We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel in Sydney ... by far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #30 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The BEST hotel in Sydney ... by far”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is simply fantastic.Its top class, and feels very very relaxing. The rooms are very well appointed, modern ... classy even. Service is great, location is great and absolutely competitive price.

Its my number 1 for Sydney.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good ... even those near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    1,075
    288
    139
    136
See reviews for
532
1,303
301
1,115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its five star and you expect five star for your money. We got it and would totally recommend this hotel. The rooms are great, big, clean and well equipt. The location is excellent for the shops and Darling Harbour and near a train station. The service we received was excellent and cannot fault anything about our two day stay. It is not a cheap hotel but delivers fuive star and thats all you can ask. We will stay again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Rooms at back dont have great views but very quiet and prefer that to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Located in the centre of the CBD, this hotel is well positioned for the business traveller.
The bed is very firm and comfortable. The shower is hot and strong. The furnishings are plush but also functional.
The marble bathroom is huge and boasts a good sized bath and large shower.
The negatives?
My room has a view directly into the offices of the Stockland building.
The service could be described only as adequate.
I've stayed in better hotels in Sydney and for the price you would expect free intenet and a higher level of service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My first visit to this hotel was in 1997 when it was a WOW !!! In 2012 - I see signs of ageing and a need for a change with the times ; nevertheless - having stayed a week earlier at the Westin, I decided to return back to the Sheraton on the Park and found it a great hotel for a night or two - at least the room was spacious, great bathroom ... at $260, much better value than Westin's $320-$400++ smaller room.Breakfast was good - lots on offer - small disappointment when after my first espresso - having asked for a second one , the stern waiter checks a slip left by previous waiter and says in an authoritative manner - "you've had one already, right? Next one will be charged!" Perhaps if he had said it nicer ... I would have paid , but it was the next door Bambini Trust cafe that got my money. After countless stays in Asian hotels where one can have unlimited coffees ... sad to see the Australian counterpart charging for that little extra shot ...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at a company conference and although there was nothing specific lacking, it didn't feel particularly luxurious. Certainly wasn't up there with the best hotels in which I've stayed, especially for the price (9 AUSD for water, 150 AUSD for late checkout etc). The swimming pool is pleasant but a lot smaller than I expected. Location is great but the building, entrances and views are all pretty average. Bathroom is nice, bedroom is fine, breakfast had good options. The interior soundproofing of the hotel is maybe what really put me off, it sounds as if anyone walking down the corridor is halfway into your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayman Island, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you love seafood this is the place to go as they offer a great Buffet!!! They have great staff members who are very friendly and welcoming! They have a good wine list which is very important for a 5 star hotel to have!

It's close to public transport, QVB building, Oxford Street and CBD!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Sheraton On the Park for 4 nights. We picked this hotel over the Westin because the price was more attractive (did the prepaid deal) and read good reviews here. The location was central (next to St. James station, minutes from Circular Quay) and 5 minute walk to Town Hall station, 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour, very close to shopping areas, clubs and bars in downtown. Our room was a 2 twin-bed room facing Hyde Park which offered a great view and morning sun. It was also the food festival at that time and we got to sample various Asian foods at Hyde Park. As SPG Gold we took the free internet as the welcome package.

Room: spacious, great shower (jet power) and bathroom, nice to have an electric kettle. We did early check-in so we were not on a SPG floor. Huge safe for storing valuables and laptops. Good selection of glasswares for wine and other beverages. We did not use the minibar but it was well stocked.

Amenities: Gym was on 22nd floor and offered good variety and # of equipment. The pool was a nice addition but it was on the smaller side and is not meant to be a lap pool. There're also balconies on the gym floor to look out to Hyde Park. We didn't use the spa located on the same floor.

Service: Room was cleaned and supplies were replenished daily. Housekeeping responded to our requests promptly for re-supply. Concierge, however, was mediocre at best. I lost a bag with souvenirs on the ferry and asked concierge to help and the guy just told me to call the number I provided. Well I wasn't going to use my mobile phone to call with roaming charges or use the room phone to call with charges. BTW, they say it's $1 flat rate per local call but I called a local # (e.g. BridgeClimb) and got charged a lot more, so beware (I got the charges removed). In another instance, the concierge just called the # for me and let me talk on the phone about the lost item right in front of him. So they weren't much of a help at all. A few of the reception staff whom we encountered were friendlier and made us feel more at ease.

Overall, my friend and I got the sense that service in Sydney in general were not very inviting and staff was not very flexible in accommodating special requests. In this case, the Sheraton was definitely at a great spot with solid amenities, but the mediocre concierge response to my need (and they were legit) really put a damper on my enthusiasm on this hotel. May try the Westin next time if I want to pick a Starwood chain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeTee54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear GeeTee54321,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. I am pleased to note your positive feedback and greatly appreciate your comments however apologise for the service shortfall experienced. Customer service is definitely an integral part of our job and I will be sure to brief our Concierge department regarding your feedback. While you have indicated that you may not return to the hotel, I hope that you will reconsider your decision and provide us another opportunity to showcase the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.

Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
3,145 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,656 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing