We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Almost the perfect hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #28 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost the perfect hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at the sheraton the park as part of our daughters bridal party , my husband and I were upgraded to an executive suite with harbour views. The views were astonishing looking down Sydney harbour and out through the heads , the best part was the inclusive access to the club lounge with fantastic canapes,drinks,views and excellent service . Overall the staff couldn't be more helpful with one important exception the reservation service. It was very hard to book in , with numerous phone calls and emails , conversations in broken English , misunderstandings as to whether we had paid , receipts , etc, eventually Brian the manager sorted it all out and we were thrilled with our upgrade , if they can get the reception and booking area fixed it would be the perfect 10

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Chris B,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. It is disappointing to note the difficulty you experienced throughout the reservation process, I appreciate your feedback as this will be addressed immediately. I assure you that it is our committment to meet every possible expectation of our guests however I am pleased this special occasion was a memorable one for all the right reasons!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    931
    242
    116
    107
See reviews for
431
1,120
260
934
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton on the Park while in Sydney on business travel. The rooms are very large with nice amenities for business travel (plenty of outlets near the bed and desk), and provided a quiet and dark night of sleep for battling my jet lag. The location is great- very centrally located, close to trains, shopping and walking distance to the gorgeous botanical garden and Opera House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear mcgoldrd,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park. I am pleased we were able to meet all your expectations and make your stay that little bit more comfortable from such a long flight to Australia! We look forward to your return in the near future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights in Sydney. The location across the street from Hyde Park is convenient for sightseeing and getting around town. The rooms are clean, stylish, and quite spacious, and the staff is very professional and courteous. The breakfast buffet is awesome. Would definitely stay here again if I were lucky enough to return to Sydney!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluckita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Gluckita,
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation of our hotel. I am pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sydney and the Sheraton on the Park in the near future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having stayed here a number of times in the past few years, I can safely say that the service is consistently brilliant. Rooms are big & spacious as are the bathrooms. Food is delicious & better then most hotel food. Well situated on Hyde Park & definitely stylish.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Michael B,
I appreciate your loyalty, patronage and review of our hotel and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Generally, I was quite happy with this Sheraton. The location is good – fronting Hyde Park – and the staff very professional and attentive. Check-in, check-out are smooth and the rooms are well appointed.

My single complaint is with the hotel car service offered by the hotel concierge. I was heading to a restaurant in Glebe – only a few kilometres away – and as I did not want to take a taxi of the street or the hotel taxi rank, I asked the Concierge if he could call one of the “limousine” drivers that frequent the City and the hotels. Visitors need to understand that these cars are not unlicensed mini-cabs or private cars. They are all plated in New South Wales with “HC-xyz” number/registration plates. As is the case in Melbourne or other Australian cities, they charge somewhat more than a regular taxi.

Well, I told the Concierge I need to leave soon and had two guests with me. He called a driver and quoted… wait for it A$125 for the trip!! Now to put that into perspective, after telling the Concierge that the quote was unbelievable outrageous, I took a regular taxi and paid A$15.00. For the return journey, I called a limousine driver directly and he charged me A$40.00 (which is what I would have expected).

Pity the poor tourist or business visitor who might think that the $125 fee is standard in Sydney. Pity the city’s poor tourism industry when visitors think the city is outrageously expensive.

Of course the hotel may respond with something like…. “We only offer a premium service to our guests” Well, they are all HC-plated cars and they are generally all the same. No one is going to turn up in a Rolls Royce or a Maybach!

Room Tip: Face the Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afxdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear afxdes,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused in regards to our Hire Care Service. Due to this service being offered by a third party we are unable to negotiate on the rate however always offer our guests several options for them to choose from. Our apologies this option was not suitable for you. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything is 1. class at this hotel - which we also would expect considering the pricing. However, we find it annoying to charge the guest several dollars per half hour for WiFi in the room.
The room was large and very comfortable.
The view over the park and harbor was perfect.
The climate was perfect (it was +42 deg C outside).
The service was good.
The location is perfect - only 2 min walk from the metro with direct connection to the airport.

Room Tip: A room with view over the park (and the harbor) is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JQNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear JQNI,
Thank you for your review and appreciate you choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park. We look forward to your return visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here late November, 2012 after returning from the US. Great way to break the trip after a fifteen hour flight from Los Angeles. We booked a club room for a great rate - $360. We arrived at the hotel late morning, but were given access to the Sheraton Club, with keys being delivered about half an hour later. The Sheraton Club is well run, and the service was impeccable in the evening for drinks. The standard of food and both the variety and quantity is exceptional. My partner and I did not need dinner after the two hour 'happy hour'. The 'light continental' breakfast in the morning is much more than that, with hot food available. Our room was comfortable, quiet, great amenities, and we will certainly stay here again when in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Deanten,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park after your long flight from the USA. Indeed a good idea to stay overnight before heading back home and I appreciate your fantastic feedback. We hope to be of service to you during your next travels.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,773 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,486 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing