We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this grand old place and in fact extended my stay while there for an extra two days. Staff were excellent and helpful in many ways. Awesome location as you can walk to all the cool things, including the ferry docks. Room was very comfy and clean, with lots of room. They offer a terrific breakfast with the room and it should not be missed. All in all, a nice place to stay while in Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We do appreciate your summary of our lovely little hotel. and are very pleased you enjoyed your extended stay. The hotel is a great base for walking around the city, catching ferries, enjoying the Botanical Gardens or attending the many theatres and concert halls around us. We are fortunate to have The Conservatorium of Music (for Australia) just across the road and the world famous Opera House a short walk down Macquarie Street. There is also the very modern recital Hall in Angel Place that is one of Sydney's hidden gems. One of my favourite city sculptures is also tucked away in this side street - Angel Place. Experiencing Australian birdlife sounds echoing from high hanging bird cages is beautifully haunting.

Kidn regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,727 - 2,733 of 3,259 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely building in a great location. Short stroll down to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Also across from the botanical gardens. Service was very due to great staff. Only disappointment was the room service. Food was not as good as should be expected from a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DooRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Sir Stamford at Ciruclar Quay is very fortunate to be partly housed in one of Sydneys Heritage listed buildings. While half the hotel was completed by Ritz Carlton in 1990 the other, is a four storey building in the Federation Free Style, formerly Health Department Building, located on what was once a prominent harbour’s edge corner of Albert and Macquarie Street. This 1897 building has high historic significance as an important building in the professional work of the Government Architect, W E Vernon. The building was completed in 1898, for 7528.18.8 pounds. The building was also an infamous landmark building as it was used during it's time as the Venereal Disease Clinic from the 1930’s to the 1980’s.

Today The Bar – uses the “Health Department” entrance and locals and visitors today can experience for themselves the interior of the building. Conference, meeting and delegate guests using the second floor Lachlan Suite can also appreciate the high ceilings that would have once been Health Department offices. However it is the very lucky occuppants of the Presidential Suite located on Level 4 that will truly see the beauty of the interior of this special little building, as this oppulent suite even has its' own Steinway Grand and retains much of the original architectural features.

All in house guests at the hotel who use the Pool Deck on level 5 will see the spectacular pitched roof with it’s original Welsh Penryn tiles.

Thank you again for highlighting our location as well as our history.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rooms in good order , although a little aged, bathroom large and clean ,front desk and bell team provide friendly service .

However a couple of incidents detracted from my stay, which I booked on wotif.

1 , Of the 4 nights I stayed the bar was closed twice for a private function and the restaurant was closed Monday & Tuesday nights - there was no mention of this either at time of booking, checkin , or by way of message to the room or on the hotel web site. Yes I could get service in the lounge - but its just not the same.
2, My booked pacage included a bottle of wine , each day, a $2 breakfast and a $20 food credit - the wine wasnt delivered any day, and the breakfast and food credit offer was not highlighted at check in - so I didnt get to take advantage of these benifits.
3, I did mention this to the front desk team member on check out who confirmed that I should have got these benifits and did say he would tell managment about it - not really the outcome I hoped for.

While staying at the hotel the in-house PR channel shows an advertisment of a couple trying to check in for a special pacage but being told by reception it didnt exist - so the the recepitionist could have the benifit - yes I know it was a tounge in cheek joke - but seemed a little too close to what happened to me.

Yes stay here but check what youre getting and what facilities you will have acess to.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank TonyF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay - our own website does list all our opening hours and other special events - we apologise as this information is not on third party sites. The Dining Room is open in the evenings Tuesday to Saturday, but everyday for breakfast.

We do agree The Bar has a unique atmosphere and it is not often that it is totally booked out for a special function - as it was recently with a large group in house. While we did make an effortto ensure our lovely lobby was a glow with drinks and atmosphere it just wasn't the same for you.

Our Melt into Winter which finishes this month did include a $1 breakfast and a daily $20 food and beverage credit.

Thank you again and our apologies for several of the facilities being unavailable during your stay.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Sir Stamford is a grand old hotel, with the added bonus of a charming lounge with open fireplace and comfy lounge chairs. Service was very good and rooms were larger than normal (we stayed in a basic room) although a little tired. The location is great for accessing the Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and that end of town, and parking is available as either valet or self park. The Bar at the side is great and also very popular for high teas. The one down side (and for us it was a big disappointment) was the breakfast. Prices are (as usual in City hotels) excessive, but the quality and quantity of what was on offer was simply appalling - service was fine, but they really have to lift their game on this point..

Room Tip: There are plenty of options for breakfast in this part of the City - take one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

The Bar is a great destination - even on it's own - for High Teas for Tapas or for celebrating anything at all. Friday is our live music evening. The Bar is open 7 days a week from 11.00am. Food is available at all times, but please do book for High Teas Ph 827 45462 as demand is high on weekends.

We appreciate your feedback - especially your comments about breakfast, which in your experience fell short of what you expected. Our buffet is set out for light offerings, such as fruits, cereals, pastries/breads, cold meats/salmon and fresh juices. We prefer to serve all cooked breakfasts to order to ensure their quality. We do apologise for our offering not coming up to your standard. We do have an amazing $1 breakfast special for accommodation - our Melt into Winter package - great to purchase on our website above.

For guests to park their own car in our Albert Street underground car park is $35 per day, however we do valet parking for $45 per day. Guests merely stop in front of our Macquarie Street entrance and we will assist with both luggage and car.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked this hotel before remembering a past booking disaster with them where I said I'd never stay with them.
Something about not honouring a price if I recall.
Anyway, I booked via their website and it wasn't the easiest or quickest booking experience I've had.
Check in was smooth as was check out.
The room was large and well furnished. The bathroom was large and well supplied.
I probably has less than 9 hours in the hotel itself so didn't experience much of their service but from what I did experience, I'd go back.
However, I'd avoid the front rooms which get plenty of noise from the expressway.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imqaretman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We are very pleased you returned despite your past hiccup and that check in was smooth and this time there were no incidents regarding pricing. Although our website was a little slow we are pleased you made the effort and it's the best way to get directly to our system and receive the best prices.

Best of all we are pleased that this time you would actively return - when you book again just ask for room location you prefer. We do like that you found the hotel good value - again a bonus from booking directly on our website.

Thank you again
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Sir Stamford and were impressed with it from beginning to end. The hotel was calm, comfortable and friendly and a perfect base for our sightseeing. We had a harbour view suite that gave views of the Opera House from the bedroom and although it was a little pricey it was very good value for such a central location and good quality hotel. The staff were always charming and treated you like an individual, so much nicer than in those huge business hotels. We ate in the restaurant once and were very impressed by the service and the quality of the food. The old fashioned décor is not really to my taste but the rooms are very pleasant and the lounge with its roaring fire is really inviting. I would certainly return to the Sir Stamford and just hope that that happens sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We booked a suite to be sure of the views and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homesick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your excellent review - choosing a harbour view suite has to be one of the loveliest room types in the hotel - especially for a four night stay. I do love the views over the historical buidlings around us - and the sun floods into those rooms during the day.

Our Maitre de Michael Thom will be delighted with your recommendation of "The Dining Room", he and the sous Chef Joshua Askew are very proud of the restuarants' current wave of popularity no doubt in part due to the success of our small but special Winter Menu.

The decor is most definiteley classically antique and yet many modern travellers (young and old) warm to the comfort and style after a few relaxing days. On behalf of our 110 strong team (representing 31 nationalities) we thank you.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford Circular Quay, Sydney for four nights. Such a lovely hotel with old world charm and old fashioned service in an ideal location to rediscover Sydney. Special mention to “Eric” at the front desk and “Con” in reservations. Both showed exemplary customer service skills with Eric in particular demonstrating a real willingness to make the stay as enjoyable as possible for us both. We are very grateful and due to this level of service, Sir Stamford has become our # 1 choice in Sydney CBD stays for the future. Well done and thank you to the Sir Stamford team.

Cheers,
Scott Crank

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We do appreciate you taking the time to provide wonderful feedback - right down to identifying excellence from staff members. Recognition and reward is a big part of engaging our team and we will be sure that we post your review on our internal noticeboards. Sir Stamford is a good choice for the CBD traveller who wants the recognition that we can provide being a boutique property, with a very high staff to guest ratio.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 186 in Sydney
6,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $200 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing