We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as it ever has been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still as good as it ever has been”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times, but due to the popularity it's often booked out or priced beyond my budget when I visit Sydney. This time, it was just the right amount and I was able to book.

As always, the rooms are clean, comfortable and inviting. Unlike other places I've stayed in Sydney, there were no scuff marks on walls or scorch marks on the carpet, and everything worked as it should. The lighting in the rooms is interesting to say the least, as there are any number of combinations to brighten the room, but working out the sequence of switches to get the room dark can take a while.

My only complaint is that the shower does not have a large enough lip on it to prevent water from seeping out on to the bathroom floor, effectively soaking the bath mat and making it very slippery. Really, there needs to be some larger, deeper lip, or a metal barrier of some sort to prevent this from happening.

Otherwise, I was very happy as always!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Dr_rob80,

Many thanks for your second review of Mantra 2 Bond St. It is great to see we still meet your expectations with the cleanliness of our rooms.

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the shower - we will certainly look into what we can do to rectify this.

Many thanks again and we look forwrad to welcoming you again next time.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    907
    396
    132
    88
See reviews for
564
651
94
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Going the other side of the world, we really were relying on our travel agent to pick us a hotel in Sydney, for location, quality of hotel etc. After 22 plus hr flight, a good sleep, we woke to wonder where the heck in Sydney we were! after a few hesitant steps around the near streets, we were gob smacked to see the fabulous sight of Sydney harbour bridge, Opera house, Darling harbour all with in 10 mins away ! Oh, & when we did finally spend some time at the Mantra hotel, we were not disappionted at all, room was spacious,clean,hotel staff very helpful, a lovely swimming pool,lounge,bbq, on roof of Mantra, with fantastic views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasecabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Pleasecabs,

Many thanks for the review of your experience at Mantra 2 Bond St. We were very pleased to read that your enjoyed your time at the hotel and Sydney in general, experiencing all our wonderful city has to offer.

Many thanks again and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ideal location 5 minutes walk to Circular Quay, close to Skytower & Darling Harbour. We stayed on the 13th floor so there was hardly any noise from outside. The rooms was a bit small but well fitted. The staff was really helpfull at all times. The onlybad point was the $25 charge for WIFI, although free at the lobby (obviuosly the best option). I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper levels, George street is a really busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear BillyOaks,

Many thanks for the review in regards to your time at Mantra 2 Bond St. We enjoyed reading that the location of the hotel suited your needs and the service provided by our team was helpful.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great hotel in an even better location. Three of us stayed in sydney for about 4 nights, and loved how close this hotel was to the Rocks, Bars, Restaurants, Shopping etc. We walked everywhere and occasionally caught the train around.

The only downfall is booking a one bedroom and paying for an extra pull out bed was a big mistake. From this experience I will never do the same thing again. The bed was a one seater sofa bed, with a terrible mattress and it wasn't steady and had springs poking everywhere. I understand when you're not paying much that you can't expect much either but we all got bad backs out of sleeping on that monstrosity.

I would definitely return, as the amenities, space, location and cleanliness were perfect!

Room Tip: Only opt for beds and not the sofa couch/roll out bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear TravelLovah88,

Thank you for the review of your experience at Mantra 2 Bond St. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed not only the location, but the cleanliness of the hotel and our spacious apartments.

However, we do apologise in regards to the sofa bed. Whilst the sofa beds can be a good option, they need to be in a good condition and in this case, it was not. I can assure you that we will be conducting checks of the sofa beds to ensure their stability and safety.

Many thanks again and we do look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to the business district and the many restaurants and bars. Close to the station, good the be able to use the airport train and save time. Rooms were clean and bed was fine. The room was quite, no general street noise except one morning when they were doing roadwork at 400 am.

Great little hotel, good rooms for an extended stay or one night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMLHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear MichaelMLHL,

Thank you for the review of your time at Mantra 2 Bond St, we certainly appreciate your comments on our location, along with the tidiness of the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is ideally located and has a lovely team working there. Apartments are well fitted out and the cleanliness is very good. Right amongst the business district of Sydney but still close enough to The Rocks and Sydney Harbour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Craig C,

Thank you for your glowing review of mantra 2 Bond St, we certainly appreciate your comments in regards to the location, cleanliness and particularly about the service provided by our team.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I find this Hotel a great location, you have a supermarket across the road, the train station, a fruit vendor out front and a free city bus on the next block. The Hotel is a little tired but I have found clean and comfortable. Good self catering option with a small kitchen in the rooms is always handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Travellamor,

Many thanks for the review of your experience at Mantra 2 Bond St. We wwere pleased to read that the location and the cleanliness of our rooms suited your needs nicely.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#79 of 179 in Sydney
432 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#71 of 179 in Sydney
1,309 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing