We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fabulous staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel . Staff are fantastic, service great, rooms good. Everything was perfect down to every detail.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We just love your review - in its' brevity it captures the essence of a great stay - good rooms and good service!

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 2,972 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a gorgeous cosy little hotel, close to ferries, city, everything. Perfect location. The rooms are big and bathroom big and clean. Breakfast is quaint and relaxing. Love the fire place and lounge area. My biggest gripe is the room service food needs updating, it's disgusting!! Did not have one satisfying meal. Vegies are from a frozen packet, dim sims were strange tasting (weird sauce), salt and pepper calamari was cold and bland, and the beef burger has no sauce just aoli. All so tasteless and gross. Just very surprising coming from a 5 star hotel. We were traveling with a very young toddler (and I'm heavily pregnant) so we really relied on this service. The concierge desk/staff were a bit rude over the phone... Not overly rude just a bit smart and uninterested.. Again just expected better from a five star... Like a few 'yes mam, pleasure mam'.. No, none of that. Lovely bell boy who made up for it. The shower didn't work first two nights but they fixed that so no problem there. Also I just felt the carpeted floors were very dirty and needed a good shampoo.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We are very pleased you chose Sir Stamford for a break before the arrival of your next baby. It's good to know that in general we met your wishes, responding to your shower issue, and providing the perfect location and ambience.

We would like to reassure you that we have a robust cyclical carpet shampooing contract, which ensures we never miss rooms or corridors, as part of our preventative maintenance programme.

Our room service should always deliver hot food and more importantly it should be as described. I particularly like the dim sum as a good choice for toddlers.

Telephone manner is critical to express the tone of the hotel and indeed we do training in the correct honorifics for our guests, and our staff answer using the guests names where possible as our phone system does show the room number calling and does identify a surname. I will personally monitor the team for improvement.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

this is definately the hotel to choose if you want to be close to harbour but still close to shops and botanical gardens.Got an excellent rate with free breakfast on a booking site as it was much cheaper this way.We had a juliette balcony and the room was lovely.reccomend

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Our Melt Into Winter special was very good value and only lasts till the end of August, but we have a Spring offering soon on our website - for specific nights which is also very attractive. Saturdays are booked out weeks in advance, but Sundays are always the least expensive.

So many guests love our little balconies - which all of our deluxe rooms have. The description Juliette is very apt - one can imagine Romeo on Macquarie Street - though many guests just enjoy the floor length window doors - for the view - mostly of the trees, but from higher rooms glimpses of the harbour and even the Opera House sails.

Over 8.2 million people visit the Opera House every year - which is only 5 minutes walk down the street - this iconic world heritage site does a tour every half hour 263 days a year and quite frankly the tours are absolutely worth it. There is a back stage tour which for theatre lovers is a really authentic experience.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our third stay and our second visit for our anniversary. We have always felt so very welcome and special here and would recommend anyone to visit.

After 20+ years in hospitality this hotel is, to me, what encapsulates the what the industry is all about. The hotel is full of professional hosts, ambience, quality, attention to detail and elegance. It is a true experience

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Very high praise, gratefully accepted from an industry colleague.
From all our dedicated team - from our seamstress to the Chef, we thank you.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We Stayed at Sir Stamford for my Special Birthday Celebration and outstanding doesn’t seem to adequately express our experience. The Concierge and all staff were the most friendly and professional we have ever experienced in our travels. The room was quiet, very large with two double beds which were very comfy and French doors leading to a balcony. The room included a huge separate bathroom, shower, bath and toilet. The elegant, antique decor, original artworks, crystal chandeliers, fireplace and general ambience was so welcoming and made the experience so much more than you would find in other modern 5 star hotels.
The Resident mascot “Maurice” the wombat was a great twist. Location is brilliant, walking distance to Opera House, The Rocks, Botanic Gardens ,Circular Quay & CBD. On my birthday complimentary Champage arrived from the hotel, my daughter rang from Perth to organise a delivery of gold leafed chocolate coated strawberries to the room and commented on how friendly and helpful the staff were. We went to Tetsuyas for dinner and everything went like clockwork, nothing was too much trouble for the Concierge who organised a taxi in a heartbeat. I can recommend indulging in the timeless tradition of High Tea at the Sir Stamford Bar, elegant decadence at its best. Talk about “putting on the Ritz”, an unforgettable experience for any age.
Having spent a long time on Tripadvisor prior to my visit researching Sydney hotels and considering 4 other 5 star hotels we are so happy we chose The Sir Stamford.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Valuable Guests

It is wonderful to receive such glowing feedback, which no doubt was due to your entire Sydney experience being so favaourable - Sydney is itself the Jewel in the Crown of Australian cities. The internet has provided such a valuable tool for travellers to research for themselves the perfect match for their needs and style, their budget and their personal preferences and indeed feedback like yours is becoming more prevalent. Sir Stamford staff work tirelessly to provide effortless service with a sense of purpose, helpfulness and friendliness - right down to our mascot young Morris the Wombat - dedicated to 24 hour service in and around the lobby, breakfast, The Bar and The Dining Room. He assists with weddings, conferences and High Teas and of course is very obliging when photo opportunities present themselves.

Kind regards and Happy Birthday - we hope you return next year to celebrate.
Heather idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

You can judge a hotel by a website, or by TripAdvisor, but the 'feeling' of a hotel is the unknown X factor. For us, Sir Stamford's serene ambience makes it the number one city hotel we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is stunning; dripping with chandeliers and antiques with a fascinating provenance, but add to that warm, attentive staff, HUGE rooms, a log fire and the best bar in Sydney and you get the idea.

We decided to stay at Sir Stamford pre and post cruise with our children to take in the city from a great location (you can even walk with luggage from Circular Quay - about 3 minutes). With amazing winter rates we not only stayed in sheer elegance, but enjoyed outstanding room service in the evenings on two occasions. Dining-in was no different in cost from any of the surrounding bars and restaurants, except expect a linen covered trolley arriving with fresh flowers and silverware. It allowed us to dine in peace overlooking the park and even the Opera House. We loved it and the food was perfect for us all.

Our favourite moment though was the coffee after dinner downstairs in the lobby next to the open fire. It was always quiet and cosy, and with free wifi, we caught up with emails, then spent family time chatting over the day's events with the kids while they supped on hot chocolates.

I called this review 'Elegance meets serenity' because that is exactly what the Sir Stamford delivers. It is a hotel where I suggest you build in some 'hotel time' to relax and enjoy splendour on an exceptional scale.

Thanks to Sir Stamford our busy time sightseeing in Sydney was made forever memorable, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the higher rooms with special views. Ask the lovely staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Cruise Guests

We love your review title, it's so evocative of the general demeanour of the hotel and the team. Our marketing people will be sure to use your by line. Winter winds and chills are very quickly whisked away when future guests do as you did - take time to sit in front of the fire in either the Lobby or The Bar.

Room service is the perfect experience when travelling with children or young teens, and our menu is not "over the top". Being able to watch a movie and relax without the delays of a dining room is sometimes the best solution for children after a busy day at Madame Tussards (yes Sydney has an excellent new museum!) or even after a matinee performance of Dora The Explorer (currently showing at Theatre Royale).

Some families choose to take 2 separate but adjoining rooms, and others choose the Twin room option as they are spacious and have 2 double beds - it depends on the family arrangements, sizes and of course budgets. We make them all welcome, and just add the extra room amenities with our compliments (towels/cups/toiletries etc).

Thank you for your lovely review and we do hope you cruise was just as delightul as your stay with us.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had a brief lay over day room stay at the hotel in June. Torrential rain, flooding everywhere on the roads and 100 km an hour winds which I reluctantly had to fly out in to. But it was great to snuggle inside the hotel by the open fire during this uncharacteristic Sydney weather. The location was fantastic - the opera house, the rocks, botanic gardens were all in easy reach when venturing out between the showers. Ladies try the high tea in the dining room. Very chic.

Room Tip: Alas only had a short while to rest before the flight but the suite was huge and worth the splurge i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Your review is s great reminder that Sir Stamford offers Day Use rooms for Day Travellers - a great facility for guests on late flights home. Day use charges are normally 50% of the nightly rate of the day depending on requirments.

Our beautiful Italian Sarancolin marble fireplace in the lobby with its arched front and column sides is a stunning frame for a winter fire. It's the perfect spot to catch up on emails (free broadband) or take tea.

There are often matinee shows, plays and performances at the Opera House or The Con across from the hotel, so there is much that can be done even on a wintry rainy day in Sydney. Thank yo so much for your review.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $215 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing