We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Family of Five- close to most attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #78 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Mantra on Bond Street is an excellent hotel for a family of five needing queen size beds. We had an apartment style hotel room which had a kitchen, two bedrooms, and living room area with a pull out sofa bed from a couch. My three teenage aged children and wife were very comfortable. This hotel is very close to the Wynyard train station making it superb for getting to and from the airport. Most attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. The only small negative was the street noise from George Street although this was minimal and eventually subsided as the night wore on. The hotel staff was very professional and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRLAAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,529 - 2,535 of 2,658 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed at the Mantra 2 Bond St Sydney for one night in July 2009. The building is located on the corner of Bond and George Sts so is a very central location for everywhere in Sydney CBD. It is a very high rise building but the lifts were excellent and fast. The apartment (I stayed in a one bedroom apartment) was a good size, with entry hall (bathroom off this hall with laundry cupboard in bathroom), small kitchen, living room with dining table and a queen size bed room. The bathroom - only had a shower but good water supply and lovely shower products and a good hairdryer. The washing machine, dryer, ironing board, iron were all in a compact cupboard inside the bathroom I didn't check to see if washing machine powder was included (sorry!). The kitchen had a microwave, fridge, sink, dishwasher, pots/pans/cutlery/crockery etc for at least two people, stove top, oven, kettle, toaster. There was a full mini bar. The downside was there was only one tiny portion of long life milk in the fridge, enough for two cups of tea, but there is a 7 Eleven store about 50 metres from the hotel so milk could be got from there. The furnishings were lovely, in very good condition and felt quite opulent. Bedroom had a tv as well as another in the living area. A safe was inside the cupboard. Breakfasts were OK - continental style if you had it included in your room rate but a fuller menu for a la carte choice. The breakfast cafe had a very limited menu but there is also a good in-room dining service that was well priced. There aren't many restaurants located close to the hotel but taxis are always close by. The room was quiet (no view) and all in all I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in central Sydney. It was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had a one bedroom apartment and facing George St but was amazed that there's hardly any noise at all despite the constant sound of fire engines..........Location was not too bad but its quite a distance to walk (if raining) to ChinaTown. Overall we were impressed with the apartment ..........
Will stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sadtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just finished a 12 night stay at this hotel while in Sydney on business.

The rooms are a good size and are clean. The cooking facilities are better than most serviced apartments that I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly and quickly resolved a couple of problems that I had (shower flooding the bathroom and a leaking iron - maybe I shouldn't be near anything with water!).

This isn't the cheapest serviced apartment property in Sydney, but having stayed at a few other properties in the area, I'll definitely be back here again if only to spend some more relaxing time in the spa on the roof with decent views of Sydney CBD and the surrounds. Location is excellent (short walk from Wynyard station).

If you're staying here, make sure that you ask for a room that doesn't face George Street as it can get a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pomwhinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

At first when we arrived to the hotel, we thought we have made a wrong choice for staying here. The train is too far, not much of shops and restaurants and people are unfriendly. Well, we were wrong. If I have walked the right road, the train station is just right across the road, many restaurants along the way, and not to mention the shops are stretched along the way. We manage to find a nice chinese restaurant and got hooked up with the food. We found our love spot, a Lindt cafe, right in Sydney, and boy, the chocolate waffle and croissant are absolute divine. And just a short walk, you will reach QVB shopping mall. Shop till you drop if you have the cash. We found a shop called Lush, a company that sells organic soaps, bubble bath, and other sorts bath items. The first we discovered this shop was in Venice. Imagine how happy we were when we saw that shop. Bought loads and loads of soaps. Just like other mantra hotels, you will find a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. Very convenient and cost friendly for you. But don't bring too much of clothes, because you will tend to shop till you are kinda overload. You can actually ask the hotel to let you use the weighing machine to make sure you are not overload. Totally nice hotel and try to explore it yourself. Of course, don't forget to get onto a Hop On/Hop Off bus to have a general view of Sydney. Purchase the ticket online and saves you 10%.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with our 16 month old daughter who they supplied a cot for at an extra charge but a highchair for free which was great! The staff were all really helpful nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was lovely perfect size, really well equipped kitchen and nice clean bathroom. The location was about a 5 minute walk from Circular Quay, 2 minutes from Wynard Station for the trains. Perfect spot for exploring Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerbabyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Location. The main reason to stay at the Mantra 2 Bond St. is location. It is roughly 3 blocks to the Circular Quay (where you see the Harbor Bridge & Opera House) and 3 blocks to Darling Harbor (Great tourist spot, lotso of restaurants). I was traveling with my parents who are both in their 50s/60s and not in excellent shape for walking, but this was great walking distance to tourist attractions, restaurants, bus pick-ups for them. Also, our room was on a high enough floor that we didn't hear the traffic below.

Room and amenities. Another great things about the Mantra is that most of the hotels I looked at in Sydney only slept 1 or 2 people to a room, but the Mantra came with 2 bedrooms, plus a sofa sleeper, kitchette, dishwasher, kitchen table, washer and dryer, 1 bathroom. My cousins stays in a room with 2 king beds, no kitchenette, and a private outdoor hottub on their balcony. I imagine this would be a good place to stay if you had little kids. The sofa sleeper was not comfortable for the 25 year old male in our group, so he put the cushion on the floor to sleep on it. There was a restaurant downstairs for breakfast but it felt more business-y. We picked up cereal and breakfast food at the nearby Cole's Grocery store and ate breakfast in. While we liked the room and it was generally clean, the phone was extrenely gross and dirty. It's not the Ritz, but we were comfortable here. There was an in-room blow dryer, but we got an extra one too.

Service. I believe people might live in this building too. The front desk is quite small, no concierge service, didn't really seem to be the place to get advice on where to go / what to do. My dad got yelled at by the front desk when he called a second time to request towels. We thought maybe we were supposed to be washing our own towels in the washer/dryer, but found out that we had just gotten a crabby front desk worker. I wouldn't say we got poor service, but it just didn't seem to be a focal point here.

What I liked Best about the Mantra: Location! Space! Kitchenette! Washer/Dryer!
What I liked Least about the Mantra: Service and could have been a bit cleaner

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this to a friend, especially for the location if you want to do sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stlouiegirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#77 of 186 in Sydney
1,573 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#29 of 186 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $174 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and a selection of Australian and International wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing