We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,697)
Filter reviews
3,697 results
Traveler rating
2,465
886
222
72
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,465
886
222
72
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconymacquarie streetgreat locationhigh teamarble bathroomcharming hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walkbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,109 - 3,114 of 3,697 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September. The location was great a short walk to everywhere. We had booked through wotif, so were not expecting great things. But our room was fabulous.The room was very clean, and large with old world charm . We had the most fantastic view of the the harbour bridge.
We had breakfast daily which was always hot & fresh. The staff were great very friendly, helpful & genuine which made our stay all the better. We would thoughly recommend a stay here to all and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your five star review - and once again we are very pleased that it was the staff that impressed you rather than the antiques or the chandeliers. Our diverse team are very proud of the city and our surrounds, and all are very proud of the hotel with all it's charms.

Sir Stamford has 2 Deluxe Terrace King rooms that have fabulous Harbour Bridge views - these are often booked by internattional guests who particularly want that very special view from their sun loungers on the terrace of each room. As our boutique hotel is only 10 stories high and we are opposite the Botanical Gardens, many of our other views are of the leafy canopy.

Half of our hotel is the former Health Department Heritage building - a Federation Free style, and the interiors have been modeled on that period - our rooms are large and the decor is very much in an older style - comfortable and considering our city location very quiet, unless you want to open the balcony doors.

Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My mother and I stayed in April and it was the obvious choice to stay again. The location is convenient to the Botanical Gardens, Quay and Opera House. The rooms are large, clean and have an understated old world, luxury feel. The breakfast is hot, fresh and a good, but not huge, variety. High tea fabulous. The main thing I wish to comment on is the staff. They are the nicest, friendliest and most helpful, yet still so professional, staff I have come across and I have stayed in a lot of hotels in many countries. They are a credit to this hotel, I do not know if it is the training, the management's lead or a culture within the staff that has grown over the years but they are the Sir Stamford's greatest asset.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 59caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Return Guests

Your comments about the team are very generous and we as a team appreciate the acknowledgement. Learning the skill of anticipation is very valuable and shared by all and we do try to solve problems rather than passing them on. While good recruitment is the key - so is training and coaching.

We are all very proud of the legacy the building has and the fine art that surrounds us - we have favourite pieces - mine is the giant Cuban Mghogany sideboard that is outside the Prince Albert function room and I am very attached to the pair of French Ormolu rouge marble urns that sit above our lobby fireplace. I also particularly like the 19th century Staffordshire pottery piece of Robert Burns standing by a tree stump which is mostly cream with a hint of gilt - this piece is also in the lobby china cabinet.

Once again thank you for your review.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were in Sydney for a performance at the Opera House and chose the Sir Stamford because of its name, having stayed at the same chain in Brisbane, and location. Great room on the 5th floor - only down side was bathroom has no where to put your toiletries. Staff were fantastic, Concierge amazing, best we have ever experienced and we have travelled a lot. Close to Circular Quay, fabulous restaurants on the waterfront. Our package included a full breakfast, high tea, free bathrobe and late checkout. Parking is fantastic and a great price considering it is the city. Will stay there again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Inspect prior to unpacking and if not happy, ask for another.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you so much for highlighting the hotel car park, accessed from Albert Street - it is easy to use and we are so pleased that you have commented positively on the price - $35 to self park for 24 hour just for house guests and $45 overnight for valet parking - no matter how many times you choose to have it brought up. Our car park has 5 levels all underground - carved into the sandstone bedrock of Sydney - it's quite archeological!

The Celebration Package is a very good choice as the price is fixed and when it is purchased at this time of the year when accommodation is at a premium it is particularly even better value.... your room, buffet breakfast for 2 - our Traditional High Tea for 2 (valued at $49 per person), slippers and 2 waffle bathrobes to take home and of course late checkout of 12 noon.

Sir Stamford really does have the style of celebration about it.
Thank you again and good tip - if a room doesn't instantly appeal then never unpack - simply come down and we'll do our best to reallocate you.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to Sydney for a couple of operas. This is such a great location as it is an easy walk to and from the opera house. We stayed three nights on the third floor in a Superior room. I really like that although this is their cheapest room it is still really nice and large. We were a bit overwhelmed by the need to use controllers for the curtains and lights. When we returned each evening the room curtains would open and we would have to find the controller and shut them. Never did work out how to stop that from happening. Anyway the room was comfortable and as was the bed. No problems with the air conditioning.
They had a deal on when we booked that included a continental buffet for breakfast. The buffet was fine, the pastries were fresh(yeah!), the honey comb was a nice touch as was the orange presser to make your own fresh juice - coming from our last hotel - a holiday inn in Bangkok - it seemed a bit sparse, but was probably appropriate for the number of customers.
We had dinner here one night - really nice and well worth while.
There are a lot of food courts nearby for breakfast and lunch - ask the concierge.
Luckily they had a lounge on the 3rd floor as the lounge on the ground floor sometimes was being used by functions.
We did not buy internet use, but used the free wifi in the lounge which was unlimited for as far as I could tell (used it for email and a bit of light surfing).
All the staff, including cleaning lady were friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsongea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We do apologise for your room allocation - it's one particular room that we are trialling with all the latest gadgets to open curtains, turn on TV's and other marvelous things. It reacts to each guest when they enter the room - it is very sophistocated and while some of our younger tech team (and the Chief Engineer) adore it we have decided to perhaps only use half of the new operating energy saving devices in the near future.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is just around the corner from a Food Court under the AMP building which also houses a chemist, shoes and luggage repair shop, small supermarket and lots of fast food items that can be handy to pack for a day on the ferries or a picnic in the park. The is less than 5 minute walk from our Macquarie Street entrance.

Return again soon and enjoy another style of room where the curtains just need a gentle pull to close. Kind regards,
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Last stayed here in 2009, loved the place then and still do. Last time we stayed on the 3rd floor this time I booked a terrace room (there are only 3) beautiful, comfortable room, loved having the terrace to walk around on. Unfortunately our air con played up that night. The night concierge was brilliant, after some attempt to fix the a/c, we were upgraded to an executive suite with its own fireplace etc. Was lovely to get an opportunity to see what the suites look like - they give a feeling of old world luxury. I like to mix it up with accom in Sydney but I will always return to the Sirstam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilkoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

The Large Terrace Rooms (there's only a few) are perfect for the sun lovers and yes they are a favourite of many return guests. Most do face Circular Quay side of the hotel and look down on the ferry terminal, the bridge and the Rocks.

I am very happy to hear that while there was a glitch in your air conditioning controls, that occupancy levels meant that we were able to room move you and in this case upgrade you to one of our 15 suites. Some days of the week we offer arrival guests the ability to "upgrade" for less than the usual retail price - again depending on availability. It's quite good to see the difference another $50 or $100 can make especially if you are planning on staying a few days.

The Presidential Suite - complete with its' own Steinway Baby Grand and Bvlgari Bathroom Amenities (153 square metres of vintage Sir Stamford) is also an upgrade opportunity. I am available to show guests this suite if they are interested in both the hotel history and a chance to see where many celebrities have slept.

We do have a small team in engineering who work 7 days and are on hand to mend, repair and address maintenance issues not detected in our preventative programme which covers all 105 rooms on a 3 month cycle, so we are generally able to address any deficiencies instantly.

Once again thank you for your 5 star review comments - we do appreciate this feedback on such a global platform.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews