We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #72 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
New South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in may 2013 just for one night, but it was great, the room had everything we wanted and needed, was clean and tidy and very comfortable.
the location is perfect, its walking distant to almost everything!
theres a great view from the rooftop pool and spa.
overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Bel2259,

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and that the rooms were comfortable and clean. Our location is magnificent and our product is great value for money as you mentioned. Look forward to seeing you again when you next visit.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    939
    409
    136
    91
See reviews for
581
665
94
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently on a business trip. I was 'upgraded' but this meant I had a self contained 2 bed apartment - which would have been great if I was travelling with the family, but was wasted on me when all I wanted was a quiet room, a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. Sadly my accommodation lacked in all three areas - the noise from Hunter Street was irritating, the air conditioner was noisy, the bedroom was small, the bed was of average comfort and the bathroom was small and tired with cracked tiles and plenty of signs of many years of wear and tear. Breakfast was a disappointment by Sydney standards - adequate though unexciting with limited choices and the smell of food permeates the whole foyer, which is a bit off putting. The staff, both hotel and café, were very nice and helpful - and compensated for some of these other shortcomings.

Certainly if I was travelling with my young family and wanted a fully serviced apartment somewhere central it would be on my list - but business travellers may wish to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear HFamilyLondon,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. A large volume of our business is via the corporate business traveller due to our great location in the middle of the city's business precinct .The hotel is in the midst of discussions with regards to a refurbishment which will enhance our product even further. Appreciate your feedback with regards to the staff they work hard to provide quality service and your comments have been passed onto the team.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst NSW
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We required overnight accommodation in the city for a performance at the Sydney COnservatorium of music. It also needed to be handy to the Catholic Cathedral. Mantra at 2 bond fitted this bill perfectly, being in the middle, both less than 10 minutes walk. The room was a split level studio, though only suitable for 2 persons, there was a pull out bed from a lounge chair - though there was no bedding for it (take a sleeping bag if you want to use it!)

The room was brilliant, with a small balcony opening onto George street. It is close to Circular quay, so would be a great choice for staying pre-cruise. We were on the third floor, and it was a Friday night. There was a bit of street noise, though we managed without too much effort to get to sleep and stay that way!

A great kitchen area is in this room (303 i think it was) though we didn't use it except for coffee in the morning. We took our coffee upstairs to the top floor and sat outside around the pool area. This is a wonderful space, and has a BBQ for guest use. Great!

BE WARNED THOUGH: Checking out in the morning is easy..... ONCE YOU GET TO RECEPTION. The lift service is beyond a JOKE - one is recerved for room service to clean the rooms, the others servivce too many floors, and believe me, past to point of frustrating! Aaarrggghhhh. Forget about using the stairs (we were only on the third floor!) Once you go in there, you cannot get out. Period. I mean you cannot even escape to the street!!!! The fire stairs are a death trap. My frustration boiled over as we needed to check out (it had taken us 30 minutes and STILL could not get into a lift (all full!!!!) so we went into the fire stairs, only to have the house maid run up behind us, open the door, and tell us No! No! you must use the lift - you cannot get out down there!

Apart from the pathetic lift situation - a great stay. Just allocate an inordinate amount of time in the morning to get down to reception.... and hope at other times, there's no fire!

As an addition, I left my suit in the closet, and realised onve we arrived home that afternoon. On ringing, they were VERY accommodating, went up and got the suitbag, and stored it for me over a few weeks until we were back in the city. Great service.... Just fix the lifts!!!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on higher level might be quieter from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear jpmorris,

Thankyou for placing a review on tripadvisor reagrding your recent stay with us. I was very surprised to read your comments regarding the lift and especially the fire stairs. There are 3 lifts operating in the hotel at all times. With 190 rooms in the building there can be a wait at times but overall very good. At no time are the lifts reserved for our housekeeping department to clean room. With regards to the fire stairs they all lead to exits onto the street as per health and safety regulations. Appreciate your feedback on this as it is an extremely important issue and one that has been discussed with the relevant departments to ensure our communication with guests and residents alike is correct.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed two nights here and got a bargain as we booked someway ahead. Ideally located to all the major attractions and easy walking distance to Circular Quay and Queen Victoria Building. The self contained apartments are very functional with plenty of space and suited our needs very well. Can be a bit of noise from the street but we were at the back of the building so not too bad. Cabs were easy to get right outside in George St as many were passing by but we walked most of the time as the weather was good to us! Highly recommended for a base to explore central Sydney and surrounds. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear peterfloyd54,

Thankyou so much for your review on tripadvisor. Pleasing to read that you and your partner enjoyed the hotels facilities and its amazing location. We appreciate you sharing this feedback as it allows fellow travellers an insight into what a wonderful team and property we have here at Mantra 2 Bond St. Look forward to welcoming you back when next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

You get what you pay for here. Good price, but not well maintained (cracked tiles, stained carpet etc) and not very clean. "Family" room for 5 of us had a tiny bathroom. Very noisy from George St. Turned off air con as too noisy to sleep in sofa bed in lounge. But if you want a central location at a reasonable price worth putting up with the minor faults.

Room Tip: Rooms on George st side very noisy, not sure about others. Studio room was much better quality and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Henry2807,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Apprecaite your feedback with regards to cracked tiles and stained carpet. Like most properties over time we have encountered some wear and tear issues and are in the process of discussions regarding a refurbishment program which will enable us to rectify these minor issues and enhance our product even further.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Mantra 2 Bond St is perfectly located. My colleague and I were in a two Bedroom serviced apartment, which was conveniently located near to our conference site, restaurants, beautiful Circular Quay and also had a Woolworths supermarket across the road for any necessities required.

The bedrooms are on the smaller side, however the lounge room and kitchen were fine for two people. The staff were very friendly and there is a cafe/bar in the lobby which was very handy.

Room Tip: The rooms facing George St can get a little loud due to traffic noises at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Julia M,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Pleasing to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the facilities we provide. Especially liked reading your comments on the friendliness of the staff. proves that all the hard work is paying off. Hope you had a safe trip back to Singapore.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here while I was on a business trip in Sydney. It's an apartment style hotel with a small but very practical and functional kitchen and I was pleased to note that we paid less than I have paid in other Sydney hotels that did not have these facilities. We stayed in an "Executive Studio" which was fine for our needs.
A colleague stayed in a larger "1 bedroom apartment" with a separate bedroom - although it cost a bit more it was huge and provided a separate area that we could use for some business activities.
The location is perfect - a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, buses in George Street just out the front and Wynyard railway station just 200 metres down the street.

I will definitely stay here next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkB404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear MarkB404,

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback such as this. Does indicate that our product is good value for money and ideally located near to public transport and most of Sydney's major tourist attractions. Look forward to welcoming you back when next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#84 of 178 in Sydney
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#73 of 178 in Sydney
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing