We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy to The Rocks and Circular Quay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra 2 Bond Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Handy to The Rocks and Circular Quay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The first room we were allocated smelt of cigarette smoke, we opened the door to the little balcony and there was a glass full of cigarette butts. Rang reception who were very professional, they said ALL our rooms are non-smoking, please come back to reception and we will re-allocate you. They put us one floor higher and this room had a very strange smell, but it wasn't smoke and we stayed. Room was split level which separated the bed from the kitchen and living area well. TV was not huge. We found a Coles supermarket a few blocks south and enjoyed our 3 night stay in this convenient hotel. The site we booked through mentioned free DVD/video hire, but this meant you could use a hotel DVD/video machine. In-house movies had to be paid for and the pay TV was mostly sport which was disappointing. One staff member lit up a cigarette just outside the main door which is not a good look for a supposedly non-smoking hotel, and we also saw someone smoking on another balcony. We used the airport transfer and for $12 per person it was good service with a clean mini-bus and a lovely driver.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    797
    342
    117
    81
See reviews for
479
574
87
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I have become a fan of Mantra apartments (upgraded from Formule 1) and have stayed in a dozen of the apartments in various cities and resorts. Mantra Bond Street delivered my expectation yet again. This is my second time here (booked through Wotif secret hotel, thus the price is very attractive). The first time was a bit of disappointment because we were given a disabled room. This time we were given a reasonably spacious studio. All the usual modern furnishing with a functioning kitchen. Despite it's located on George Street and next to a few night clubs, it was still quiet. Not to mention the great location right in the middle of the CBD.

Just one negative this time. It was probably a busy day on 1 January 2010 for the cleaners. The kitchen garbage was not emptied and the room smelled of cigarettes (from the new years eve party goers who were not supposed to smoke in the facility at all). The staff quickly emptied the garbage and aerated the room.

Previous reviews indicated a $50 parking overnight at Mantra, which is quite expensive. If you don't need to drive the car at night. Just leave it overnight at the Wilson Car Park, directly behind Mantra for half the price.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mantra Bond Street

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at the mantra 2 for 5 nights over the christmas period. We stayed in a studio appartment which had a great little kitchen and a balcony over looking george st. It was a five min walk to the rocks and circluar key and only a ten min walk to all the big shops like David jones and myer. We found it so easy to cacth the bus everywhere and took the train to wyndam station from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lau050505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

I booked a 2-bedroom junior suite for one night for a wedding and ended up being upgraded to a beautiful 3-bedroom apartment for free. There was everytthing you could want, including a spa. I needed 2 cots for my young twins which was provided with no problem.
My only gripe would be the cost of parking - $50 per day which is more expensive than even the Hilton which is $38 per day.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank doondoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have just returned from 5 nights at the Mantra 2 where we stayed in a studio room. It was incredibly small room 408 and I get the feeling it was the worst room in the complex. Having seen the other studio rooms down the hallway they all seemed alot bigger. I requested a portable cot which was not in the room when arrived late in the evening. they however did bring one to our room somewhat later there was no linen for it and when I requested some all they could come up with was a single sheet folded in half. Luckily I had 2 blankets in the pram for my son. We also had a sofa bed for my other son which was bizare as it was a very small single that folded out of a 2 seater sofa. We had to rearrange the room to fit in the cot. Having moved the dinning table to accomodate it there were furballs other accumulated goodies under it. these were never vacummed up during our 6 days there. Breakfast was over priced and my teenage son had the panckaes which was one small pancake for 16 dollars? We dinned down at cockle bay for breakfast after that and it was fantastic. Having paid 300 NZ dollars a night for the room it was very dissapointing. Have stayed at Medina Harbour side and will go back there next time. Heaps bigger rooms and alot better value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBCChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed at Mantra 2 Bond for a weekend getaway with my girlfriends and saw Wicked (Which i HIGHLY reccommend).
Check in was fast and the service was VERY VERY excellent. We had a few problems in regards to rooms but they were fixed up so quick.
I got a very reasonable rate from www.wotif.com and booked a one bedroom apartment in a special deal for $139.00 for 3 people.
The room was reasonable and very clean, and ONE TIP: the air-con switch/controls are in the wardrobe. We couldnt find them for an hour and were very stuffy in the rooms.
The rooftop pool is quite small but has lovely views and is great on a hot day to relax.
Central to everything, undercover car park (at a $50 fee per car) and a very comfy bed.
Was a great weekend and would stay again - mainly because of staff. I think her name was rebecca. she was fabulous! =D

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

The hotel is in a fantstic location only being about a 5 minute walk to the Rocks and Circular Key. Pitt Street Mall about a 10 minute walk. However there are a few things about the hotel that were not up to scratch and are reflected in some of the other reviews.
It is very noisy at night, especially in Friday and Saturday nights. There is no double glazing and if you need a quite room to sleep in forget this place. We even had a jack hammer doing road work until 11pm during the week.
There is no bath so if you are travelling with small children you will either need to get them used to showers or wash them in the sink. We ended up buying a large plastic tub to use as a bath as the hotel could not help.
Both the in room movie system and CD playerr did not work. It took 2 days for this to be rectified as they needed IT to look at it and they finished work at 5pm.
The bathroom needed a really good clean around the edges of the tiles. I managed to scrap some off so a good clean with some bleach and scourer would probably work. The shower also leaks all over the floor as there in no edge to stop the overflow.
The dishewasher also seemed to have a 'mind of its own'
On the upside the 2 bedroom apartment was well equiped with everything you would need for a weeks stay including a washing machine and dryer. Although the kitchen is very compact you could cook a full meal if you needed.
I would not stay here again as I have stayed at other apartment hotels in Sydney that were far better value for money, larger and a lot cleaner. ie the Meriton chain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#64 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing