We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in late march for one night. The presentation of the hotel is immediately reassuring and the service at check in was excellent as was the valet service. Room was very nice and bed extremely comfortable. Big bathroom with seperate shower, unlike the stupid arrangement at the Sofitel which sees the floor soaked. If you like to shop, this place is so close to a million shops and not too far from all the sights. Would absolutely stay here again. Unfortunatley did not get to test out the restaurant but there's always next time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Newcastle Highway,
Thank you for your kind words. We love our location with Pitt Street mall & so many other fabulous stores surrounding! Looking forward to welcoming you back – you must try Feast, it is sensational!

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    1,053
    282
    135
    135
See reviews for
515
1,287
294
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed here for business and for dirty weekends. Its always been a good property in my view, and I travel a lot .

They do a great buffet breakfast, which is attacked with vigour on Sunday mornings by couples who have ovbiously had a romantic night staying over on saturday night. And why not, its well located, the lobby and attached coffee lounge are good. The bar is ok, but there are plenty of good bars and attractions in Sydney.

Given that the world is moving to Asia, and all the money with it, the hotels there are much better as you would expect than in sleepy old Sydney, and cheaper - the Austalian Federal and State governments have clearly screwed it up for Australians ,who with 0.3% of the worlds population in total have , in Sydney, the worlds third most expensive real estate in the world after Tokyo and Osaka, but without the income made by people in other first world countries. God help their children, most of whom I assume will need to emmigrate to make a life for themsleves, and maybe come back and stay at this hotel on holiday in the future. I'm sure as a Sheraton, it'll be good.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room, high up from the street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear uPelican
Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your many experiences here at Sheraton on the Park am sure other prospective guests will benefit greatly.

Kind Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms were nice and spacious. Everything was as expected. The reception was average, said our room was not ready and tried to get us to pay for an upgrade,but when we got into the room there was dust in some areas as though it hadn't been stayed in for a couple of days. Overall the position and facilities were good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Barny21
I am so glad you enjoyed your room here at Sheraton on the Park. We appreciate your feedback and apologise for the issue you had with your room. I have reviewed these with my team and we have changed the processes to ensure this does not reoccur. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fab location with 3 train stations within a couple of minutes walk. Rooms lovely and cleaned well, staff very professional and very helpful. Only 2 things let it down though. The "heated" pool is actually freezing cold and despite having the do not disturb sign on the door I was phoned twice to be asked what time the cleaners could come and clean the room, even though they had already put two notes under the door to call them if I wanted the room cleaned. However, that didn't detract too much from my enjoyable stay at the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbury321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear WIlbury321
We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay! Apologies for your disturbances with housekeeping. Let us assure you that this does not comply with our service standard. We hope to welcome you back with warmth and hospitality in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I travel on business to Sydney often. I tried for a change the Sheraton on the Park. I usually stay at the Westin, Martin Place. I will check out and move back to the Westin

- good location, central, on the park. rooms are fine & clean. However:
- rooms are noisy: coming off a plane with jetlag - the last thing you need is an interrupted sleep due to noise. the rooms here have very thin walls: door slamming in the hallway; talking next door; even the hoover by the cleaners in the room next to mine was very loud
- the bar is also very loud - bad 80s music to a volume that makes it hard to talk, read, relax. Billy Joel etc.
- little things: staff are generally very kind and helpful but don't seem to know too well what they are doing. 'what is the wifi password? how do I get from here to there? etc. they seem very inexperienced / junior by and large.

the Westin is a much slicker operation in my view. perhaps this hotel is not catering to me but rather for weekend tourists / bus tours etc. They seem to be broadly the same price. So I will opt for the other in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Alexmews,
Thank you for taking the time to review Sheraton on the Park Sydney. I apologise for the inconveniences caused and will ensure with my team we strive to improve next time around.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We regularly spend a night or weekend in Sydney and tend to stay in 5 star hotels as noted in some of my other reviews. We booked this through wotif and were very happy with our room (overlooking the park), the car parking (which can be an expensive nightmare in Sydney) and the overall quality of the hotel. Even though our room was reasonably standard it was noticeably bigger than others we have had at the Hilton or Sir Stamford. Staff were pleasant, efficient and nothing was a hassle.
This would be an ideal place to stay if you came to Sydney for a weekend of shopping - after a few hours you can easily retreat to the hotel and return later in the day if it suits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Greg C,
I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here. The view over Hyde Park is majestic! Sydney is a fabulous city with so much to offer, and we are happy we made your stay relaxed. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an excellent hotel right in the heart of downtown Sydney. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We were able to walk to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was the best this side of heaven and the restaurant staff was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Audrey G,
I was so pleased to read your wonderful review, thank you for your kind words! I am proud to represent such a great hotel, working amongst fantastic associates! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing