as we do learn about areas that require improvement as we understand that we need every department to be spot in to achieve our high ranking from guests.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September. The location was great a short walk to everywhere. We had booked through wotif, so were not expecting great things. But our room was fabulous.The room was very clean, and large with old world charm . We had the most fantastic view of the the harbour bridge.
We had breakfast daily which was always hot & fresh. The staff were great very friendly, helpful & genuine which made our stay all the better. We would thoughly recommend a stay here to all and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your five star review - and once again we are very pleased that it was the staff that impressed you rather than the antiques or the chandeliers. Our diverse team are very proud of the city and our surrounds, and all are very proud of the hotel with all it's charms.

Sir Stamford has 2 Deluxe Terrace King rooms that have fabulous Harbour Bridge views - these are often booked by internattional guests who particularly want that very special view from their sun loungers on the terrace of each room. As our boutique hotel is only 10 stories high and we are opposite the Botanical Gardens, many of our other views are of the leafy canopy.

Half of our hotel is the former Health Department Heritage building - a Federation Free style, and the interiors have been modeled on that period - our rooms are large and the decor is very much in an older style - comfortable and considering our city location very quiet, unless you want to open the balcony doors.

Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My mother and I stayed in April and it was the obvious choice to stay again. The location is convenient to the Botanical Gardens, Quay and Opera House. The rooms are large, clean and have an understated old world, luxury feel. The breakfast is hot, fresh and a good, but not huge, variety. High tea fabulous. The main thing I wish to comment on is the staff. They are the nicest, friendliest and most helpful, yet still so professional, staff I have come across and I have stayed in a lot of hotels in many countries. They are a credit to this hotel, I do not know if it is the training, the management's lead or a culture within the staff that has grown over the years but they are the Sir Stamford's greatest asset.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 59caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Return Guests

Your comments about the team are very generous and we as a team appreciate the acknowledgement. Learning the skill of anticipation is very valuable and shared by all and we do try to solve problems rather than passing them on. While good recruitment is the key - so is training and coaching.

We are all very proud of the legacy the building has and the fine art that surrounds us - we have favourite pieces - mine is the giant Cuban Mghogany sideboard that is outside the Prince Albert function room and I am very attached to the pair of French Ormolu rouge marble urns that sit above our lobby fireplace. I also particularly like the 19th century Staffordshire pottery piece of Robert Burns standing by a tree stump which is mostly cream with a hint of gilt - this piece is also in the lobby china cabinet.

Once again thank you for your review.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were in Sydney for a performance at the Opera House and chose the Sir Stamford because of its name, having stayed at the same chain in Brisbane, and location. Great room on the 5th floor - only down side was bathroom has no where to put your toiletries. Staff were fantastic, Concierge amazing, best we have ever experienced and we have travelled a lot. Close to Circular Quay, fabulous restaurants on the waterfront. Our package included a full breakfast, high tea, free bathrobe and late checkout. Parking is fantastic and a great price considering it is the city. Will stay there again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Inspect prior to unpacking and if not happy, ask for another.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you so much for highlighting the hotel car park, accessed from Albert Street - it is easy to use and we are so pleased that you have commented positively on the price - $35 to self park for 24 hour just for house guests and $45 overnight for valet parking - no matter how many times you choose to have it brought up. Our car park has 5 levels all underground - carved into the sandstone bedrock of Sydney - it's quite archeological!

The Celebration Package is a very good choice as the price is fixed and when it is purchased at this time of the year when accommodation is at a premium it is particularly even better value.... your room, buffet breakfast for 2 - our Traditional High Tea for 2 (valued at $49 per person), slippers and 2 waffle bathrobes to take home and of course late checkout of 12 noon.

Sir Stamford really does have the style of celebration about it.
Thank you again and good tip - if a room doesn't instantly appeal then never unpack - simply come down and we'll do our best to reallocate you.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews