We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #70 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Sarina, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but....”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Most probably the best accommodation we have ever stayed in but there were a lot of little things that should have been better. Like the frying pan was dirty (greasy) kitchen floor was not cleaned properly and dirty streaks down the cupboard doors. There was no plug for kitchen sink. Great location and staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingsu237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    892
    383
    131
    86
See reviews for
545
639
94
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Located within a 5 min walk of Circular Quay and 10 min or so from Darling Harbour it is perfect. Supermarket in mall opposite for any supplies. One bedroom apartment is ideal with an open plan living room, small kitchenette (although sparse on utensils - 3 forks, 1 pan etc.) and study area which doubles as a second bedroom (of course if a little one sleeps here it does banish you to the bedroom). In bathroom cupboard is washing machine and separate tumble dryer, which was brilliant on a mid-trip stay. All kept very nice with excellent maid service. Nice rooftop pool not as big as photos led me to believe but still very welcome with a partial view of the bridge. Not the cheapest but would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Brilliant location, really handy for all tourist areas. Housekeeping was good. Could be noisy with the street and nightclubs nearby but wasn't a problem for us.
Negative point was the bathroom! Please please sort out the shower!! It leaks and after 4 people have showered it was a paddling pool and we had to use the towels to mop up!
Good job we knew about the pool and gym because there was no mention of them, either in the booklet or by reception staff. Perhaps as well, because more that 3 people in the pool would be a problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room floor 8 or above because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights for my business trip. The location is just beside one of the train stop and is in the heart of the business area.
The apartment has a full kitchen, a living room, a bedroom and an extremely small bathroom (almost the same size as in a cruise ship). I wonder why they construct such a small bathroom considering there are ample space for the kitchen and living room. Hidden in the bathroom is a washer and dryer.
There is only free wifi in the lobby and one has to key in a new code to assess the wifi every 1/2 hour. They charge A$25 per day for wifi in the room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tansam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

While not the cheapest room rate per night, it was certainly well appointed. I stayed in a self contained room with kitchen etc. Great for those that do not want to spend $200/ meal every night.
Room was large and well maintained and was centrally located for ease of access to Sydney CBD
No gym or pool, but not a big issue.
Food is available if wanted but also plenty of other restaurants in the area.
Staff have been well trained and I would go back again when next in Sydney
Plenty of breakfast outlets in area if you just want a coffee and snack

Room Tip: I was on level 7 and the view was not what you want to pay for but in CBD central, apart from lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Was here for work for a few days. Clean and comfortable room. Nice cafe downstairs. No complaints. Good Sydney location and short walk to Circular Quay.

Would stay here again if in Sydney again. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Positives, good location, big suite.
Negatives, well the first room I had was incredible fusty and smelt of damp, I was busy at work so I tolerated it for a couple of days before moving rooms. when I moved rooms the loo in the second room didn't flush properly, the girl on reception fixed it, but it's needed fiddling with the cistern tap every couple of days to work properly, I could do this myself but it was annoying. Generally compared to other hotels in he CBD the rooms are tired and the tv in the bedroom was about 10 years old,a first gen flat screen. The room service finishes at 9 pm and even at 5 to 9 you get the feeling they are doing you a favour. The room service was carried out every day, but not to top standards- they missed empty Pringles packs, didn't clear away a plate one day, and I found my earplugs (which I wear 365 days a year) scattered around the room one evening, also my pyjamas were just left on the floor, now I know this is lazy but every other hotel I stay at they tidy your room and fold up pj's! When I came to leave after 2 weeks in an apartment, I wanted to get a shower after work before flying at 10 pm and the answer on reception was buy another night for $400, or use the loo in reception to get freshened up! The pool deck did look quite nice although I didn't use it. But there was no option for a shower there or at the small gym. Personally I didn't have any problems with noise and slept fine. If you are looking for a top speck business hotel this isn't it, if you want space and a good location it's ok. I won't be going back. Forgot to mention the annoying room keys that work only intermittently in the lift, there must be a knack but it was a pain. Wi fi worked fine in second room, but didn't work from the bedroom area in the first room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
429 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing