We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney Sheraton is Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the Sheraton on the Park cannot be beat. It is right across from the beautiful park in Sydney with easy walking access to the Harbor, the public transit system and great shopping. The service was wonderful, the rooms were very spacious and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie2008_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,829)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,861 - 2,867 of 3,829 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed with a friend as we travelled for a night out for the Masterchef Dining experience. The hotel was straight across the park from where we needed to go, making it very convenient for us. The hotel is really close to everything, and we enjoyed being so close to the Pitt Street mall, and across the road from the St James train station.

I booked a "city view" king bed room, but because we wanted to check in early, we took one of the options they had available, which was a queen bed. The view wasn't much of a view (backs of buildings), but if we looked up we could see the centerpoint tower right out the window. The room was a decent size, and a nice touch was a DVD player. There were a few lovely touches around- robes hanging in the cupboard, choice of a complimentary newspaper in the morning, choice of pillows on the bed, and a big arm chair.

The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous, it was specious with beautiful lighting- probably the best hotel bathroom I have seen. The bed was very comfortable to sleep on.

We got a package with breakfast and I will say that the buffet was spectacular- I usually choose not to eat breakfast at hotels because unless you get there by 6, everything is gone. Not the case with Sheraton- it was full, organised and had an amazing selection of food- hot, cold, fruit, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee, even smoked salmon and bagels- there was so much to choose from!

The service overall was great, check in and check out was quick and easy. We were allowed to store our bags there all day after checkout while we went shopping.

A few negatives, that by no means spoiled our stay- The TV service didn't have much in terms of pay TV channels- just news and Fox 8. For a luxury hotel I would expect a few more channels- eg I don't think I have been to a hotel that didn't at least have one music and one movie channel available.
The fridge had a full mini bar, but no price list was to be found anywhere (except prices on the water bottles on the desk) and there was no room to put any personal food or drinks in at all. The room was also a little cold at night- even though we turned off the air con hours earlier, cool air wafted through the room. Also, the bath in the bathroom didn't look very clean, but that could have been an age problem.

Having said that, we will definitely stay again- it was so much luxury and we got an amazing package and price. I would definitely recommend the Sheraton to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Always stay here when Im in Sydney and if the price is right! It can be dear but they have regular specials. Try and stay here when you can get a good deal. Hands down one of the best executive club lounges on the planet. The food in the lounge is of a very high quality and I love taking my laptop up there to work in relative quiet during the day. Lovely rooms, good staff especially the driveway boys (most of whom we know by name) and the porters. Always cheerful and helpful. Much better option than the Sydney Hilton.

Room Tip: As previous reviewers have alluded to - you can get rooms with dreary views...so ask for a parkside...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A beautiful Hotel with Great view, big rooms, reasonable rates and high quality food.
We used to stay at the Sydney Hilton but the room size and restaurant food at the Sheraton beats this hands down.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are more expensive but the West sideroom view is acceptable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimmoHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On our first visit in Sydney we stayed at the Sheraton on the Park. The decision was not easily made since lots of good hotels are nearby. What convinced us was the location near the park. Now and then there are events (i.e. Sydney Food Festival) in the park, which is very convenient at nights when the feet are tired from touring the city. The rooms are well equipped and spacious.
The staff was friendly and courteous. We stayed for almost 2 weeks in this hotel and had a very good time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadin_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Nadin_abc,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on what sounds like a great getaway! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the near future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent the weekend here and would not stay again. Firstly the city view room is looking onto filthy vents and a brick wall the light dosnt reach these awful corridors. They have a lovely pool but the steam room wasn't working this am. I can't believe these rooms are $600 we got a special there were two bottles of water with the tea and coffee we thought complimentary got home and had an email they charged us $18 for them - not going back if you are tempted to stay look at the photos I am putting on first. Had to ask twice for an extra bed and the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Trravellers,

Please accept my sincere apologies as I am most concerned to learn of the shortfalls experienced during your stay. This is disappointing to note and not at all typical of what we strive to achieve here at the Sheraton on the Park. Our rooms are categorized as City Side rooms however our apologies for the disappointment. Additionally, the bottle water in your guest rooms are labeled with the corresponding charges.

I appreciate you taking the time to convey your concerns to us as we certainly value your patronage to the Sheraton on the Park and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a wonderful Sheraton! Staff is superb they remember your name and are eager to help with anything. The location is great in the middle of everything across the street from the airport subway stop. Rooms were very nice, bathrooms excellent. My only negatives were the mixing valves in the shower were difficult to operate and it was either to hot or to cold. Breakfast was superb but make sure it is included in your rate otherwise it is expensive.
They have free internet in the lobby very fast!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor for better view and don't forget your key or the elevator will not operat...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,234 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,881 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#37 of 178 in Sydney
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $183 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing