We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Costly Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sydney is very costly compared to England, but the Sheraton on the park is the dearest food I have ever had in a hotel. It cost $42 for a normal breakfast and $70 for a average buffet. The best price was for a 1Ltr of water in the room $9 !!!!

Room Tip: Don't use the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Alan R,
Thank you for your review, we continuously benchmark ourselves in line with all other Sydney CBD 5 Star Hotels, as we endeavour to ensure we not only match but exceed the offerings of our competitors. With this in mind, I have taken your constructive feedback on board. And hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 4,045 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

I returned on vacation this trip and only for a little business. We had several rooms reserved and they had them all in good locations and close to each other as requested. 1 Room was ready so we could all utilize the safe deposit box upon arrival. For this we were very thankful and they said they knew we were coming. Great customer service for a 400+ room hotel.

Rooms are beautiful, black bathrooms and comfy beds with beautiful views over the park IF you are willing to pay for it. For us, very worth it. Rooms are showing some wear however are kept in top shape and very clean. All requests for extra shampoo and towels were noted and carried out throughout our stay. Very happy with this.

Location remains fabulous right across from Hyde Park. We enjoyed the cafe in the park right across the street for lunch or a cappuccino stop. We walked through the botanical gardens to the opera house and enjoyed the views. Did I mention the hotel is one block away from the CBD shopping district with shopping malls and cafes and high end food courts within two blocks! Also Queen Victoria Shopping center from the 1800's in original form is only 5 blocks away. Excellent location.

We booked club level rooms and are always impressed with the quality of the service and food on offer. Great Merlot in the evenings for 2.5 hours with hot buffet and smoked salmon or oysters.....very very spoiling!!!! And then we went out for dinner! Another loop on the belt ;)

I have now stayed here several times and find this place to be my ultimate go-to in Sydney. I have tried them all and this one continues to impress me. That said, everyone else knows this so book early if you are considering because the hotel was full almost every night of our 1 week stay.

Safe travels to al! NYC

Room Tip: Park view all the way...the sunlight and green makes for a happy stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear NYCshopper,
We appreciate your loyalty and patronage to Sheraton on the Park and for the time you have taken to provide your thorough review. I note you are an extensive traveler and greatly value your feedback. It is such an honor to read your comments and look forward to being of continued service to you in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here after our engagement that day. The hotel staff went above and beyond. Room upgrade, complimentary sparkling and late check out. WOW!

We were impressed with the facilities of the hotel, the location and the wonderful staff.

Our room was beautiful overlooking hyde park. The buffet breakfast downstairs @ Feast was exceptional with a huge variety of choices.

Overall, it was perfect to compliment our perfect weekend- Thankyou Sheraton On the Park!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinMaree85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear RinMaree85,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on what was such a special and memorable occasion. Im delighted to read you both had an amazing time with us look forward to your return for many more anniversaries to come!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great hotel in good central location. Booked room with executive club access, was upgraded to Park view room and upgraded breakfast for full buffet in restaurant. Great spacious room with wonderful outlook onto park, easy back access to Westfield and David Jones makes it a great spot to do your shopping. On weekend the afternoon tea in executive club and drinks before dinner make it an attractive option.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mnovy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear mnovy41,
Im delighted to receive your 5 Star rating and greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post your review on Tripadvisor. Im pleased we were able to upgraded your room and breakfast and that you enjoyed our Sheraton Club Lounge inclusions. We look forward to your return soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed as a couple for one night only and thoroughly enjoyed the park view room, which was spacious, clean and very well equipped with an excellent sized bathroom. Car parking in the underground car park was easy enough and the check in/out process as expected was efficient.

The park view room afforded a very relaxing view, and being early risers, we thoroughly enjoyed the sunrise. The only slight negative is that a little street noise does intrude.

Breakfast was as you'd expect, buffet style, but provided for every taste with an wide range of 'European' and 'Asian' dishes to choose from. Perhaps better coffee than from a thermos jug on the table would be an improvement.

I'd have have given an excellent rating apart from the fact that room Wifi is chargeable !! When are luxury hotels ( read expensive) going to realise that this is totally counter productive ?

Having said that, an hours free internet access is provided via the Public PC's in the reception area, which allowed an on line flight check in etc.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear JoeCBansteadUK,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for an overnight stay and appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback which I have taken on board. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels return you to our shores.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Fortunate to have travelled to Sydney a number of times on business. Have always stayed at this hotel in Sydney primarily due to it's location, which is central. Hotel is opposite Hyde Park and close to public transport, although plenty of taxis available ot get around.
Rooms are spacy and comfortable, food is good quality, although breakfast a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear P K,
Thank you for always returning to the Sheraton on the Park and Im so pleased we meet your expectations and hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed in a suite in this beautiful hotel in Sydney.The management and staff were very friendly cordial and helpful which helped to make our stay to be even more enjoyable.The only sore point was that it was not very close to the shopping/entertainment areas and restaurants.Besides its location it was excellent in every other way. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNILDASWANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear SUNILDASWANEY,
Thank you so much for your recommendation and taking the time to post your 5 Star Rating review. It does surprise me to read your comments relating to our location as the majority of our guests state this is the sole reason they choose Sheraton on the Park, we are right in the heart of Sydney!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#36 of 182 in Sydney
3,365 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 182 in Sydney
4,704 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 182 in Sydney
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 182 in Sydney
1,454 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#16 of 182 in Sydney
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $187 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing