We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYE 2012 Base!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great NYE 2012 Base!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This property was right on the "central" park of Sydney. While a short walk or free shuttle bus to the harbor it was well placed to the shopping, Darling Harbor, the monorail, double decker tour bus route. We initially booked this hotel with concern that it was a hike to the harbor. We ended up very pleased we chose this location as it was much quieter and was much more centrally located. Had we stayed in the main harbor area we probably would have seen fewer attractions because while close to many attractions the Harbor is not central to all the key areas. The staff was very friendly and interested in our having a successful trip. The room was furnished with everything you would expect... the bed was comfortable, bathroom was both clean and well appointed. TV was well stocked with local and international content. In room internet worked flawlessly and quickly. see our photos.... this was a great choice for our NYE.

Room Tip: City view room was just fine... we sleep in our room... we are not the type to hang out and enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear megreedy,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your New Years celebrations! Im so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your start to 2013 was both comfortable and memorable. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future when your travels bring you back to Sydney.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    1,067
    287
    136
    136
See reviews for
524
1,298
300
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for Christmas celebrations and plans to hit the Boxing day sales to take him shopping for his birthday.

Did not have a good start....our terrace suite was lovely with a fabulous view of Hyde Park.... and a Port-a-Loo right under our noses in the construction site next door. Thankfully it was a public holiday - otherwise I'm sure we would have heard and smelt the 'business' going on in the loo - it was that close! (Perhaps that's why we were paying a special rate of $599 per night for the suite?!)

So we complained and asked for another room - only to be told that 'we're sorry but we have no other suites available but will advise the manager of your complaint'. So we closed the balcony doors and the curtain with the view of the Portaloo and tried to make the best of it - thinking 'big hotel...so we're likely to be forgotten".

We didn't hear anything from management that Christmas day....but the next day we heard from the duty manager Steven - who kindly upgraded us to a Hyde Park suite for the 2nd night. This very spacious suite was perfectly located - away from the Portaloo - so that we could enjoy the view over Hyde Park and beyond to the Sydney Harbour heads - and watch the start of the Sydney to Hobart yacht race!

We were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade - given that the hotel is such a large enterprise. However they would be well advised not to place their customers (especially their SPGs) in rooms with a good sniff of a portaloo! Perhaps they need to have a word with the construction site manager next door and ask them to move the loo?

As a segue comment - we were invited to inspect the Hyde Park suite prior to making a commitment to move and upgrade (which was very much appreciated). We were warned that the suite had yet to be cleaned ....Well! We witnessed a disgusting filth that the previous guests left behind. These 'people' had presumably paid over $1K per night for their suite - and they left a dirty nappy on the floor next to the dining table, sugar and lollies thrown over the main counter, chocolate on the carpet and it goes on...I didn't look too hard in the other rooms after the initial impression! We were reassured by the manager that the mess would be cleared up for us - and their room cleaning staff did an excellent job! Bravo! There was no hint of the smells or refuse left behind by the previous 'guests'. It was immaculate. So job well done Sheraton people....and we really feel for what you have to deal with from some 'guests'.

Other than the room issue, we enjoyed an excellent Christmas dinner buffet at their restaurant "Feast". Possibly one of the best buffets in Sydney CBD - and judging by the booked out restaurant, a lot of people agree. Service was also excellent - cheerful staff, excellent service and good advice available when needed.

Our in room dining experience was also very good - reasonable menu choice, very short waiting time and good quality delivery.

The club lounge was ok - adequate variety of food for breakfast; reasonable selection for pre-dinner canapes. Table clean up after departing guests seemed a bit slow i.e. hard to find a clean table to sit at on 3 occasions.

If you're planning to do some shopping in the Sydney CBD - then this hotel is perfectly located, plus you have the option of a pleasant view. Walk down the back stairs and you're a step away from the retail hub. After our boxing day shopping experience, however, unless you're built like a rugby front rower or enjoy pushing in and 'sharking' queues, we strongly advise you to stay clear of boxing day sales. The day after was remarkably quieter and more civilized - with ample choice of product still available.

So we were really impressed with the staff that are running this hotel - our rooms were very comfortably furnished, beds were super comfy, rooms were impeccably clean and staff were very professional and reasonably tuned in to customer needs - with the exception of the port-a-loo debacle.

After witnessing the disgusting mess that some of your guests leave behind - I think Sheraton needs to have a guest 'welcome priority list' in place. If the disgusting, filthy guests return...put them in the suite with the portaloo next door....the piggies won't notice it's there!

Room Tip: Do not request terrace suite 1709 in the near future - construction site port-a-loo next to the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear RnR_Report,
Thank you for your thorough review of your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. My apologies the start of your Christmas stay was unsatisfactory however I am pleased we were able to accommodate you in a more suitable guest room for the duration of your stay. Our Christmas dinner buffet in Feast is definitely a very popular choice for the festive season celebrations with family and friends and im pleased you also enjoyed the offerings. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back for a more relaxing stay in the near future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We usually stay at the Sheraton on the Park for business trips to Sydney and find the service and facilities to be consistently outstanding from the time we arrive ( thanks Tedley) until the time we leave. We have stayed in many different rooms from city view to terrace suites and while the room size & facilities vary , all rooms are comfortable , clean and well serviced with good beds & lovely bathrooms.
The executive club lounge is getting increasingly crowded but the staff led by Jodie and including Sol, Linda Sylvia Gina & Manoj always provide us with outstanding service. The location near the major shops means there is always time for a little retail therapy & the view over the park & harbour is just lovely.

Room Tip: Request a park view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdandpuss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear birdandpuss2011,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and also for your loyalty and patronage to the Sheraton on the Park. I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our associates and will be sure to pass on your feedback in recognition of their outstanding service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have again spent several days at Sheraton on the Park and it really is the best choice in Sydney. First off I have stayed at the Westin, Four Seasons, Mariott Circular Quay, and the Hilton-so I consider mine a fairly well informed opinion

Location wise its tough to beat, you have Hyde Park across the street and the best shopping corner in Sydney right behind the hotel. Very easy to get anywhere you want from here.

Views from the Hyde Park side on the higher floors look all the way out to the ocean, lower floor city views-have no view.

The hotel is modern, rooms are large, bathrooms are cavernous and all marble. Security wise you need a key to select any of the floors so you should feel very safe here.

Restaurant is pretty much a big buffet every nite, seafood specialities are great and you should try at least once while you are here. I usually advise eating outside of the hotel, for Sheraton on the Park, eat in at least one night

Staff is great, helpful-cant say enough about this very top tier hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear WorldTravelRod,
I’m so pleased to note that we exceed your expectations and that you rate us so highly. With 99 reviews in 40 cities I am very flattered by your comments and greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your loyalty and patronage to us and we look forward to being of service to you once again.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms are decent size and very clean. Typical sheraton hotel. Service was good and staff very friendly. Would rather stay closer to the harbour next time, more to see and do than where this hotel is located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For a Christmas break we went to Sydney, and chose to stay at the Sheraton on the Park. This was our fifth visit to Sydney but the first time we stayed at the Sheraton.
The hotel is very nice, with a grand entrance, and seemed very clean and well maintained. The reception staff were very helpful and professional, as well. We had a drink in the Conservatory Bar and a light lunch in the lobby tea room, with great service and product in both places.
We chose this hotel for a couple of reasons, including the location, which is right across from Hyde Park and within easy walking distance of the shops, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and a wide range of restaurants.
Our room was a Club King and was quite nice. It was 40 Sq.m with modern amenities and had a luxurious bathroom, and also came with club lounge access, which is another reason why we chose this type of room. The room was nice, with a very comfortable King Size bed, a seating area. We did not have a room with a view of the park, but it might be worth requesting that at the time of booking.
Unfortunately, the biggest negative of this stay was the Club Lounge. The lounge is really small and on a couple of occasions we were turned away because we couldn’t find a seat. On one evening when we happily did find an open table and were grateful for getting it, we observed the table next to us (4 seats but only 2 occupied) had only an adult and a child playing video games, and this was in the evening where it states that no children are allowed in the lounge. Paying customers were turned away because they couldn’t find a seat when this was going on, which is completely unacceptable. A later time when we were in the lounge we asked about the policy regarding the overcrowding and they claimed that if they can’t accommodate you then they will give you a voucher to go to the main Conservatory Bar on the 2nd level for free drinks and nibbles. This would have been good to know on the times we couldn’t get in, but on those occasions there were no staff around to assist us, as they were too busy restocking the hors d’oeurves and serving patrons drinks. The lounge access is something that they heavily promote on their website and on signage in the lobby, but they really can’t support the service that they are claiming to provide.
A second disappointment was the size of the swimming pool, which is unacceptable for a hotel this large. With over +550 guest rooms you would certainly expect both a large swimming pool and ample lounge space around the pool, but they are both extremely undersized for the size of the hotel. The steam room and sauna were nice and clean in the ladies changing room, but the steam room in the men’s room was closed for repairs.
Although this hotel has a great deal to offer in terms of location, cleanliness and professional staff, we just didn’t feel that is was worth what we paid and did not meet our expectations of a luxury hotel when paying to stay at an “executive level”.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear JMB,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park and thank you for your positive comments. We very much appreciate your feedback as it continually allows us the opportunity to review and improve our service and facilities. We pride ourselves on personal service and taking care of our guests and I do apologise if you feel we have not met your expectations. The Sheraton Club Lounge is recognised as Sydney’s Premier Executive Lounge and indeed the demand far exceeded our expectations and is increasing with popularity particularly over the Festive Season. As the Hotel was at full occupancy over your dates of stay, we certainly did have an increased volume of guests to our Club. As a result of this, we do operate an additional Club Lounge providing identical offerings to that of our Executive Club and this is to cater for the increased demand ensuring that the ambience, food offering and service is exceptional, creating a nice alternative to the existing Club. My apologies this was not communicated to you and rest assured this has been addressed with our Sheraton Club Manager via our on-going quality control program.
Once again thank you for your feedback which we have taken on board and noted regarding the Rooftop Pool, and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I booked here for 5 nights while catching up with Family over Christmas. The location is brilliant ..... across the road from Hyde Park, around the corner from the major Dept Stores and Shopping malls, bus out the front, 5 mins walk to the train etc. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped and the staff across the hotel facilities are friendly and knowledgable. Parking at the hotel, like most of Sydney, is expensive but the car park is roomy. Room service meals were good and the breakfast in the Club Lounge was simple and good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Roger R,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your Christmas getaway. Our location on Elizabeth Street is truly a draw card, Im so pleased to read we met your expectations and we hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#38 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing