We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good Sydney location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, good Sydney location”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Was here for work for a few days. Clean and comfortable room. Nice cafe downstairs. No complaints. Good Sydney location and short walk to Circular Quay.

Would stay here again if in Sydney again. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    891
    383
    131
    86
See reviews for
545
638
94
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Positives, good location, big suite.
Negatives, well the first room I had was incredible fusty and smelt of damp, I was busy at work so I tolerated it for a couple of days before moving rooms. when I moved rooms the loo in the second room didn't flush properly, the girl on reception fixed it, but it's needed fiddling with the cistern tap every couple of days to work properly, I could do this myself but it was annoying. Generally compared to other hotels in he CBD the rooms are tired and the tv in the bedroom was about 10 years old,a first gen flat screen. The room service finishes at 9 pm and even at 5 to 9 you get the feeling they are doing you a favour. The room service was carried out every day, but not to top standards- they missed empty Pringles packs, didn't clear away a plate one day, and I found my earplugs (which I wear 365 days a year) scattered around the room one evening, also my pyjamas were just left on the floor, now I know this is lazy but every other hotel I stay at they tidy your room and fold up pj's! When I came to leave after 2 weeks in an apartment, I wanted to get a shower after work before flying at 10 pm and the answer on reception was buy another night for $400, or use the loo in reception to get freshened up! The pool deck did look quite nice although I didn't use it. But there was no option for a shower there or at the small gym. Personally I didn't have any problems with noise and slept fine. If you are looking for a top speck business hotel this isn't it, if you want space and a good location it's ok. I won't be going back. Forgot to mention the annoying room keys that work only intermittently in the lift, there must be a knack but it was a pain. Wi fi worked fine in second room, but didn't work from the bedroom area in the first room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights in 3 different rooms 808,1413, 1212 (husband + 3 kids came to visit over weekend and moved to 2 br apt, otherwise exec room).
Pluses
Very central location for business and leisure
Can get breakfast supplies from woolworths across road
Washing machine and dryer with detergent in room
808 well laid out, big bathroom/kitchen
Rooftop pool (but not for laps-small)
2br accommodates 5 though cosy (not a long term but ok for w/e & 1 bathroom busy ;-)
Minuses
Wifi was slow and kept dropping out-don't try to do any work requiring internet
Bathroom layout (1212 & 1413) cramped
Corner room 1413 very noisy-balcony door not soundproof hence noise from bar/traffic.
For business- Adequate, but given expectations of being able to work remotely, wouldn't rush back.
For leisure, centrally located but bring earplugs for corner room and don't expect huge room, even with 2br. Only 30% bigger than exec room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Esl351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear ESL351

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Yes, we are very centrally located to many of Sydney's hot spots. We also enjoyed reading that you liked how our rooms have a fully equipped laundry and that you also took use of our rooftop pool.

We are in the process of fixing our wireless to provide a faster & better quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My first and definately last visit to Mantra hotels. I specifically requested a quiet room. After a long and difficult day, all I wanted was to have a good nights sleep. My room was located overlooking the rooftop nightclub next door. My windows vibrated with the deep bass of the music and I couldnt sleep. This continued until 1am. I requested to change rooms. The reception staff were unhelpful and I was advised that this was Sydney CBD, it is noisey, i.e. stop complaining. I was offered some ear plugs. Again, I repeated my request to move to a quieter room away from the rooftop nightclub next door. I was told that there were no other rooms available except for a two bedroom apartment @ 2.5 times the rate I was currently paying. My experience at this hotel was made so much worse my the rude and unsympathetic attitude of the staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Renault142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Mantra 2 Bond Street is conveniently located about a 7 minute walk from Circular Quay in Sydney. It's about the same distance to the infamous "Rocks" neighborhood and right in the heart of George Street. Location-wise, you could not ask for anything more.

The executive suite was full of all creature comforts: two flat screens, full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc.

There were a few things about the hotel itself though that I want to point out:
- Staff was not overly friendly. Not a lot of smiles, only offering the most basic of information. There's no amenity book in the room, so you would've thought they'd have mentioned there was a pool and how to access it.
- Every time you take the elevator you have to put your room key in, this gets tedious but provides an amount of security.
- The executive suite is spacious but the shower is tiny with almost no space to put your toiletries. We had to repeatedly ask for someone to look at the shower as the bathroom would flood. Once a plumber came to look at it it was fine, but it shouldn't have been such a hassle.
- Internet access is free in the lobby, but only in 30 minute increments so you have to keep asking for another password if you want to get any work done. If you see above about the unfriendliness of the staff you'll understand why this is more than an inconvenience, it's just unpleasant to keep doing.
- At least on the first floor, street noise was an issue early in the morning

Overall a good deal if you can get a good rate for the location alone, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne victoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Loved the central location of this hotel - a few minutes to Circular Quay & the Rocks. No hills to climb in either direction! Very clean spacious 2 bedroom serviced apartment , helpful staff. We were delighted with our accommodation in this city with the wow factor !

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor & had a small balcony facing ? George Street . Vey happy with that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annhMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear AnnhMelbourne,

It has been a pleasure having you stay here at Mantra 2 Bond street.

Thank you for all your positive Feedback that you have given us.

Our team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and great customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Located very close to Wynyard Station and just 10 mins walk from Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Located right in CBD and hence most of the offices in CBD are in easy reach. The Studio Apartments are spacious and neatly organised. Well laid out passage and lobby. Kitchen is equipped with all the basic amenities required. Room service is not very efficient. Rooms facing the road may get a bit noisy during peak hours. Open curtains provide full view of the room to the offices located on opposite side of the road and facing the Hotel. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on higher floors and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARSK2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Ronie_foxbat,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

We are very centralised for CBD offices and some of Sydneys great tourist attractions which makes it very easy for you to get around.

We are glad that you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen that you had in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#76 of 177 in Sydney
429 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing