We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, restful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel, restful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is located in the inner city of Sydney, opposite Central Park. It is a charming hotel, with gracious and attentive personnel who made me feel welcome. Check in was efficient. My room was located on the 12th floor, and was presented as a "city view" room. It was a spacious room, with windows on two sides, a great working desk, tasteful decor, a small sofa and spacious bathroom. It was a great room. "City view" is quite misleading - peering into open offices a few meters away was not quite the city view that I anticipated. If you want the city view, do check out the room before hand. The hotel has both an Elizabeth Street and Castlereagh Street entrance, which made quick access to Pitt Street shopping mall and all the buzz of the inner city. The bed is extremely comfortable. My room cost included Internet and breakfast as well. Breakfast was excellent. An abundant supply of fresh and hot foods, pastries and fresh fruits. I brought a guest to breakfast. $42 for a breakfast is pretty steep, however. It wasn't as if you were getting individually prepared food from a menu - it was from the buffet selection, so that is my only criticism of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go check it out!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller08901,
I appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park, especially as you are a Top Contributor to Tripadvisor. Our location, centred right in the middle of Sydney CBD, is ideal for travellers wanting to explore all that Sydney has to offer. Additionally, please note for future stays our guest rooms are categorised as “City Side” and not “City View” however our apologies for your disappointment and we hope to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the near future.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    1,047
    277
    130
    131
See reviews for
510
1,268
293
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated, opposite Hyde Park and next to the shopping area in central Sydney. The room was a good size. They kindly accommodated us with an early check in and a late check out. Staff were very courteous and provided excellent service. Fantastic Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear welcometotheshow,
Sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for your 5 star rating!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this property the day before my arrival due to a "not so pleasant" stay at another Syndey property. The staff at the Sheraton was fantastic from the moment I arrived. I checked in very early and was accommodated in a beautiful, spacious room with an incredible bathroom! After my previous hotel the night before, I felt like I died and went to heaven. The buffet breakfast was incredible...get it in a package if you can. The staff was fantastic and the location perfect.

Room Tip: I did not get the park view, and wish that I had. It's so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowmass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Woodrun,
I’m so pleased to note we managed to make your stay in Sydney a delight. Our package deals are definitely popular as is our full buffet breakfast in Feast!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Sheraton on the Park in Sydney is a nice, though expensive hotel. The entrance is classic with a large sweeping staircase. My check-in was quick and efficient and more formal than friendly. My room was large, well appointed with a good working area, big closet, and sitting area. I had a large flat screen TV (a little cumbersome to operate) with a good, though not great, array of channels, three telephones, and big, comfortable bed with good thread-count sheets and lots of pillows. The bathroom sported both a tub and good size shower, all in marble and tile, with the standard Sheraton 4-bottle amenities, and a good collection of towels. Because I am an SPG member, I received a welcome plate of fruit (no matter how long you stay it will never be replenished), so make sure you join before you book. My view was of the tops of the adjacent buildings.

There are several downsides. The in-room coffee service had terrible powdered coffee (good thing I brought my own Starbucks), housekeeping was a little off, I could hear my neighbors a little more than I would have liked, and the internet was very expensive. The restaurant wants you to choose the buffet, but at $100 (with wine) for dinner, it is good but, as is everything in Australia, very expensive. Most annoying, when I checked out, I found over $150 in charges on my bill that should not have been there, so make sure you check.

The hotel is well located, and if you are a walker, you will find it very convenient to Sydney harbor (20 minutes), Darling Harbor (15 minutes), QVB (5 minutes), and surrounded by all of the recognizable up-scale shops. It is directly across from the St. James subway station (take the Elizabeth St. exit) and the train is less than 30 minutes, $16.70, from the airport station. Sydney is a wonderful city and you will like your stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Flyguy Austin,
I appreciate you taking the time to thoroughly review your stay at the Sheraton on the Park. As an extensive traveller I note your ability to notice all the finer details and appreciate your feedback. My apologies for the several shortfalls you have outlined and rest assured I will be sure to forward your comments to our Management Team for review and improvement.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
I adore Sheraton on the Park. I have stayed before and it is consistently excellent in every way. A very friendly efficient check in was followed by an easy trip to our room and then drinks and canapes in the lounge. Our room was spacious with some character features and a comfortable sofa and desk. I particularly adored the framed wall print next to my bed in room 1416 featuring Mulberry congo leather, a Louis Vuitton notebook, a Fendi bag, a Hermes bag and Burberry wallpaper - so clever. I wish I could buy it so if management is reading this let me know where I can purchase that little framed print. The king bed is superbly comfortable and the two pillows per person are very good (a hard foam and a soft goose down pillow). The black marble bathroom is spacious and I cannot fault it. The toiletries are good quality. We particularly appreciated the use of the SPG lounge and thought it wonderful with excellent service and ambience. Internet is free in the lounge and available at a cost in the room and although at a price of $20 per 24 hours, is fast and efficient in the room. The hotel is located so conveniently to shops such as David Jones and Hermes and is opposite Hyde Park. We had lovely views of the park from our room.
Improvements would be more space to open the new suitcases that open right out and are double sided as there is only one space for a suitcase in the room and it was too small for us to use the space efficiently.
I would definitely stay again and I can't wait until I stay again as I highly recommend this Sheraton accommodation.

Room Tip: a view of the park is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear tripping-traveller,
I’m so delighted to read your wonderful review of the Sheraton on the Park and honoured to be part of the wonderful Team we have here. Thank you for your detailed review and loyalty to our hotel and your kind words.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

with apologies to the bard. Maybe I get up too early and look for my coffee hit but staying on the club floor I expected to get that hit at the club maybe from 630?? Not open until 7 !! no nearby early morning coffee vendors, eventually settled on the 1st floor bar - great coffee but pricey.
This hotel has wonderful expansive rooms with a genuine blackout blind making a sleep in possible. The club has a wonderful view and is well appointed but was very busy during my stay with three business colleagues; we had trouble being able to sit together.
Having said that service at the club was very, very good
Not cheap but good

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times and never had a bad room from a nosie or any other perspective
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Nick G,
Thank you for your return stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your valuable feedback, which we have taken on board.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at 3 other Sydney hotels on this same trip and it was amazing just how much better the Sheraton was than the others!

The rooms are really nice - good size and pleasant decor, but I think it was the very effective but unobtrusive air conditioning that maybe made the biggest difference.

I first stayed here 18 years ago but for someone reason have used other Sydney 5 stars on recent trips. Have to conclude now that this is overall my favourite of the 5 I've trid in the last 9 months.

Perfect service, great location, nice bar and restaurant.

Good gym and opening hours!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JohnDougall,
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am honoured to receive such great feedback and hope to be of continued service to you in the near future.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing