We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stay regularly at the Sheraton on the Park when visiting Sydney for business. It really is a fantastic hotel, and if you're lucky enough to be able to use the executive lounge on the 21st floor, all the better!

The rooms are spacious and light. I can't recall a time I have been unhappy with my room at this hotel. It is right across the road from parkland, and St James Station, where you can get a train to the airport in around 15 minutes. There is a great walk path, that is accessed across the road, up past the Art Gallery of NSW (5 minute walk) and then right around the waterfront past the Opera House and back up to the Sheraton - takes around an hour and is a stunning way to start the day.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful and typical of an Australian 5-star buffet. No, actually it is better than many.

I highly recommend this hotel, but it will depend on what you are in Sydny for and where you need to be. This location suits me for most of my visits.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank aussie_traveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear aussie_traveller55,
Thank you for your patronage and loyalty to the Sheraton on the Park and for your wonderful feedback. It is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours and for the recommendation we thank you!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,032
    1,046
    275
    130
    131
See reviews for
509
1,267
292
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a favourite of ours and I have never previously written a review on it before, but given i was a little disappointed in something this time around and when I brought it to the staffs attention and it didn't appear to be taken with much credence I thought that I would get Managements attention this way.

This hotel is one of Sydney's best. It's location is perfect for so many things. Only a short walk down to the quay, a one minute walk to the main shopping spots, beautiful Hyde park directly across the road, everything just so close.
There is warm and welcoming staff right throughout the hotel. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, despite getting a little older now.

This visit was the first time we have used the club lounge access. Upon arrival we thought that we would access the lounge to have a cup of tea to refresh but were turned away advising that we could only use the facilities between 5-7pm and for breakfast from 7-10am. Having used this service in the Hyatt hotels throughout the world, we had not encountered this before and were disappointed. We just wanted a quiet place to sit, refresh and were told we couldn't. That aside, when we did come come back at 5, there was a lovely selection of food and drinks to choose from and good service. Breakfast was also good the next morning, with plenty of choice to start the day with. I think it is good value for money to upgrade to the club if you are considering it.

What was disappointing this time was that it became clear to us that our room had not been serviced properly prior to our arrival as the evening of our first night I noticed something on the floor by the toilet and upon investigation I discovered it was two soiled sanitary napkins, left on the floor by the base of the toilet. This made me think that the toilet had not been cleaned at all since the previous guest otherwise these would have been found. I found this disappointing for a high end hotel. When I alerted desk staff to this they didn't really seem to care which was also disappointing. I put the napkins in the bin and then some 7-8 hours later a staff member came to refresh the room. Too little too late I thought.

All this aside, I would still highly recommend this hotel to anyone. hopefully my glitch was a rare error and I hope to not find this again for a very long time.

Enjoy all that this great hotel has to offer. I know we will be back again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMontereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Owner at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear LizMontereo,
I appreciate your thorough review and from the very outset I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the disappointing feedback you have provided, especially as we are your favourite hotel of choice. It is hearing constructive feedback such as yours that provides us with the opportunity to re-evaluate our products and tailor it to our guests’ preferences. I regret your concerns were not brought to my attention whilst you were still in residence, as this would have provided me the opportunity to address your issues immediately, ensuring your stay with us was both comfortable and enjoyable. Please note our Sheraton Club Lounge trading hours are 7am through to 9pm and I greatly apologize for the miscommunication that has occurred. Regarding the cleanliness of your room, this is our absolute focus and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Rest assured this has been addressed immediately and we hope to welcome you back soon to make for this less than perfect experience.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms are very Sheraton - nice beds, some space and oldy world.

The gym is great and always has a spare bike, cross trainer etc.

The sheraton club is very good however has too much free wine for an underweight like me.

A great place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear scog1,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your positive feedback, greatly appreciated.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed twice at this hotel and it has been great both times. Lobby is comfortable and staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are particularly large and comfortable and modern. Breakfast buffet is very good. Location is central to CBD as well as a short walk to opera house and the Rocks. Club lounge upstatirs is also great. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Marc G,
Thank you for your return stay and for your loyalty to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I don't usually write reviews for big hotel brands such as Sheraton, since they usually already have a good client base and respectable reputation.

However, I stayed at this 5 star hotel on a long weekend recently to visit a friend in Sydney and was extrmely happy.

Travelling with my partner, we found the room we stayed in to be very big, with a huge beautiful bathroom and even a walk-in wardrobe. The attention to detail is fantastic and it definitely deserves its 5 stars.

Rooftop pool and spa is also very nice, with a stunning view of Hyde Park and the CBD.

One thing that really stood out for me was the customer service. I have stayed in a few 5 star hotels where staff have been snobby and rude. But here, I was warmly greeted by reception (I think the girl's name was Lucy), who did everything they could to have a room ready for us even though we arrived early. Baggage services and even the cleaners were friendly and happy and greeted us as we walked by. It was really refreshing.

I didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but it looks exquisite and I will be sure to stay with Sheraton on the Park on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mitch P,
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and am delighted we met and exceeded all your expectations. Also, thank you for your kind words regarding the Associates we have working at the Sheraton on the Park and representing our wonderful hotel. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share with all to enjoy. Thank you!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
719 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a comfortable room that was clean and included a nice view of the park below. The workout room had everything we needed. Be sure to enjoy the view of the park from the swimming pool outdoor patio- you will have to pay for such a great view anywhere else in the city. Breakfast was amazing! Lots of choices! It was included in our hotel package, otherwise it is rather pricey. Concierge was helpful with tips for meals and could provide an umbrella. Westfield mall is just a block away. Easy walk to the harbors. Coffee and tea provided in the room. Had a great stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear alibarbaraMilwaukee,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your wonderful review. We definitely have one of the best views from our rooftop pool and Health Club. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton on the Park once your travels bring you back to Sydney.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently had the good fortune to spend a short break at this hotel. Honestly I was tempted to try another nearby, thank goodness I didn't as the Sheraton does not dissapoint. From pulling up at the front, the polite and precise porter gave instructions to the parking procedure and then the check in. At check in,(male) reception was a very clever mix of professional and friendly without overdoing it. City side room on level 8 was superb and yes a park view would have been lovely but we enjoyed it over a beautiful breakfast.Superbly cooked poached egg and my husband was very impressed with his omlette,and that is impressive in itself. Spoilt for choices at every turn for all other breakfast items. Heaven is where your at in that bathroom, and truly I did not fret having no window. So wonderful in its location, a hop, skip or jump to everything that Sydney has to offer, and we are not really tourists. It was so easy to go out, even in the horrible weather, but more fun to feel snug warm and pampered in our bed with your red wine and chocolate.This hotel has a great vibe and the staff are are a huge contributing factor. Yes it has lovely decor and position and that counts for a hell of a lot. Sad to leave.

Room Tip: do spend more for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roswg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear roswg18,
Such a fantastic review of your birthday stay at the Sheraton on the Park. Thank you for taking the time to post your review for all the view and enjoy and we hope to welcome you back soon to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing