We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$136
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$214
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$163
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$269
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$127
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$143
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,630)
Filter reviews
3,630 results
Traveler rating
2,411
875
221
72
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,411
875
221
72
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconymacquarie streetgreat locationhigh teamarble bathroomcharming hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walkbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,050 - 3,055 of 3,630 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford right at Circular Quay for a week during the September school holidays. A boutique hotel with real old world charm, friendly and helpful staff and a large room. A fab position only a minutes walk from the ferries at Circular Quay. Great pool that overlooks the Quay. Probably my favourite Sydney hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanLGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Location is everything - it can prevent stress, save transport costs, be safer ... the list goes on - generally once you have selected your price range then location is such a key factor. Despite all the wonders of global roaming devices - most visitors to major cities want not only the convenience of a central location but a hotel that is easy to locate.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is blessed with a lovely corner site and a very identifiable historic building and our stylish red neon roof top light shines out across the city, even though we are dwarfed by the modern high rise hotels around us -This year when I was lucky enough to experience the magnificent inaugural Handa Sydney Harbour Opera in the Royal Botanic Gardens that are opposite our hotel - I could just see our hotel sign across the tree tops. Our sign is also visible from the opposite side - the Rocks area - for example sitting on the cafe deck of the Museum of Contemporary Art - Sir Stamford sign is proudly visible.

So thank you for identifying this plus of course our wonderful people, who make our bricks and mortar come to life - they are our true asset.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford for 1 night on a Saturday night to see a 10am show at the Opera House the next day.

The hotel is a bit of boutique style. Every single hotel staff we came across was warm and friendly and somehow I felt that they actually meant it. The hotel room was beautifully furbished and well maintained. The hotel common area was cosy and comfortable, There is a small but very well heated pool with a nice terrace area. The hotel room was quiet even there were of buses passing by.

The location is great for access to Rocks market and Opera House.

Lovely hotel, will stay again .....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay for your early morning Opera House Show - it's such an easy 5 minute walk down beautiful tree lined Macquarie Street to the front doors. Sydney Opera House has over 8 million visitors and there are over two thousand shows a year in their 7 major venues, so it's no wonder we have an accommodation package that includes a tour of the Opera House - it's available on our website - the link is on this page.

Our diverse team comes from over 30 nations, and represents the melting pot that is Sydney and we are always pleased to hear that this "genuine friendliness" does come through to guests.

Thank you again for your review and description.
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in September. Would recommend it to anyone - beautiful rooms and hands-on manager was very helpful with information and directions. If we are ever back in Sydney would not hesitate to stay there again. We arrived early in the morning from our very long flight and obviously we did not expect our room to be ready at that early hour. However we were able to use the facilites in the leisure centre which was very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your 5 star rating, we do appreciate having guests provide feedback as this does provide genuine tips for future travellers. We agree our location is superb - 93 Macquarie Street - a short walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay ferries all lined up around the corner, the gardens opposite - it's a smorgasbord of choice for walkers. Many guests discover the delights of Woolloomooloo - a little inner city suburb that is only 15 minutes walk across the gardens - where you can join Sydney siders enjoy cocktails as the sun sets on a summers afternoon. Woolloomooloo is also the home of Sydney's famous Pie Cart "Harry's" - a simple Aussie Pie can be tasted with the locals.

We do like sharing the best of our city with our guests and we also enjoy getting their recommendations and opinions on experiences - so that all of remain up to date.

Kind regards and return again soon,
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Sir Stamford at the end of August. We booked the celebration package with the high tea and it was perfect! The service was impeccable and we felt really special with the complimentary bottle of bubbly and bonus upgrade.

The high tea was amazing - OMG the scones are the best I've ever had!

But my favourite part of the stay funnily enough was the hair dryer! I'm always so worried to relax in the bath for fear of getting my hair wet and true to from the shower cap ripped when I tried to put it on so I gave up and thought I will just let my had dry itself- my thick hair takes hours to dry with the normal hotel hair dryers. But the one here was really good -a sunbeam ionic one and my hair was dry in less than 10 minutes! The time saver and attention to detail of having a decent dryer was much appreciated!!

We have decided to go back again for our anniversary next year!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a small balconette and views of the harbour
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nim4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Celebration Guests

We agree our scones are the best. Warm and Fluffy....
The Stamford Hotels celebration package is universally suited to a variety of special occasions, as it includes whatever room type you wish, plus the High Tea for 2, 2 celebration waffle robes (to use and also to take home) and 2 pairs of slippers, plus buffet breakfast for 2 and a late checkout. All our package prices are fixed, so it does mean it is very good value at the busy times of the year and also Saturday nights which are usually full. Our website has all the details and you will find the link above.

Thank you for highlighting our hair dryers, very important for both genders.

Thank you for the five star rating, we are delighted.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I can only say good things about this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. We parked in the hotel car garage on arrival and as soon as we stepped out of the car and had our bags, the lift door opened and we were greeted by a bell boy who helped us and took us straight up to reception to check in. On our way to our room we were greeted by friendly faces and greetings at every turn. It really made us feel welcome. There was an old world charm to the hotel that was really beautiful and the sitting room next to the lobby really showed this off. We stayed in the Superior King Room and were pleasantly surprised at the size.
The room was cosy and the bed, bathroom, TV, fittings and features were all very good. The bed itself was very comfortable and hard to get out of in the mornings.
The hotel was within a 2 minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Botanical Gardens were just across the road. Darling Harbour was also within a 5 minute drive or a nice walk.
When we arrived we had a problem with the TV not playing something from a USB device and I rang reception, with a few minutes we had a tech at the door who was polite and helped us with the issue. It was fixed and ready to go within 30 minutes. It was great service.
We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was hot. It was reasonably priced and of good quality.
We spent some time in “The Bar” on Saturday night and I recommend this 100 precent. We were greeted by a friendly bar man and a lady playing songs on a piano with a beautiful voice singing old Crooner classics. Just great.
All in all our stay was wonderful and I have no hesitations recommending people to stay here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattClau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Valued House Guests

We do agree our "crooners" in The Bar sing the classics - elegant, stylish and not too loud that you can't enjoy a conversation. Though there have been occasions when guests have taken to dancing, so it can liven up a little.

It's very nice to read a review that describes the hotel as it is, even with the IT hiccup it shows that the team acted promptly in all situations from arrival to departure and was able to provide you with good service, friendliness and professionalism.

Yes all our rooms are large by today's standard - our lead in room, the superior is very comfortable and has plenty of space and lovely double basin marble bathrooms. However the deluxe rooms are really large and all have the balconies.

Thank you again and return again soon
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews