We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful haven in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #29 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful haven in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

An excellent hotel within walking distance of CBD, Pitt St Mall and the Harbour. St James railway station is across the road under Hyde Park and the monorail is a short 5 minute walk. The rooms are large and comfortable. I would recommend paying the extra for a Hyde Park View room as these are quieter than the City side rooms with a much more pleasant outlook. The beds are like sleeping on clouds.

We were fortunate to have access to the Club Lounge and we loved it. The range of canapes changed every evening and the staff were very attentive even during the busy times. All day access was great as you can go back anytime for a quiet coffee or cold drink after sightseeing or shopping. We found it very relaxing. Evening drinks were very enjoyable and we met some interesting people. Great views over the City to the harbour at sunset. The breakfast was similar to the buffet breakfast provided downstairs and staff even catered for my dietary intolerance which was greatly appreciated.

The staff are friendly and helpful with excellent customer service. Any issues were attended to promptly and with professionalism. We felt that we had been looked after very well. We loved our stay at the Sheraton and look forward to our next visit. I would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Sydney.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for better views and to avoid street noise. Hyde Park View rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegM255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,927
    1,006
    260
    119
    117
See reviews for
477
1,200
275
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sampled another five star hotel in my home town last night, and while it wouldn't have been my choice in Sydney, it's a nice hotel with some pluses and minuses. I stayed here years ago before its latest refurbishment, so I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room fit out (it had been pretty ordinary before). The hotel is on Hyde Park on Elizabeth Street, so it's a nice end of town - close to the lovely department store David Jones and the shopping epicentre of the city. I had stayed on a lower level before, so I was very happy to get a higher floor and a lovely view across the figs of the Park to St Andrews Cathedral (lit at night) and during the day you can see a bit of the harbour and east to the Heads. It's worth the effort to insist on a higher floor and a view of the park.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom fine. The airconditioning seemed a little warm and slightly stuffy, despite my best efforts with the controls. I always complain about hotel rooms that get no fresh air - but that's the standard these days, and I'm swimming against the tide here. (If you want opulent luxury and fresh air go for the Park Hyatt, newly refurbished stunning Opera House views, but it will cost you an arm and a leg and probably several other body parts as well.)

The breakfast was great. I wasn't paying so I didn't notice the price, but the selection extensive, the bircher good, fresh mango lovely, a cooked to order omelette and proper coffee.

This isn't my favourite hotel in Sydney, but I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a higher floor. with views of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vietnambound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unlike most sydney hotels, the Sheraton welcomes you with a grand foyer reminiscent of old school glamour.
Rooms are typical Sheraton, 5 star every convenience but certainly not mind blowing.
The view across the park are world class.
Restaurants are great, location brilliant.
Only downside is the time it takes to check out.

Room Tip: always get a high room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend at the Sheraton. It's in a prime location so handy to everything. Great shopping at Surrey Hills and Paddington which is a brisk 10 minute walk. Great restaurants nearby, Bambini Wine Trust & Restaurant is only 2 doors down. The food is sensational

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMRITSAR
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there for 4 days and it being close by to all places of interest in Sydney especially the Hyde park and sydney Tower made it more interesting. Food was good and worth the value. Rooms were big and spacious.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MONTYAMRITSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here on business from Oct. 29 - Nov. 02, 2012. The property is in the business (legal) district, but it was a ten minute walk from the harbor.

The St. James light rail station is kitty corner to the hotel, and it conveniently runs (15 min) to the airport. Only AUS. $16.00 each way. Taxis are expensive, but the main light rail station (Town Hall) is only a 5 min walk away.

Stayed on 15th floor (Executive Floor). Got a good price booking directly (and last minute) with the hotel. The room was largish (as hotel rooms go), with separate sitting area and king bed. Internet was consistent and fast. Air conditioner was effective and very quiet. Huge bathroom (soaker tub and separate shower) with lots of thick towels and good products. Room was clean, bright, with a good view of Hyde Park. On site dining options were average (the buffet was fine if you are into that sort of thing), but Bambini's Wine Bar a few doors down is an absolute "must see" for good drinks, atmosphere, and exquisite appies (they use fresh local ingredients to create a wonderful, original tapas menu). Say "hello" to Michael from Essex, UK when you are there. He and the other servers are wonderful.

This is important: after a 19 hour flight from Seattle (through L.A.) I arrived tired at the hotel at 8:30 am. They were happy to let me check-in at that time, although check-in normally isn't until 3:00 pm (I didn't have to pay extra for the privilege). The front staff, including concierge were fantastic in accommodating my every request (the best that I have ever experienced in a Sheraton).

There is a Starbucks 100 metres away, and a good selection of restaurants and bars nearby (even though it is the business district). The "Rocks" section of the harbor is lots of fun (do try and stop by the "Fortune of War" pub, as it is old, authentic, and good atmosphere).

This was one of the nicest Sheratons that I have stayed at, and I am a long time SPG member. I didn't have the experience of another recent reviewer who commented about lack of slippers and curtains. I was on the same floor; I had curtains and a complimentary robe, although no slippers. I travel often, and I felt that it was good value for what I received (I paid between $250 to $309 for each night of my stay). I will stay here again, and I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone staying on business or a couples vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have a view of Hyde Park, and from the higher floors you cannot hear the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Unfortunately the Sheraton didn't show itself to deserve a 5 star status on a recent stay. Views over Hyde Park are pleasant, though more impressive views are available elsewhere ate similar premium. Over the 4 days of my stay Internet service was intermittent and couldn't seem to be fixed. The Club Lounge had a nice view but every night was packed out; service suffered as a result, slow and inattentive. On the whole, not worth crowding in to the lounge for a couple of drinks and some party pies. Save the extra and skip an Executive Room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QF1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,942 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,811 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing